We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Cottage,nightmare parking”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Laney

Little Laney is located in the heart of the picturesque Polperro, Just 100 meters from the harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Laney is located in the heart of the picturesque Polperro, Just 100 meters from the harbour
Lovely open plan living area with real fire Lovely open plan living area with real fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Little Laney is located in the heart of the picturesque Polperro, Just 100 meters from the harbour
Lovely open plan living area with real fire
Lovely open plan living area with real fire
Lovely open plan living area with real fire
Kitchen/diner
Master double bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Master double bedroom with en-suite bathroom
En-suite bathroom for the master double bedroom
Double bedroom on second floor
Double bedroom on second floor
Twin bedroom on second floor
Shower room and toilet on the first floor
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 2-3 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of Little Laney
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of Little Laney
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ossiejoll...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice Cottage,nightmare parking”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Little Laney for a family holiday.The cottage is very much as described on their website.
The parking however is something else, the free parking space is up a steep hill to a car park that has around twenty spaces marked out when there is only room for around sixteen cars, the steep hill you have to negotiate to get to this car park is narrow and has hazards such as homemade concrete ramps protruding into the road showing signs where cars have hit them,you also stand a good chance of meeting other vehicles coming in the opposite direction.
My advise to anyone staying at Little Laney who owns a decent car that is larger than a Nissan Micra is to forget the free parking space and buy a 5-7 day ticket on the main village car park and pay £32 as it is cheap compared with a new tyre and bodywork repairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
We thank you for your feedback on your recent stay in Little Laney, Polperro and are glad you enjoyed you time in the cottage and Polperro. Parking:- the parking provided is up a hill as described on our website and I should point out to readers of your review that all sizes of cars (and vans when making deliveries into the village) use the road - as with all things driving related care and attention are required but it is accessible to all. For example I have drive a 7 seat 4 wheel drive Shogun up and down it without any incident. The spaces in the card park are standard car spaces as you would find in any supermarket - so not massive but adequate. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flutterby...
west midlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cottage delightful, cosy and comfortable.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here for for 4 nights lovely location Polperro.Handy for restaurants,shops and harbour.
The cottage was exceptionally well maintained and the beds comfy.
The photo,s don't do it justice. Would recommend it to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy ,cean,comfy and great location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmckpostb...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Polperro Cottage with character and charm.”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

You know the anxiety when you first arrive at a property you haven't used before, will it match the descriptions you read or will it immediately put a downer on your stay? Well, don't be anxious if you're thinking or have booked in to Little Laney because you will definitely not be on a downer after you open the door to this Cornish character cottage.
The location is ideal for all the amenities in Polperro and the short walk home from a local Pub or Restaurant is a blessing when all you want to do is get home and go to bed at the end of another beautiful relaxing a day.
If you're a dog owner like we are you'll possibly find this funny, after the event for us. Wellington, our black lab decided on the first night to knock the latch down on the front door and when we arrived home from dinner we couldn't get in. Not the ideal way to introduce yourself to those managing the cottage but Dave handled the situation quickly and with no fuss only adding to the opinion that we had chosen to rent from the right owner.
As a potential visitor to Little Laney what are the plus points?
Clean, no hidden extra charges (electricity cost included and clean bed linen and towels supplied) ideal location, however, if you've visited Polperro before you'll know parking is a challenge. Little Laney has a free parking space on a Farm parking location but it is up a hill. My recommendation would be to use the local Taxi service to run your luggage from the main car park at the top of Polperro to Little Laney and buy a 5 - 7 day parking ticket for that car park. We paid £32.00 for this and had no regrets in doing so. If this is not for you and you don't mind the walk up the hill to the free parking space, every time you need the car, then not something to think about. Dave whom we dealt with representing the owner is an asset to them and a very pleasant and amiable man.
Negative points. Accepting there is one free parking space included in the cottage let, though not in an ideal outside the cottage position, then none during our stay.
We ate at various local places including "The Ship Inn", " Crumplehorn Inn and Mill" and "The Blue Peter." All were good, however, we favoured "The Ship Inn" more.
If you like someone else to prepare your breakfast then "The Wheel House" is just a couple of minutes walk down the street.
If you've never visited Cornwall before then you're in for a treat and staying at "Little Laney" in Polperro is a great place to start your visit from.
When going out visiting places do not look at distance the normal way as the beautiful scenic roads will take longer. Again not a negative just something to accept as the norm from the way of life that is beautiful Cornwall. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was as described and our interaction with Dave representing the Owners.
Liked least: Even though there is a parking space included the offsite location of the space is not ideal. A negotiated cheaper cost at the main Polperro car park would be better in my opinion.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tag1969
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely Polperro cottage”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed the cottage and were blessed with good weather.
The downstairs is really cosy, sofas are comfy, log burner is lovely. The kitchen area is small but functional and has everything you need....didn't plan on cooking much anyway with so many amazing places to eat within walking distance! Wifi worked well all over the cottage.
The stairs are fairly steep as expected but my 79 year old mum managed them fine.
The en suite room is really nice and we slept very well. The TV is also a nice touch.
The two bedrooms on the top floor are also lovely and in keeping with the cottage. There is also a TV in one of these which is perfect for a teenager.
Our dog loved this cottage as well.
We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ktscatty
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic, warm welcoming”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Little laney cottage was all we had hoped it would be, we rented the cottage for February half term! Polperro is lovely and quiet at this time of year and the locals were very welcoming and friendly! The cottage is well equipped and warm, the beds and furniture are comfortable and feels like home! More importantly we were able to take our dog with us and this made the holiday for us! I will be renting this cottage again and the bottle of wine the owners sent us was a bonus to the stay! Thank you so much

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby B
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and Cosy Cottage!”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great week in little laney, it was a charming and cosy cottage. It was very close to the harbour, ideal for walking and exploring the local amenities. The cottage itself was very homely and welcoming, it had all the facilities we needed. Being a colder month the log burner was especially good! We had an excellent time and we will be recommending it to friends and will be looking to book up again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alidub19
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable cottage in the perfect harbour location.”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We spent a wonderful week at Little Laney. The cottage is just as you'd expect; full of history and character.
It had all the facilities to make it your home from home for the duration of your stay. Clean, tidy and comfortable.
We felt at ease in the cottage, and the village and neighbours were all perfect enough to add to the whole experience of a special harbour side retreat.
Excellent pubs, shops and restaurants all within three minute walking distance.
If you want somewhere to disappear into local Cornish life, experience the sea, cliff side walks and a refreshing pint at the end of a hard day, Little Laney is the place for your holiday.
We'll be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing