We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Penryn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penryn House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Good value. Rooms clean and modern. Breakfast had good Selection of juices, teas and freshly brewed coffee. Plenty of hot and cold food options all of which were fine. Lounge/bar area in need of modernisation. Land lady finicky and over particular. Regardless a good value B&B in a great location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carrick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaPidcock, Owner at Penryn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your review - we are glad you found us value for money, modern, clean and enjoyed our breakfast selection. All things a good b&b should be!

Your comment about our lounge is surprising, however. It is clean, comfortable and cosy and is decorated to reflect the Victorian era, with all the modern day niceities - wi-fi, central heating and lighting!

I do, however, take issue with your comment about me.

It's not very nice to personally insult me, unless, of course, you weren't! As you did not expand on your comment, I cannot defend myself. I would describe myself as professional, courteous, friendly, accommodating and my other guests describe me very well in their lovely reviews.

Perhaps you should think twice before commenting on somebody's character without explaining why in future - it's very upsetting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Penryn House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in April 2014 whilst walking the SWCP.
Polperro is a lovely port village, with much more to it than the purely picture-postcard near neighbour Mevagissey.
Our hosts at Penryn House provided a lovely warm and friendly welcome to their hotel which was pleasantly decorated, clean, and spacious. Our room was fine though I suspect they had larger ones. Service from the owners was perfect.
For some Coastal Path walkers it may be a drawback that it is located at the back of the village but it is well worth any extra yardage.
We enjoyed our stay which we found very relaxing and we would readily stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived Friday and have enjoyed 2 lovely nights in polperro! This hotel has parking which not many has, the hosts are lovely and very welcoming! Breakfast is very nice and sets you on your way for the day! Rooms are modern and clean! I would 100% stay here again! Thanks a lot

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Obimick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Penryn House is located a stones throw from the beautiful harbour at Polperro. The hotel itself is very well maintained, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent and I would recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Hosts Anna and Chris are very welcoming and are able to offer good advise re the locality. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Decided to go back to Penryn Hotel last weekend. Been there several times over recent years but had not stayed there for 18 months. We arrived and were pleased to find that nothing had changed. Still great hosts (Anna & Chris) , great location , great room and great breakfast. We must not leave it so long before our next stay !

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I recently stayed in Penryn House while in Polperro for a wedding. Polperro is a beautiful place and the service at the hotel is brilliant, from check-in to check-out I was made to feel welcome. I booked the single room which although very small, is an excellent use of the available space. Breakfast is wonderful and I love the fact you get choices of tea, coffee, and hot chocolate in your room as well as bottled water. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be booking again if I visit Polperro in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for valentines night, was helluva storm, Anna advised us on te safest place to park the car, showed us our room, explained all that was needed to know and led us to it, which we loved, although she was always there if we needed her.
A lovely family run hotel, warm, cosy and very clean.
If I had to find a downside, I would be hard pushed but the only one is the wifi is only in the lounge, not in actual rooms, which for me was fine, for the wife a problem...

To sum it up,

Lovely, friendly, relaxed, comfortable, clean and inviting.. Will we return, you betcha..!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bold3rz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
875 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,381 reviews
3.3 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
468 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penryn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penryn House Hotel

Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range: £79 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penryn House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run country style hotel in the heart of Polperro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Penryn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penryn Hotel Polperro
Penryn House Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing