We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most amazing time”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of MV Ocean Warden

Ocean Warden - Our Home!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The wheel house - the accommodation The wheelhouse - showing the steps that lead up to the accommodation.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The wheel house - the accommodation
The wheelhouse - showing the steps that lead up to the accommodation.
Our grand-daughter! This shows the depth of the steps up to the accommodation
View from Cabin
View of the harbour from your cabin/ bedroom
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The View of Our Home
Penzance Promenade - only a minutes walk away!
St Michaels Mount!
Abbey Slip - only 2 minutes walk
Restaurant - 1 minutes walk
A great pub, with great food - 1 minutes walk
A great pub, with great food - 1 minutes walk
The Meadery - the place you use your fingers to eat, and sample the famous Mead wine.
Longrock beach - You can either walk/cycle across the cycle path or its 5 minute drive away
Marazion beach - great for families and an ideal opportunity to get a Cornish pasty!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
avrilwhit...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The most amazing time”
Reviewed 31 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Sue and Roger are the most fantastic hosts, we had such a wonderful time sharing their home. We wanted for nothing, breakfast was such a stunning array of choices and our quarters were so comfortable.
The MV Ocean Warden is such an unusual, yet a delightful place to cast your anchor - I would recommend that you give it a try.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you Avril for your​ very positive comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time aboard the Ocean Warden. We would love to see again if you are visiting Cornwall in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernowiro...
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful and unique place to stay in the heart of Penzance”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

You really could not ask for more - a trawler lovingly restored and converted into a really comfortable and enchanting B&B by Roger and Sue, They are really special hosts, who offer a warm welcome and are eager to please but they are never intrusive, The location is amazing - moored in the Inner Harbour you are smack bang in the middle of Penzance at the foot of Chapel Street. The Quayside atmosphere makes adds to the experience as you watch the coming and goings around the harbour from your vantage point atop the MV Ocean Warden.

A continental style breakfast miraculously appears every morning in your "lounge" which is in fact the wheelhouse to set you up for the day. There is no better place to stay and soak up the maritime history of Pennzane than the MV Ocean Warden!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique nautical experience
Liked least: no issues
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Hi Paul, thank you for your fantastic review. We are so pleased you had a good time and enjoyed your stay with us aboard the Ocean Warden.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Uniqueness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thanks for your lovely comments on your stay with us. We are pleased you left with happy memories and we look forward to welcoming you aboard once more.
Regards,
Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
K4zcooke
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing holiday gem ”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had the most amazing holiday staying here. It's was lovely to chat to our lovely host sue and Rodger. They made our stay a fantastic experience. I would recommend this lovely gem to all!! Can't rate it highly enough. Thank you both!! X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are so pleased you had a good time. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again.
Regards,
Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you so much. Look forward to seeing you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DizzyJuli...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely unique bed and breakfast experience. Can't wait to return.”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in! To have the whole top deck area of a ship as our home base for a week was amazing. The largest private 'balcony' we've ever had was an added bonus as the weather was fantastic.
Spacious bedroom and modern en suite facilities together with our own lounge/ breakfast room which was originally the bridge of the ship (all the nautical equipment is still in place which is fascinating). There is no pressure to be up and ready by a certain time for breakfast as a lovely continental spread (cereals, ham, cheese, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh orange juice, lovely croissants and bread) appears each morning, as if by magic, in the breakfast room. It was really fascinating to sit and watch the comings and goings of a busy working harbour whilst eating breakfast and deciding what to do for the rest of the day.
Sue and Roger are determined to make sure you have everything that you need and as they live on the ship you don't have to go far to ask. They both have lots of info about the area and generally about life on a ship.
We would not have thought about visiting Penzance if we hadn't spotted this great place to stay but now we are in love with the area as well as the accommodation. When word gets around we think that this is one property that will be booked up early - so get in quick if you want to experience this nautical B&B!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay with us. We are so pleased you had such a good stay and have lots of positive memories .
We look forward to welcoming you aboard once more,
Regards,
Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henning D
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice and special B&B experience!”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

To stay on a B&B boat sound fun, doesn’t it? Yes, and it is. The top deck is neatly converted into a small “apartment”. It is up-to-date, special and functional - you have everything you need for a nice B&B stay, with short walking distance to restaurants and shops. The very pleasant and service minded owners live (discreetly) at the level underneath the apartment. A good breakfast is magically arranged by Sue (noiselessly very early every morning). Car parking is next to the boat. We simply enjoyed being on a boat in a harbor! But be aware the the Scillonian ferry is at the same dock. The activities start at 06:30 in the morning and the luggage handling and line of people on the quay is quite close to the boat. We were not prepared for that, but quickly adapted. We are early risers anyway, and apart from the weekend we did not hear anything. Else during the day it was very quiet and relaxed. Since it is a boat the height to the ceiling in the bath and bedroom is not as at home. All-in-all the boat is very fine, the experience unique and the service great. You have to accept the little inconvenience regarding the ferry and we do not hesitate to recommend her for a special stay in Penzance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Sue and Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing