We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”
Review of Bay Lodge

Bay Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Lodge
Ranked #32 of 83 Penzance B&B and Inns
Detmold, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Went to Cornwall in late July, it was my first trip completely on my own. Neville and Jenny made me very welcome from the first moment on. My room was very nice, with everything I needed. Breakfast was excellent, a great start into the day. The town was a short walk away, as was a supermarket and the beach. As the weather was very good, I was able to walk to Marazion and Mousehole. Public transport is very good, which I appreciated because I didn´t have a car. Buses/trains go to St Ives, Truro, Falmouth etc. There is also a bus going up the coast so one can see some of the area.Visiting the Scillies from Penzance can be done by boat.
Neville and Jenny were very helpful at all times and also very patient. I didn´t need to go to the tourist Information, as they knew everything about the area. It was always nice to have a chat, especially about the Olympics.......
So- thumps up- would love to go there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
29
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Popped in on off chance to find a family room,which they had at a very good price for the time of year and weather,(half the price of another i had tried ), service excellent,friendly and food at breakfast very good, will always check there first now when in the area :)

Room Tip: Only had one room,but if that to go by then should be very good, :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jena, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Bay Lodge is a fantastic B&B with very nice and clean rooms. We had a very cosy room with sea view. Neville and Jenny are wonderful hosts, very mindful and humorous. They served a lovely breakfast with plenty of fresh fruits. The coffe was extraordinary good, too. We asked Neville for help with our travel plans and he was an excellent adviser as he knows so many places to see, how to get there and so on. Bay Lodge is 5 minutes away from the beach where we enjoyed the sunset right in front of St Michael`s Mount. There was also a Tesco supermarket in a 7 minutes distance. We had a gorgeous stay and we hope to come back on our next journey to Cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Arrived by car on a bank holiday Friday without accomodation.First place to walk in.Luckily they had one room left.Nice,clean room,excellent breakfast.They even helped out to find another place to stay over the long weekend.100 % recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nojti78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Spent three nights here whilst travelling through Cornwall. Bay Lodge is a comfortable B and B, about 10 minutes walk from the Railway Station and Town centre. The room was well-appointed and clean, with plenty of room for our accumulated gear. Neville and Jenny are the perfect hosts, advising of the best places to eat and visit. Breakfast was enormous and plentiful. The bed was comfy and room was warm. Free wi fi available and fast. Would recommend Bay Lodge for your stay in Penzance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Arrived by train and walked along main road for a few minutes to Bay Lodge and were shown to an immaculate comfortable spacious room. Neville kindly loaned me a phone charger as I had forgotten mine and also provided a Cornwall bus timetable. Shower gel and shampoo were in a push button dispenser in the cubicle, an excellent idea! Breakfast was excellent and certainly lived up to reviews I had read, Stayed 2 nights and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RochdaleSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Thanks to Neville and Jen, we had a perfect "home from home" stay at Bay Lodge. The rooms were clean, tidy and well kept with excellent breakfast options. I would advise the Full English (Superb) which sets you up for a great day!......It is a perfectly located B&B within easy access to mainline train station and the town centre. They were very helpful and informative in regards to local attractions and places to visit and nothing was too much hassle. I would highly recommend Bay Lodge as a place to stay when ever you are in Cornwall. We will return back to Penzance and Bay Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
1.9 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 83 in Penzance
399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#31 of 83 in Penzance
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#61 of 83 in Penzance
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#7 of 83 in Penzance
562 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glencree House
Glencree House
#3 of 83 in Penzance
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 83 in Penzance
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lodge

Property: Bay Lodge
Address: 5 Chyandour Sq., Penzance TR18 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bay Lodge Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing