We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage in a beautiful village.”

Review of Lower Laurels

The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
L.Laurels is the S/C ground floor of this 3 storey traditional Cornish house The open plan dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
The 'Slip', just 15 seconds from your door.
L.Laurels is the S/C ground floor of this 3 storey traditional Cornish house
The open plan dining area
WiFi, HiFi, DVDs, books, tea lights - just chill
View from front window, watch the world go by
Well equipped kitchen
Comfy bedroom with large EnSuite
The private 'suntrap'
The Warren. L.Laurels is 200 metres on the left
Polperro inner harbour
The tidal beach,just a 4 minute stroll away
Early evening in Polperro
The river Pol that runs through the village
Spectacular walks nearby
The outer harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Glouceste...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in a beautiful village.”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for four nights back in October. The Lower Laurels is a beautiful,one bedroomed cottage in Polperro.
We had been looking to return to Polperro for a short break and after seeing that Lower Laurels was dog friendly we decided to enquire about it's availability. Owner Kelvin Foy quoted a very reasonable price and the whole booking process was handled very efficiently and friendly. The cottage was very well equipped,clean and cosy. We ate out most days as Polperro has some great pubs and restaurants. The Blue Peter being the pick of a very good bunch. Their sunday lunch is a must, as well as the fish and chips.
The cottage is conveniently situated near the quayside and close to all shops/pubs/restaurants. However, if you know the village,you'll be aware that you can't access parts of it by car. You'll have to park your car at the car park up the top and walk down, so i recommend a suitcase with wheels. Don't let this put you off though,it adds to the charm of the place.
I would thoroughly recommend Lower Laurels and the village of Polperro to everyone .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage,pubs and village.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Conveniently located in beautiful harbour village.”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in Pollpero and were really pleased with the accomadation which was situated right on the harbour and a stones throw from a variety of pubs, restaurants and shops. Lower Laurels is nicely converted and was perfect for our stay. The little seating terrace was a great addition and luckily we had great weather to be able to use the proximity to the coastal path for walks with the dog. A long drive from Yorkshire but worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Slight damp smaell in the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rash1964
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are regular visitors to Polperro and for this years annual pilgrimage we decided to rent Lower Laurels for our parents who are both pensioners. This property was ideal for the purpose because of its central location and the practical layout of accommodation. Ideal for two individuals, the property is basically the lower ground floor of a bigger property, having its own entrance from the approach. The Lower Laurels consists of a beautiful Lounge/diner which is sympathetically renovated to a high standard and is well equipped for a holiday stay. The bedroom is situated just off the main living area and contains a lovely double bed and build-in wardrobe. Again the sleeping area is tastefully decorated to a high standard and in keeping with the original character of the property. The property also benefits from a nice size en-suite shower room.

A few minor points for consideration: As this property is the ground floor of a bigger property, some "communal noise" can be heard and should be expected from the accommodation above.
Although all the living quarters are situated on the same level, the property does have a few small steps on the approach.
The property does not offer any local parking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: lack of parking
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjplum
Chippenham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and in the right location”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

First and foremost, my wife and I stayed at Lower Laurels for a long weekend and were given a warm welcome by the owner Kelvin Foy . The apartment is cosy, clean, decorated in keeping with a seaside rental and ideally placed (literally a stone's throw) from the harbour. We walked, ate in the pubs and restaurants and enjoyed the beauty of Polperro without a single hitch. Recommend this to a single person or couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den_Gina
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay over the May bank holiday. The apartment is ideally placed right in the center close to all the restaurants and pubs. It's literally on the end of the coast walk from Looe to Polperro. Get the bus to Looe and walk back right to your door. It's about a 10 minute walk to the carpark so luggage with wheels is a good idea... on our last trip back to the car we tried out the little Polperro tram to save our legs though. We loved Polperro and this is a great little place to stay while there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirGINie...
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No wonder the smugglers of old chose to stay there, it's heavenly !”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This excellent little cottage is well situated in the village right across from the charming museaum on smugglers and pirates but the rental is also already on the coastal path, making for a great launching pad for walks in the amazing local scenery. It is very well equiped with all the necessary kitchen tools (and more), big shower, comfy bed, hair dryer, TV etc. Kelvin and his wife are very welcoming and there is lots of documentation on what to do in the area and tips on local restaurants and pubs. It feels very much like home away from home. It helped that the weather was gorgeous but Polperro itself is charming and the fact that the roads are literally too small for cars and all must park at the top of the village makes it pedestrian friendly and somewhat preserved. Excellent relaxing spot and more authentic than bigger neighbouring Looe !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the situation in the village and on the coastal path and the homelyness of the rental itself
Liked least: ... - if really really pushed to choose something I didn't love in the rental, I would say no dishwasher but that's just a minor drawback ;)
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki P
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect romantic break!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Kelvin for such a wonderful stay at lower laurels.
Polperro has truly stolen our hearts and we couldn't imagine a more comfortable, cosy place to stay. We stayed at the cottage from the 18th of Feb for 3 Nights and were ever so sad when we had to leave! Lower Laurels has everything you could need, great cooking utensils, an amazing shower and a seriously squishy bed. Sitting in front of the fire in the evening was an added treat and went perfectly with a glass (or bottle) of wine! If you are looking for a romantic get away with the other half I couldn't recommend this property highly enough.
Walk out your front door, down a few steps and you are on the slip, you couldn't be closer.
if your looking for a meal out, you must try the infamous Blue Peter Inn.Great Ales and incredible food. The seafood platter was so delicious we had to have it two days in a row (be warned the portions are belly busting and not for the faint hearted).
It was our first holiday together as a couple and as much as we want to explore more places I have a sneaking suspicion we will be returning to Polperro and Lower Laurels very soon.

Nikki and Pete

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing