We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private party”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Private party”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A lovely looking pub with a delightful seating area outside. Unfortunately on the evening we visited there was a private party in full swing. We felt like gatecrashers, had one drink outside, where we had to stand, and left. Is it a good idea to host a private party in the tourist season? Will try again sometime and would like to try the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    136
    45
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sea food is their speciality.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming friendly staff. Visited in a party of 7. 2 adults, the rest kids. Food was served in very good time. I had the chicken jalfrezi and my partner had the Fisherman's lunch. I wish I'd have had what she had as it looked delicious. The children enjoyed their food and the bill was under £70 with drinks. Beauty

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Forthelolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and lovely garden!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I came here on two occasions last week while on holiday with my husband. It is a really nice pub with a nice little patio garden that overlooks a stream. The two ladies that work behind the bar were really friendly both times that we came. the first time we came, we had drinks but on the second we shared the Captain's Platter between us. It was really nice and would recommend this place definitely!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monkeyeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Does the job”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

4 of us eat well for 50 quid. Beer good but no Guinness. Good duke box
You will not leave hungry. Bit of a friendly biker vibe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeod77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A visit to the Ship Inn is worth the visit whilst in Polperro the food is very reasonably prices and very good. Waiters and waitress's are friendly Oh and the beer is superb as well

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing