We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely x”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottles B&B and holiday apartments
Ranked #4 of 12 Polperro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely x”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights only and found it very pleasant. The room was clean and bright and had views of the hills. The breakfast was delicious and served in a bright conservatory overlooking the garden. Jo and Mark were lovely and very friendly.
The walk to the village takes 5 minutes and is a pleasant stroll, several pubs and eating places to choose from nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravenchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Cottles is run by Jo & Mark who took over in 2010. The rooms are clean and extremely comfortable and we had peaceful nights sleep. We were welcomed by the hosts with a pot of tea on arrival and they are always on hand to offer tips on the village and places to visit.
The full english breakfasts are great, with plenty to eat and a varied menu (thanks Mark the chef). Car parking on site or just below the house (permit provided).
I was even given a bottle of wine as I celebrated my Birthday on this visit.
Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willis234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We arrived early evening and we was meet by Jo who then helped us carry our bags to our room. She maked us a pot of coffee and brought it up to our room . The room was lovely and clean with lovely white bedding. The bathroom was spotless with fluffy white towels. The 3 mornings we was there Mark and Jo asked us what we had done yesterday and what we was going to do today. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice on the menu. And we over looked the garden perfect sitting. Nothing seemed to much trouble for Mark and Jo. We cant wait to go back and will tell our friends and family how lovely it is there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle72_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We live in the North West but were down in Cornwall for a wedding, so booked 2 nights here after a recomendation. We arrived very late on Friday evening as we drove down after work, but this wasn't a problem and Jo and Mark were here to help us with our bags.
The room was cosy and comfortable and the breakfast the following morning was one of the best-quality cooked breakfasts I've ever had.
The day after the wedding wedidn't emerge until almost mid-day - completely missing the 10.30 check-out time. Again, this wasn't a problem. Mark even gave us a lift to where our car was parked from the night before, saving us an hour-long walk with hangovers.
All in all, a perfect B&B experience!
John and Anna

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowesj2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I've stayed at The Cottles a few times now since Jo & Mark took over in 2010. The rooms are lovely and cannot be faulted, very clean and extremely comfortable and with spotless ensuite bathrooms. Jo & Mark are warm and welcoming, full of handy advise about local walks, pubs, beaches, shopping etc. Mark's full english breakfasts are fabulous and there's a great variety of options on the menu including smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. If you're planning a stay in Polperro then I'd highly recommend staying here, I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Great bird spotting sitting on the verandah outside the breakfast conservatory in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had a lovely weekend in Polperro at The Cottles. The new(ish) owners are very friendly and helpful & the room was clean and pretty. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebelle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Had a lovely four night stay here in one of the self-catering apartments which was perfect for us and our two kids. It had been recently redecorated and was comfortable and practical (with a particularly smart new bathroom). Our friendly hosts Jo and Mark welcomed us with a cake and were on hand with maps and suggestions about the local area. The kitchen was very well equipped and we really appreciated the little extras, including board games, books (ones that you actually want to read) and DVDs. The apartment was great value for money and definitely somewhere we’ll come back to soon.

Room Tip: Try one of the two self-catering apartments
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank holidaysrock2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Trenderway Farm
Trenderway Farm
#8 of 12 in Polperro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottles B&B and holiday apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottles B&B and holiday apartments

Property: The Cottles B&B and holiday apartments
Address: The Cottles Longcoombe Lane, Polperro PL13 2PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottles offers relaxed, comfortable bed and breakfast or self-catering accommodation in the picturesque Cornish fishing village of Polperro. There are three en-suite B&B rooms, offering double or king-size accommodation, all with tea & coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV with Freeview and DVD player, free wi-fi and hair dryers. We offer a varied breakfast menu, including a vegetarian option, using the finest fresh, local produce where possible. Breakfast is taken in our conservatory, with views over the garden and valley. Guests are free to relax on our terrace and enjoy the beautiful countryside views. A ten-minute stroll through Polperro village, with its many pubs, restaurants and shops, takes you to the charming harbour. There are also two self-catering holiday apartments available. Free parking is included, and may be in our own private car park or in the main Polperro car park, approx 200 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cottles B&B and holiday apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottles B&B And Holiday Apartments Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing