We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Moorings

The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro Lounge/diner with a doorway leading onto a large balcony over the harbour
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Lounge/diner with a doorway leading onto a large balcony over the harbour
Kitchen/diner with a doorway leading onto a large balcony over the harbour
Master double bedroom with harbour views & ensuite shower room
The master double bedroom's ensuite shower room
Twin bedroom with harbour views
Downstairs shower room
The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
The Moorings is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of The Moorings
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of The Moorings
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of The Moorings
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 3-4 mins walk of The Moorings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pamkinder
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My stay”
Reviewed 27 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Third year to stay here . If ever a problem it is sorted very quickly. Disappointed that leaving cottage the drain outside was overflowing every day from cottage above and disappointed bed linen not changed in middle of my stay . Window still broken from over a year ago too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsnee1
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with fabulous views”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Gorgeous cottage. I read some of the other reviews and yes the second bedroom is small and would be a push to get two adults in and yes the shower room is tiny. However these cottages are hundreds of years old and steeped in character and you have to accept things will be different. We visited for Christmas and the place was decorated with tree, garland and lights plus a bottle of wine, Christmas crackers , mince pies and a tin of biscuits. I cooked Christmas lunch in a well stocked kitchen. We spent Christmas day in the blue peter inn right next door which was full of festivities. I would certainly recommend this place and am planning to return in the summer to take advantage of the great balcony overlooking the harbour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge and view
Liked least: The shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Thank you for sharing your Christmas experience in The Moorings and Polperro. We look forward to welcoming you back in the Summer when you can get out on the balcony and soak up those superb views!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plodus
salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Mostly, Very Nice”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We booked the luggage taxi which was great as it is nigh on impossible to get your car close to the cottage,he met us at the allocated car park and took the luggage and my wife off on his quadbike whilst I strolled to the cottage with Ollie the Cavalier.
Loved the balcony which literally hangs over the harbour,loved the kitchen,large and well equiped,loved the lounge,large and well furnished with great views of the harbour,loved the bedroom great size with great view.

Hated the ensuite,tiny with a useless shower,I hate having to dance around to get wet and a silly little wash basin on which the cold tap is in danger of falling off.
Disliked the bathroom,a free standing bath that dominates the space with a shower attachment that is totally useless is, IMHO ,a bad use of the available space,a good shower would be a much better and much more practical.

The noise from the other holiday lets that neighbour the Moorings can be distracting particularly the next door lets bedroom is above the Moorings bedroom and the thud of feet tripping across the ceiling followed by the sound the owner of the feet urinating loudly in their ensuite is not a pleasant way to be woken up also the smokers from the Blue Peter Inn chatting and laughing late at night within feet of the bedroom window is another distraction.

All in all a lovely cottage with great character,great views within yards of the beach,within feet of the best pub in Polperro but with poor sound insulation and poor bathing facilities perfectly suited to a couple or 3 people but no way is the second bedroom suitable for 2 people unless they are small children.

Remember to pack some earplugs and bring your own towels, theirs are not very big or of a good quality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony
Liked least: The ensuite and bathroom and noisy neighbours.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Penny M
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incorrectly advertised”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I love Polperro and have stayed there many times in a number of different rental cottages. I have always been more than happy with the accommodation but this time sadly I was not and felt that I needed to write a review to let other people know a few important details. In my opinion this cottage comfortably sleeps only three people, any more than this in your party and it is an inconvenient struggle, you may just get away with it with children/ teenagers but four adults is really pushing it. We could not believe how cramped it was in the tiny single bedroom once we had pulled out the second twin bed and then we had to take the bedside table out onto the landing. i feel strongly that is a single room and should serve and be advertised as such. Luckily for us there were just three of us in our party and it just happens to be personal preference that we don't sleep in a double bed together - we discovered a little put you up bed in the cupboard upstairs and took that down into the spacious lounge and set it up there- so we managed but this was far from ideal. I don't think people expect to sleep in a put you up bed in cottage accommodation and I am sure we are not the only couple who select a cottage using a criteria of sleeping facilities that best suit them.
I also feel it is important to note that in this cottage it is like sharing the same building with the two cottages either side- you can hear absolutely everything and if you happen to rent at the same time as people who are coming in late at night and doing a lot of running up and down stairs and shouting, you can be significantly disturbed.

All that said, the location is stunning, the balcony a real bonus and everything is spotlessly clean. I would just really like to see it made clearer in the property description what the bedroom arrangements really are.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony
Liked least: the noise from adjoining properties
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay in The Moorings. I am sorry you felt the description was mis-leading regarding the single bedroom.
Our website states:
"This single bedroom with views into the harbour has standard size single bed with pull out to convert to twin. It benefits from an en-suite cloakroom with toilet and hand wash basin."
The photo clearly shows a single bed with the arrangement of the furniture such that if the pull-out is to be utilised (which many previous guests have done) it does mean moving the bedside cabinet and will result in a small bedroom for 2 guests.
I believe our description and photo do advertise this correctly and I am sorry you feel they don't.
Regarding noise - the cottage is in a terrace of several cottages and we rarely receive noise complaints but some guests can be less considerate than others when staying in adjoining cottages, having said that they do have very thick Cornish stone walls.
I am glad in all other respects The Moorings was to your liking and it does continue to be one of our most popular choices all year round due to the fantastic location, views and balcony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry162
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our original choice of cottage had been withdrawn so we opted for the Moorings due to its location. We know Polperro well and booked for the festival week. The cottage was clean with good facilities and the long balcony afforded stunning views of the harbour - wonderful when the tide was in, as you could chat to people moving their boats a few feet from you. The main bedroom is spacious but the property details do not expect you having people walk directly passed your window! The layout is very strange, there is another property over your kitchen yet the main bedroom is over the sitting room . . .difficult to explain, but the property above is accessed by steps outside the bedroom window. None of the toilets/bathroom/shower room have frosted glass so had to keep blinds down. Patio chairs left on balcony covered in seagull muck, as they fold flat I felt they should have been left in the kitchen. We took kitchen chairs out each time and returned them. I liked the property very much but would not recommend for 4 people as the twin room is only a single in size and if you did wish to pull the other bed out you would have to remove the bedside table and have no floor space. The equipment was of a good standard, the bed comfortable and a big bonus was the parking space not too far away -a real plus in Polperro! I would certainly recommend the rental company, booked through Giles, and the property managers - Steve/Linda sent a text to say property was available an hour earlier than expected. Excellent service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Lack of privacy
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay in The Moorings. The layout of the cottages you mentioned is indeed quite unusual, although not uncommon in Cornwall. The Moorings enjoys a superb location on the harbour and the balcony is a great attractions to guests (and unfortunately sea gulls too!). The second bedroom is perfect as a single but can accommodate 2 guests when converted to a twin. It isn't ideal as a twin that is certain but the rest of the cottage is perfect for 4 guests and with 3 toilets and 2 bath/shower rooms the accommodation is very comfortable for families if consider the bedroom is only for sleeping in. I hope we can welcome you regular Polperro visitors back again soon and I hope your enjoyed all of the activities and music on offer during the Festival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location with such immediate views of the harbour.
Liked least: The occasional smell from the kitchen sink - perhaps fixed by now.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for valued feedback on The Moorings. It is indeed in an excellent location and is one of our most popular cottages. The owner and house manager will be so pleased all of their hard work is being appreciated and enjoyed and we look forward to welcoming you back to Polperro and The Moorings again the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing