We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday roast gone downhill”
Review of The Blue Peter Inn

The Blue Peter Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional Cornish pub in excellent location with lovely sea and harbour views. Serving a great range of local ales and cider, Wholesome home-cooked food with Daily specials. Live Music Friday and Saturday night. Come and visit us for a real pub experience.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday roast gone downhill”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We used to travel to polperro regularly specifically for the amazing Sunday roasts that you could get at the blue Peter. Unfortunately we hadn't visited for around a year, so obviously were excited to pop down one Sunday. On this visit however, the Sunday roasts were nowhere near as good as they had been previously. I don't know whether there is a new chef, or whether they are cutting costs, but the roast was extremely disappointing, from home made Yorkshire puddings and roast potatoes to, what I guess we're aunt bessies. I don't think we will be returning again unfortunately.

Helpful?
2 Thank jrc1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stead23, General Manager at The Blue Peter Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thankyou for your review and apologise profusely for your dissapointment upon your last visit.

Between the months of October and April we offer a full Sunday roast menu with two variations of meat and all the trimmings, a vegetarian option and a limited choice of sandwiches. However, over the years we have found that as the main season approaches our customer demands change and many of our visitors are looking for a wider array of seafood choices when they come to us to dine.

Unfortunately, due to the small size of our kitchenand the fact that all of the dishes on our menu are homemade, it is impossible for us to run our Sunday roast choices alongside our full lunch and dinner menu. For this reason we discontinue our usual roast menu but continue to offer a variation that includes one meat (usually beef) with vegetables, sautee potatoes and a yorkshire puddding. It should have been made clear to you at the time of ordering that this is not our usual Sunday roast, and we sincerely apologise for this breakdown in communication.

We would like to thankyou for bringing this issue to our attention and intend to use your review constructively in an attempt to avoid a dissapointing incident like this from occuring in the future. We have discussed your points, and as the issues that you have raised are completely valid have now decided to discontinue our Sunday lunch substitution through the summer months. Please rest assured that the roast lunches you have previously known and loved will be available (just as you remember them) from October. We really hope that in reading this you will be willing to pay us another visit and allow us to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,071
    320
    78
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ignore the other reviews!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The Blue Peter Inn is a fantastic little pub. Good beer, nice food and a great atmosphere. Honestly all the staff are the most friendly we've found anywhere and locals are very welcoming of visitors. We had an excellent seafood platter on our first visit, returned many times just for drinks during the week and finished off our holiday with breakfast before heading home. Probably in our top five favourite pubs in the whole UK (and we've been to many excellent pubs!).

Helpful?
1 Thank MrMTHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very welcoming !”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed another bank holiday stay in Polperro.We return to the blue Peter as we have done before as they always are very welcoming and the food is excellent plus good value ! The bar staff are polite and nothing is to much trouble and the locals also make you feel comfortable.I would defiantly recommend this public house/restaurant to anyone visiting Polperro.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,112 reviews
690 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,305 helpful votes
“A bit up itself.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

People who talk about Polperro tend to refer to the Blue Peter. It has a vast number of reviews. It markets itself heavily. Take a look at the smug and OTT website. It's as if you are in some way out of step or the scene if you do not mesh magnetically with the projected ethos of this pub and then tell the world about it. Well. We did come in, late afternoon on a Saturday, in a mixed group of seven including one pensioner and a twenty year old recovering from a leg injury. There is no level access. It was a struggle to get the lad up into the bar. There were maybe a dozen heavily intoxicated people in a much larger number of regulars/visitors thronging the bar and what seemed to be a series of impromptu songs. I began to think that this was perhaps the bustling focus of south East Cornwall pub life but the attitude of the bar staff, the fumbling unhelpful efforts of those organising the food when we tried to eat later and the constant blast of drinkers forcing the pace and deluge of hail fellow well met, slaked by a noticeable preference to locals over new faces, gradually palled and left us feeling that we were paying witnesses to a hackneyed self admiring performance. If I lived locally or close by in the village I don't think I would be able to cope with it more than once or twice a year.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“food or pub”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

they do not seem to know what they are a pub or restaurant, neither is very good, about 25 years ago this was the pub to be in, but is now stuck in the wrong century, food was awefull service terrible,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank nicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stead23, General Manager at The Blue Peter Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to visit The Blue Peter, we are dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and I would like to take this opportunity to respond to some of the points you have made in your review.

I would like to begin by clarifying that we do in fact know exactly what our identity is - that being a traditional Cornish real ale house serving well kept local beers, wholesome homemade food, in a relaxed and atmospheric environment. We do not claim or aspire to be a restaurant endeavour in any shape or form, customers have to place their own orders for both drinks and food at the bar and table service is not offered at all except to deliver meals. However, all of our team are exceptionally friendly and work extremely hard to ensure that our customers have an enjoyable experience that they can hopefully liken to a visit to their favourite local pub.

Judging by your review it is apparent that it has been a very long time since your last visit to The Blue Peter, and yes it has changed - but only in that it actually serves food now!. This is a change that both ourselves and the majority of our customer base feel is for the better. Over the last 25 years societies social habits and expecations have both changed and evolved substantially, government legislation, a smoking ban and the current economic climate have all contributed to the typical British pub having to seriously consider their most beneficial and influential niche and play to these strengths to the best of their ability in order to remain in business - after all we all have bills and an honest living to make don't we ?.

You may think that our pub is dated and that we are stuck in the wrong century, but to us and most of our clientele it is perfect - a haven where you walk through the door and step back in time, an escape from the modern designs that adorn so many pubs and restaurants these days, a place where you are free from the noise and hecticness that consumes daily life, a place that can help melt your stresses away whilst you either sit back with your thoughts and relax with a pint or enjoy the banter of the bar. It is a great shame that you did not enjoy your visit to The Blue and we can only apologise for this, However, given the fact that around 90 % of our customers leave extremely satisfied and happy and many of them are willing to drive 200 miles for a weekend visit to what they refer to as their 'local', perhaps it is not that we are confused or lost about what we are - but rather that 'The Blue' is just not the place for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Peter Inn also viewed

 
Polperro, Cornwall
Polperro, Cornwall
 

Been to The Blue Peter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing