We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polperro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Polperro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Had two wonderful nights here beautiful room big clean bright and spacious Pam and Dave were the perfect hosts. Dave cooked up a fantastic breakfast and Pam served it with a great big smile nothing was too much trouble, you can see that they don't do it for the money only ,they really enjoy what they are doing, lovely nik naks every where from there travels. The place is warm lovely full of charm and of all the b&b's we stayed at in England that was the best. Even the wi fi worked there. Parking not a problem Dave will write out a sticker which you put on the dash and that's it.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
223
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had a three night stay at The Cottage Polperro last month and it was a delightful experience in every way. Dave was there to meet us, help with cases, show us around and had a parking permit ready for us. Room six was lovely with a little staircase up to the bedroom area - perfect for hanging coats and brollies. The room was perfectly spacious for two tall adults and our 12 year old daughter. The shower pressure was good and strong and everything clean and uncluttered. Pam is a wonderful, friendly hostess who always had time to welcome every guest in the morning, ask about their sleep and plans for the day etc. The breakfasts are just fabulous - the home stewed fruit and home made marmalades were terrific. The Cottage is an example of what every B&B should aspire to achieve. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 6 was lovely with two widows and a little hall/stairwell to hang coats and umbrellas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I have been visiting the Cottage since 2001, staying at least twice a year. We absolutely love it. It is a beautiful, tranquil place to stay and Pam and Dave are wonderful hosts and never fail to make us feel welcome. We have never found anywhere to beat it and don't think that we ever will. We would highly recommend the Cottage to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just got back from Polperro today and had to write a review. The Cottage is a lovely B and B. We were met by Dave who showed us around and took us to our room and explained everything right down to where the break glass was in case of fire. The bedroom was decorated beautifully and the bed was really comfortable. Bath towels were thick and fluffy, the shower was great and there were little bottles of shampoo etc in the bathroom, even some flannels! Tea and coffee was available in the room along with biscuits and chocolates, a lovely extra touch.

We were greeted by Pam in the morning who is lovely (a fellow Welsh lady) who showed us to our table for breakfast. There is everything you would need for breakfast. Fresh fruit with natural yoghurt, cereals and juices. Then a lovely cooked breakfast to follow, along with toast.

We had a lovely time at The Cottage and would definitely return. Thank you Pam and Dave for being lovely hosts.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank joolyspooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

For fast approaching 20 years, the Cottage Bed and Breakfast in Polperro has more than maintained its reputation (in my opinion) as the best B&B in Britain. I only managed a one night break this season (late October) but as always Pam and Dave Foster were the most generous of hosts. Nor do they ever rest on their laurels: each year new developments during the closed winter season can be identified. From the dish of chocolates as well as biscuits on the in-room tea and coffee making tray; to the new roof that is being installed as I type. As for master chef Dave's breakfasts - they really are superb. A fantastic base from which to explore Cornwall - and a great bolt-hole in which to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms at the back of the Cottage B&B are more secluded and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AconcaguaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I have stayed here on three different occasions now and feel bad about not saying anything to TripAdvisor until now.The truth is we'd really like The Cottage to be a secret ....it's THAT nice.

We ate here when they had a restaurant over 10 years ago and Pam and Dave have been welcoming us ever since.

Pam is the hostess with the mostest...and the most house proud of any hotelier we've ever met.The place is immaculate.Pam could offer significant discounts to those who can find a cobweb or a spot of mildew;she'd never pay out!

Dave is a most charming and quietly spoken man.....but a devil in the kitchen and a demon with a paintbrush or screwdriver.Great breakfasts and great paintwork always works for us.

What a team.What a place.We'll be back.

Room Tip: there are no bad ones!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Third stay over the last 7 years and it simply gets better! We were lucky enough to be put in 'the lodge' which is a delightful log cabin behind the main building. In October, you might well expect the property (and even the welcome) to be a little tired but not a bit of it! Greeted like long lost friends, we felt like we'd returned home....

Pam & Dave are superb hosts and run an immaculate B&B. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The Lodge is a delight but up quite a few steps (where isn't in Polperro).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonTheFish999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
1.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tencreek Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL132RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Polperro
Hotel Class:5 star — Cottage Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Bed and Breakfast is owned and run by Pam and Dave Foster for the past 23 years to a high 5 Star Gold award Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the picturesque Cornish fishing village of Polperro in South East Cornwall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Polperro
Cottage b&b
Cottage Bed And Breakfast Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing