We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Guest House and Friendly Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Torwood House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Guest House and Friendly Hosts”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Torwood House is a good family Guest House in Penzance, Lynda and Steve are very knowledgeable about Penzance and the local area and make you feel at home. The rooms are clean and well looked after and have everything you need, including comfy beds, tea and coffee facilities and wifi to name a few. An excellent choice at breakfast times from continental to full English/Cornish, nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure you have a great stay in Penzance, There are some lovely parks ideal for the kids very close by, the bus 1/1A or 300 open top bus going to Lands End stops just at the bottom of the road near the Alexandra Inn.
The town centre is a ten to fifteen minute walk either by the seafront and the harbour or up the hill and along the main road at the top.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnyboy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
65
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We were treated very well at Torwood by Steve and Lynda. They gave us excellent advice on places to visit and eat. The room was very spacious for a family of three. Torwood is a great place to stay with your family. We've heard different opinions about Penzance (not all good), but we liked the town with its busy harbour mixing fishing industry with restaurants and pubs. Also, the sorroundings in Cornwall with the little villages and beaches is great. Thanks Steve for letting us know about Porthcurno beach, we had a great day! We can recommend Torwood and Pencanze to anyone visiting Cornwall.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Very clean and spacious room. Delicious breakfast. This was our last night stop walking from St Ives to Penzance on the south west coastal path. Hosts were fantastic, very friendly and helpful and allowed us to leave our very heavy bag whilst we returned from St Ives later with the car
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Mum and I stayed for 3 nights. We specifically came to Penzance to make a day trip to the Isles of Scilly. This location was not as close to the ferry as I expected from the map and though I intended to walk we ended up choosing to take a taxi. The walk into town was also rather longer than expected but not so far as to deter us from making the effort.
We got very good service here in a variety of areas. Lynda called to make taxi arrangements for us more than once and our repeated early departures were accomodated by the kitchen so that we left each morning on a full stomach. The food was of good quality and very tasty. The only drawback to our stay was the fold out single bed provided in our room. Mum slept on it one night and I did for the other two. It had a severe sag in the middle which threatened to dump me out more than once. Neither of us found it unusable but it wasn't something I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank April9295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Found this by chance on a late booking website, as wanted convenient overnight stay for an early skybus booking. The added bonus was that they accept dogs. The Guest House is well equipped and extremely clean. The host Linda was very welcoming and extremely helpful giving us suitable eating places in Penzance. She was also more than happy to serve breakfast early to accommodate our early flight.
Would definitely recommend and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I would highly recommend The Torwood House to anyone who is going to Panzance. The owners are quite gregarious and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. The accomodations are very comfortable and the food was delicious. When we left, we had to leave quite early because of a long drive so we missed breakfast. We asked the owners, Steve and Lynda if they could wrap up a couple of rolls for the road. When we left, they had our 'rolls' all wrapped, up waiting for us. We had enough for a breakfast AND lunch! There was fruit, cheese, rolls, juice, and muffins. It was fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

From arriving at Torwood house hotel Linda couldnt do enough for us, very welcoming. The room was clean, warm and had everything you could need. The breakfast was cooked by her husband and was amazing. There was a large group of us and we wouldnt hesitate to stay here again. Thanks so much for a very enojyable say. See you soon. The Freeborns and Stevens

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#7 of 81 in Penzance
549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 81 in Penzance
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dunedin Guest House
The Dunedin Guest House
#18 of 81 in Penzance
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torwood House Hotel

Property: Torwood House Hotel
Address: Torwood Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Torwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torwood is a small family run bed and breakfast situated in a tree lined avenue a short walk from Penzance promenade and the town centre. All rooms en suite with hot beverage facilities. Free fibre optic wi fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Torwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torwood Hotel Penzance
Torwood House Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing