We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What all good B&B hosts should be like”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penryn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penryn House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What all good B&B hosts should be like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in April 2014 whilst walking the SWCP.
Polperro is a lovely port village, with much more to it than the purely picture-postcard near neighbour Mevagissey.
Our hosts at Penryn House provided a lovely warm and friendly welcome to their hotel which was pleasantly decorated, clean, and spacious. Our room was fine though I suspect they had larger ones. Service from the owners was perfect.
For some Coastal Path walkers it may be a drawback that it is located at the back of the village but it is well worth any extra yardage.
We enjoyed our stay which we found very relaxing and we would readily stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    82
    19
    7
    0
See reviews for
40
204
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived Friday and have enjoyed 2 lovely nights in polperro! This hotel has parking which not many has, the hosts are lovely and very welcoming! Breakfast is very nice and sets you on your way for the day! Rooms are modern and clean! I would 100% stay here again! Thanks a lot

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Obimick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Penryn House is located a stones throw from the beautiful harbour at Polperro. The hotel itself is very well maintained, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent and I would recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Hosts Anna and Chris are very welcoming and are able to offer good advise re the locality. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Decided to go back to Penryn Hotel last weekend. Been there several times over recent years but had not stayed there for 18 months. We arrived and were pleased to find that nothing had changed. Still great hosts (Anna & Chris) , great location , great room and great breakfast. We must not leave it so long before our next stay !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I recently stayed in Penryn House while in Polperro for a wedding. Polperro is a beautiful place and the service at the hotel is brilliant, from check-in to check-out I was made to feel welcome. I booked the single room which although very small, is an excellent use of the available space. Breakfast is wonderful and I love the fact you get choices of tea, coffee, and hot chocolate in your room as well as bottled water. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be booking again if I visit Polperro in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for valentines night, was helluva storm, Anna advised us on te safest place to park the car, showed us our room, explained all that was needed to know and led us to it, which we loved, although she was always there if we needed her.
A lovely family run hotel, warm, cosy and very clean.
If I had to find a downside, I would be hard pushed but the only one is the wifi is only in the lounge, not in actual rooms, which for me was fine, for the wife a problem...

To sum it up,

Lovely, friendly, relaxed, comfortable, clean and inviting.. Will we return, you betcha..!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bold3rz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We arrived on a wet and cold winters day, finding the location easily and were welcomes by Anna. She was a fantastic host and we were put at ease and were soon sent on our way with a list of places that were open. The room was well equipped with an ensuite and chairs near the window to look at the view. The breakfast was a great way to start the day. I would highly recommend the trip to Polperro and Penryn House Hotel as a must to stay.

Room Tip: The room was at the front of the hotel and we loved listening to the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penryn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penryn House Hotel

Property: Penryn House Hotel
Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Penryn House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run country style hotel in the heart of Polperro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Penryn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penryn Hotel Polperro
Penryn House Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing