We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation in a great location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of MV Ocean Warden

Ocean Warden - Our Home!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The wheel house - the accommodation The wheelhouse - showing the steps that lead up to the accommodation.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The wheel house - the accommodation
The wheelhouse - showing the steps that lead up to the accommodation.
Our grand-daughter! This shows the depth of the steps up to the accommodation
View from Cabin
View of the harbour from your cabin/ bedroom
Ocean Warden - Our Home!
The View of Our Home
Penzance Promenade - only a minutes walk away!
St Michaels Mount!
Abbey Slip - only 2 minutes walk
Restaurant - 1 minutes walk
A great pub, with great food - 1 minutes walk
A great pub, with great food - 1 minutes walk
The Meadery - the place you use your fingers to eat, and sample the famous Mead wine.
Longrock beach - You can either walk/cycle across the cycle path or its 5 minute drive away
Marazion beach - great for families and an ideal opportunity to get a Cornish pasty!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Basil745
Wrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in a great location.”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed on the Ocean Warden for a week in September. Hosts Roger and Sue were so welcoming, friendly and warm. The accommodation was first class with great views. A little different from the norm but very comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast which was laid out for us every morning. If you are looking for a unique experience then we highly recommend the Ocean Warden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Thanks for your very positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we would love to welcome you aboard again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julieloft...
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent quaint accommodation”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed here for two nights and what an excellent choice. Great base to stay. It was spotlessly clean everything we needed was there, home from home. Roger and Sue are lovely people really helpful and provide an outstanding breakfast which we appreciated on our last morning especially as we had a drive home which took 11 hours back to Grimsby. Would highly recommend to any age couples. Thank you to you both for your hospitality. Julie and Neal

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us aboard the Ocean Warden. It was a pleasure meeting you and we would love to welcome you aboard again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H
1 review
“Enchanting visit”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What an amazing way to enjoy our vacation! Roger and Su were the ideal hosts Magical setting, private, clean, quiet atmosphere. We'd strongly advise the experience to any couple looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took away happy memories. You are welcome anytime you are back in the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-anne...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Amazing haven on the Ocean”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our time onboard The Oceans warden was amazing. From fantastic hospitality from Sue and Rodger to the very comfortable accomodation, delicious breakfast layed out for us each morning and the amazing sunset and sunrise. We will definitely be back. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for the positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we hope you took away happy memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are looking forward to welcoming you aboard again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter L
2 reviews
“Flawless stay in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was the best holiday we've ever had. You can't get much more exclusive than the wheelhouse of a vessel moored in Penzance harbour, but that's what you get. The bridge is your dining area, there's a full sized toilet and shower, and then the cabin is your sleeping quarters. It's roomy, different, very comfortable, interesting, perfectly located right on the south west coast path with several pubs and restaurants at the end of the pier, 10 minutes walk from Penzance station and the high street shops, but the highlight is the service from Sue and Roger. It's more like staying with family than a hotel or guest house. The breakfasts are enormous and quite capable of covering lunch and excursion snacks, fresh baked pastries every morning, juice and cereals, ham and cheese, fruit, yoghurts. We spent most of our days out and about but when aboard there's always something happening in the harbour, and you've got a prime vantage point from which to watch.

I can't think of a single negative. While it is a floating vessel in a coastal area with highly variable weather, it's moored inside the harbour so there's very little to rock the boat, most of the time it's completely still, and the few times we noticed some motion (such as when one of the Scillonian cargo vessels was departing) it was almost imperceptible so there's nothing to be concerned about there. We found a park on the pier when we got there, and I noticed that as long as you're not arriving when the Scillonian ferry is embarking/disembarking, there was always at least one spot.

We'll definitely be back. Actually, it would be hard to stay anywhere else when in that part of the world. Full credit to Sue and Roger for working hard to create something really special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Wow! Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you had such a good time and took away happy memories. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee P
1 review
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A very interesting and perfect place to stay especially if you travelling to the Scilly Isles as you can't get closer to the ferry point, perfect hospitality, Roger and Sue are fantastic hosts, the best breakfast I have had staying anywhere, the room is lovely and a very comfortable bed, staying in the harbour is so interesting, from your view point there is so much to see, I will definitely be going back and would recommend anyone to stay there, thank you so much for making my weekend so lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review. We enjoyed having you stay and we are pleased you took away happy memories. We look forward to welcoming you back. hi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing