We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Quality Fish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bakehouse Restaurant

The Bakehouse Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 178 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the most historic part of Penzance, the Bakehouse is tucked away in its own secluded palm-filled courtyard. It is just off Chapel Street, which was runner-up in the Great British Urbanism Awards 2013.The Bakehouse is set on two floors, each with its own atmosphere. It is modern and contemporary yet warm and inviting, with displays showcasing local artists.Since 2004 owners Andy and Rachel Carr have been delighting their customers with the quality of their food and service. They are passionate about using only the best Cornish ingredients, sourcing their produce as locally as possible.The philosophy has been to take fantastic produce, cook it simply and let its flavour and quality shine. The food is colourful and bold, and the flexibility of the menu ensures that there is always something for everyone. It has the best selection of chargrilled steaks Penzance has to offer alongside the finest fish Newlyn fishermen can catch!The Bakehouse is included in The Good Food Guide 2012 and 2013 and holds the Trip Advisor certificate of excellence.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Top Quality Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Have eaten here on holiday for the last 3 years and wish we lived closer. Fish dishes could not be better, especially the Hake which came with mussels and Tuscan inspired sauce. Desserts of a similar quality - try the chocolate cake. Its not cheap, especially if you start having bottles of wine, but the quality of the food makes it well worth it and can't wait to go back. They also welcome children of any age, despite the relatively 'upmarket' setting inside. Staff are very friendly and service is well paced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    124
    40
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
916 reviews
739 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“What it says on the tin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Although not short of a good restaurant or two this place stands out from the warmth of its welcome to the quality of the cooking and the provenance of its locally sourced ingredients. Bread is baked on the premises, steak comes from animals reared on a local farm, the seafood comes from nearby waters, apart from an octopus salad starter which after intense questioning from a Swiss-German couple at the next table the waitress admitted came from slightly further afield. As it was a Friday evening but had not booked we were offered a table but with a turn-around time of an hour and a half. So we skipped starters and opted as mains for a sirloin steak with peppercorn sauce and dauphinois potatoes and a pollack on a pea and potato base. Both delicious. Although there was no dedicated children's menu a spaghetti and tomato pasta was rustled up for my daughter. A three-scoop ice cream and a selection of Cornish cheeses rounded off an excellent meal. The waitress coped manfully with pernickety questions from the Swiss couple at the next table.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank futtock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakehousepenzance, Owner at The Bakehouse Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, they honestly mean such a lot to us. . We all live and die but trip advisor these days and good reviews are such a boost to staff morale. ( especially on bank holiday weekend).
I was a little concerned that you thought that out octopus wasn't local. it is ( local ones are single suckered, Mediterranean ones have two suckers) i'm unsure as to whether our waitress was referring to the chorizo to the other couple or she didn't realise!
Provenience is so important to us and i didn't want you to think that any of our fish wasn't local.
Thanks again for the lovely review, it was a pleasure having your family dine with us.
Enjoy the bank holiday,
best wishes
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Steaks et la chateaus!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Had some of the most amazing starters ever!! The monk fish must be had.

The chateau briands were nice but there was a problem with the order which out a slight dampner on the meal but the starters most certainly over-looked this and the owner (assumed) took care of us and gave us a discount on the bill as a gesture of goodwill which was accepted without even being expected so that was very nice.

If it wasn't for the mix up it would be 5 stars and I would not hesitate in recommending the restaurant as I would suggest hat this was a slight oversight done to maybe a new member of staff - I'm sure that it was dealt with behind the kitchen doors as a training issue. Great service all in all and good food.

If they did cocktails or maybe a nice espresso martini I would have given 5 stars anyway :)

Helpful?
Thank Farmerhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Tucked away from the main part of town this restaurant was one i hadn't heard of before, my boyfriend suggested we go there for an evening meal and it certainly didn't disappoint!
We booked and it was a good job we did as they were turning people away they were so busy.
We shared the Thai Monkfish starter which was absolutely gorgeous and just the right size portion.
Following this we both had steak which was cooked to perfection. I really like the fact that sides are separate as it means you can chose the exact combination you want. Although unfortunately i would say the seasonal vegetables were a little overpriced for what they were.
The food was delicious and the staff were so friendly and attentive.
Overall i would highly recommend The Bakehouse and will definitely be returning.

One thing... if i was being particularly picky i would say that the music could be turned up slightly as there were some weird silent moments which made the atmosphere slightly strange at times.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reserve in advance to avoid disappointment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great place to enjoy a special dinner in Penzance. Innovative menu that is vegetarian friendly with lots of options to cater to different dietary requirements. The meal can be a bit pricey but is worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hbb1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bakehouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bakehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing