We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish and chips. Nice meals...”

Crumplehorn Inn & Mill
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We offer comfortable and cosy B&B and self catering accommodation at the Inn where you can enjoy a great selection of local Cornish real ales, beers, wines, spirits, soft drinks and hot drinks in a comfortable and cosy oldy worldy pub atmosphere. Our freshly cooked, homemade food is served all day until 9pm at night and includes breakfast, cream teas and a specials board featuring our team of chefs' specials of the day including local fish dishes.
MIDLANDS
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips. Nice meals...”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

A good restaurant with good meals and service. Nice venue....

Worth revisiting....


Thank you
.....

.....


Helpful?
2 Thank SUMMERGIRL080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    249
    78
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The food was great and reasonably priced catered for families and nothing was too much trouble, the location is great and the staff are the friendliest in Polperro

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gertie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't step out of line!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Crumplehorn certainly looks the part and is in a good location (compared to other pubs in Polperro) as it's right next to the main car park.

Inside, the place feels nice to begin with, until you sit down to eat....

The food arrived pretty quickly, I think a couple of the meals (at least) were pre-prepared and warmed up, but it all tasted good enough.

Looking around the main family dining area though and you can't help noticing the number of warning signs around the place. Don't steal the glasses, no children in the bar, no pushchairs etc....all fair enough but these signs are in every direction. With the boss lady stood by the entrance with the reservations clipboard (or whatever it was) it all feels very policed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alancrockford, Owner at Crumplehorn Inn & Mill, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

There is one sign regarding pushchairs is on the outside of our bar door which says if you need help with your pushchair please just ask us. It does not say ‘no pushchairs’ in the bar in any context.

The one sign about glasses is quite clearly a joke and intended to raise a smile, which it almost always does.

The single, small children sign says we welcome children but that licensing law does not allow them at the bar, so not much we can do about that one really. It does not say ‘no children’ in the bar areas either in any context.

The boss lady is there to ensure the highest level of customer service for our customers.

Perhaps we could encourage you to firstly actually read things properly rather than make half baked assumptions and, secondly, to lighten up just a teeny weenie bit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We went on Sunday and had 1 child and a baby. Most tables were reserved but the lovely lady asked a couple to move so she could accommodate us with a highchair. Food was fabulous. Many thanks for a great roast.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We visited twice during our week in Cornwall. The food is fantastic, kids meal are excellent quality, decent size, fresh food. Reasonable prices, very friendly staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crumplehorn Inn & Mill also viewed

 

Been to Crumplehorn Inn & Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing