We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Claremont Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$358
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$226
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fowey Hall(Fowey)
US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
189
57
8
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
57
8
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkhis lovely wifebudget hotelideal place to stayhotel ownersingle roomtea and coffee making facilitieshotel is perfectly situatedhuge bonusbeautiful villagewould definitely stay here againnight staya stones throwbit datedthoroughly enjoyed our stayshort breakcarina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in april we where greeted by carina at the desk,she was so welcoming and helpful and the facilities are excellent,everything has been well thought of, with their guests being their main priority,we had a lovely cosy room classed as a small double but we found we had plenty of room we had a lovely comfy mattress,and quality bedding,which is rare.and a lovely en-suite with a good shower,the breakfast was excellent again good quality ingredients,i can only make a quess but tasted locally sourced,the time window was not a problem myself and my partner appreciate fresh food we don,t want to eat stale food thats been hanging around for an hour or two..we done carina and her partner you both do a fantastic job they put their guest first and run a lovely clean,cosy hotel,well done,we cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We try our very best to make our hotel as friendly and as comfortable as possible within the financial and physical constraints that all small businesses experience in a little village such as ours.The things that you mention frequently go unnoticed but this more personal service is usually not available in many large hotels but accepted as normal standard service in these larger hotels and without complaint. In small hotels, such as ours, the owners have to work much harder as guests in general seem to be more critical in a small hotel than they would be in a large hotel. We certainly do not mind working hard as we really enjoy what we do and while we do not expect praise it is very nice to receive. Many of our guests tell us what you have written but to see it in a review has not made our day, it has made our week and probably the whole month of May. Thank you so much and we look forward to your return. Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have now stayed at The Claremont twice in the past 6 months, having only returned yesterday I felt compelled to write a review.

If there is an award to be won for running a B&B then Carina deserves it! My wife and I are amazed at the gleaming smile that meets you every morning despite the fact Carina and her partner have been working none stop! They clean the rooms themselves, take care of the guests and cook the breakfast. Something like a 17 hour day all in all. The rooms we have stayed in have been spotless and the food excellent.

Now, I'm not going to dwell on the negative comments I have read despite the fact I think some have ulterior motives. The location is superb and the car park makes life very easy, especially in a small village such as Polperro.

Quite simply we will continue to stay at The Claremont for years and years to come. I know the place is up for sale and we can only hope any new owner will keep Carina and her partner at the hotel as my wife and I strongly believe that they are the main reason The Claremont has so many returning customers

Cannot wait to return

Brian and Gemma

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sav84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you so much for your very nice comments and for taking the time and trouble to write this review. We really enjoy what we do and while the hours seem long and the work hard, to us it is our aim and a pleasure to welcome our guests and make sure that their stay is as enjoyable and satisfying as possible by ensuring that the hotel and rooms are as clean and as comfortable as we can make them. When we achieve our aim we are fulfilled but when we are also appreciated and rewarded by such a review for us it is the icing on the cake. Thank you so much and we very much look forward to your return! Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

4/5 pages of rules and regulations for the paying customer - you are not a guest here. 45 minute window for breakfast - you miss it and you don't eat! Ask for poached eggs and mushrooms and are told you are not allowed mushrooms! A good business for the owner but hospitality should come from within! That's all l have to say

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank School70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

We do not believe this review to be genuine as we have only had one guest, actually a couple, from Birmingham staying at our hotel for the past 2 months. We do not believe that they would write such a review as I can remember them very well as we talked a lot and they told us how happy they were with their stay. Because we talked a lot I remember they had full English for breakfast. I take all the breakfast orders personally and nobody in recent memory have ordered poached eggs with mushrooms and if they did they certainly would have got what they ordered. The heading is also strange as it states “Typical British Owner Establishment”, I am the owner together with my partner and we are not British, we are both Hungarian. This reviewer even marked down our location, another 100 metres or so and we would be in the sea so again very strange. Regarding the 4 or 5 pages of rules and regulations I can only assume they are referring to our Guest Information Book which does give a lot of helpful information but we also state that we do not accept guests who drink too much, vomiting on the way to their room banging doors and sometimes fighting. We also do not accept the soiling of mattresses. If by mentioning any of these items is offensive to those that do these type of things then please stay at a establishment that permit them but please do not stay at the Claremont. If this information does not apply to you why be offended by it? We are a young couple, we came as managers at the age of 20, 5 years ago and then two years ago we obtained the business. Because of our young age, we on several occasions had drunk and abusive guests who though that they could do whatever they wanted without consequences. Our Guest Information Book clearly states that any such person who does not act in a reasonable manner will be asked to leave and to pay for any damage. This is why we have many regulars who stay with us in the confident knowledge that they will have a peaceful and relaxing holiday without being disturbed by inconsiderate guests. We have posted our Guest Information Book on our Website for all to see and hopefully people who make a habit of drinking too much and are unable to control themselves in a reasonable manner will hopefully stay elsewhere. We do our very best to please our guests and in the main we are successful as can be seen by the vast majority of other reviews and we also have many repeat customers. We also accept genuine reviews and try to improve on any negative comments but if this review in question is genuine then we can only assume the reviewer has some sort of grudge and we cannot understand why. Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in March with friends. Had a fantastic stay. Carina is a real asset to the place. Nothing is too much trouble. Great welcome.She keeps the place spotless. Excellent breakfast. Perfect location & having the car park opposite is a real luxury for Polperro. Can't wait to return later in the year.

Room Tip: Website clearly shows all the room layouts so take your pick.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenL204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

the wife and i have stopped many times and have never found room for complaint as for been like stalag i think paul h was having a joke as the hotel as no more rules than anywhere else keep up the good work carina and arpe we willback colin&janet yorkshire

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews