We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to be a really pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 789 helpful votes
“Continues to be a really pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This was my 6th or 7th stay at The Claremont and as always, there was nothing you could fault about the place. I was staying in room 12 this time, right at the top of the hotel, "The Crow's Nest" as the owners call it. It is a beautifully renovated room, with quality wood panelling throughout, and is accessed from the second floor. You enter the door, whereupon there is a small bathroom with bathtub and shower immediately on the left, after which the stairs turn through 90 degrees, and climb up to the room itself.

I have to say that it is probably the quirkiest room I have ever stayed in, perfectly self-contained, with separate WC area and wash basin in the room, a small writing area, plenty of floor space and storage, and a large window that affords a view across the rooftops of the village.

Having stayed in most of the rooms, I have to say that the double bed in room 12 is the most comfortable one I have slept in and of course, being right up in the rafters, albeit everything is beautifully panelled away from sight, it is warm and very quiet.

As usual, nothing was too much trouble for Carina and breakfast was always served quickly and with a smile ( as indeed everything is at the Claremont).

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and look forward to the next one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBfromDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. It was a very lengthy and detail review and perfectly describes the room and its facilities and although we know the room very well we could not have written a better description. We are so happy that you have returned to stay with us so many times and this and your very kind words are as always very, very much appreciated. We really look forward to your next visit and in the meantime we wish you continued good health and happiness. Kind regards, Carina Marta Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    47
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
31
145
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed as a couple at the Claremont from 12th - 17th April following a recommendation from a friend. The location is excellent being right in the middle of Polperro. We found the hotel to be very welcoming and spotlessley clean with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Shampoo, shower gel, soap etc in the room. Tea/coffe making facilities, hair dryer, also the room was serviced everyday and fresh towels were provided. The young lady who runs it is very helpful and friendly and gives the hotel a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We had the room right at the top of the hotel which was really nice, although would not recommend if you are exceptionally tall as their are some low bits in it lol. There isnt a hotel bar but there are pubs a plenty in Polperrro and an off licence next door, and unlike in some hotels we have stayed in, you are allowed to consume your own drinks etc , and they even provide glasses ! All in all we found it spot on for a short stay in this lovely village and would recommend. I really hope to return at some point.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review and all you very positive comments. We do not do a lot of advertising and our business continues to grow with recommendations which we believe to be the best way as it is a true reflection of how previous guests consider and enjoy their stay with us. Please thank your friends on our behalf. We do not operate our bar but we have a license so that you can bring your preferred drinks into the hotel and drink at a much lower cost and we provide glasses and ice. Hotels have to charge a much higher price to cover costs and most people do not want to sit in a hotel bar when Polperro has so many attractive pubs and all just a few minutes walk from the hotel. However if you do wish to drink in the hotel then by bringing in you own drinks it is the same price as drinking in your home and you do not have to wash up afterwards. We are very pleased to read that you will return and we really look forward to that. Many thanks again for taking the time and trouble to write you review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goole
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

the wife and i have just returned from the claremont after a very pleasant stay and this time we had our daughter and son in law with us they were very impressed like ourselves with the hotel the rooms were spotless as always the breakfast was very good cooked by a man behind the scenes but not forgotten arpi and served by the lovely and pleasant carina i must point out that standards are as always very good there is nothing too much trouble for this very nice couple hope to see you soon colin f &janet

Room Tip: try and book a room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review and for again returning to stay with us and also bringing your daughter and son-in-law. It really helps our business to grow when returning guests bring friends and family members, especially so when they also enjoy staying with us so thank you very much again. It is always a pleasure to have you come and stay with us and we hope that you daughter and son-in-law will also become one of our regulars as to see familiar faces makes each day a little more special. We really appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write a review so until the next time our kindest regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our first time here having normally stayed elsewere in polperro and we were not disappointed. The service from Karina was exceptional nothing was to much trouble even waking up to easter chocolates at breakfast. Lovely clean,traditional room,large spacious ensuite bathroom also spotless,tasty well cooked english breakfast with cereal choices available.Location with the added bonus of spacious carpark on site made the stay our most enjoyable yet in polperro. Will definately return to the claremont.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenl242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words. It is also very nice to know that you have stayed elsewhere in Polperro but after you first stay with us you will return. This gives us a good indication of how we compare to other accommodations as we really do try to be the best and ensure that our guests are happy with our hotel and service. We very much look forward to your return and thank you again for taking the time and trouble to write your review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 789 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I've stayed here now 3 or 4 times since my first review and I'm so pleased to say that nothing has changed. Karina is still the perfect hostess, the rooms are still cosy and warm, breakfasts are delicious and filling and the rooms and bathrooms are spotless.

My most recent stay was in room 6, spacious and airy even though it does face the rear of the building. The bed is just right for me, firm without being hard and as with all previous stays here, the only problem was getting out of it in the morning.

Parking is still free and opposite the hotel and the hotel itself is just a few minutes walk from the village's pubs and restaurants.

The ideal place to stay in Polperro.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBfromDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay and for all the lovely things you have mentioned. We was glad you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you again for your 5th break. Kindest Regards Carina Marta Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

spent four nights at the hotel in December. really nice. great breakfast at a really good time. service very good. room really cleaned and looked after. the hotel has lots of character. its old fashion feel makes it really homely. the lady that runs the hotel is just lovely so helpful, down to earth and friendly. our mattress was to soft for my bad back as it was memory foam.(it was good quality and not the hotels fault) I ask if it could be changed to help my back it was changed within an hour. which is really good service and very helpful. nothing is to much trouble. the car park is a great feature. excellent hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sibbers72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review in general and in particular the items that you mentioned. We appreciate that a good mattress is essential for a good nights sleep and we have only purchased the best memory type that is recommended for guests that have different requirements. However on this occasion it was too soft for you but we have spare mattresses but unless guests inform us, as you did, we cannot help to make your stay more comfortable. Unfortunately some guest say everything is fine and then complain after they have left when a simple request would have allowed us the opportunity to help. Thank you again for your review and we really hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Were it not for Carina this review would be much less positive. She is fantastic and works tirelessly to make your stay as comfortable as possible with a joyous smile.
Other good points are the car park (parking is very difficult in Polperro) a decent breakfast, good location and very clean.
Unfortunately the hotel (it is really much closer to a B&B) is very dated and shabby. The smaller rooms on the top floor are small,cold, damp and dingy.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheaper 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that you did not find the room to your liking. We fully appreciate that guests tastes differ and while you found the room to be dingy, other guests find the room romantic. We try to vary the internal style and decor of many rooms to give guests a wider choice as opposed to chain hotels where each room is the same. We also have photos of each room on our Website to let guests decide what is more suitable to them and to say that all the rooms on the top floor are small cold damp and dingy is certainly not correct and not supported by the many favourable reviews we receive. Regarding the room being damp we are very surprised that you mentioned this as we ask our guests everyday if everything is OK and you were provided with additional heating as you stayed in your room most of the day. When we serviced your room on the 3 days that you stayed with us we always found the room windows to be open and of course at this time of the year the atmosphere is inclined to be damp. Our hotel is indeed a old building as are the majority of properties in Polperro which is part of the charm and why Polperro is so popular. We do however take note of all comments, both positive and negative and would also like to thank you for your generous tip that you gave us on checking out. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
1.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
854 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
484 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#5 of 7 in Looe
262 reviews
3.3 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Claremont Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Claremont Hotel The Claremont Hotel is a privately owned and family run hotel centrally positioned in the heart of Polperro, offering very comfortable accommodation, and less than three minutes walk from what is probably the prettiest fishing harbour in south east Cornwall, if not in the whole county. The Claremont Hotel faces south overlooking the valley and rooftops, and is ideally positioned for a short walk to all the village attractions and facilities. The hotel and its accommodation has been modernised so that our guests enjoy the comfort that is expected these days, yet it still retains its character, as parts of the hotel date back to the17th century,when it was most probably a fisherman's cottage. Please note that the Hotel does not have views over the harbour. With effect from 1st June 2016 Introducing a new concept in providing low cost accommodation. Bed and Breakfast is being replaced by Bed on a Budget. Breakfast will not be served and will not be available. A saving on up to £20 per night over the previous Tariff. A cooked breakfast is becoming a thing of the past as people are becoming more health conscious but when available, as on holiday, it tends to be eaten as it is included in the price. Also it is tempting to remain in bed so either forego the lie in or get up for breakfast. Now you can stay in bed as long as you wish knowing that you have already made a saving on not having breakfast. Further savings have been made by reducing the amount of room service normally provided. In effect all this means is that we no longer change bed sheets and towels on a daily basis, however the bathmat will be changed each day, tea/coffee/milk will be topped up and your waste bin will be emptied each day. For stays of one week or more a full room service and change of bedding, towels etc will be carried out after 3 or 4 days at managers discretion. We have also reduced the reception hours and we no longer accept check-ins after 6.30pm and if guests do not arrive by 7pm the booking is classed as a no show and therefore cancelled. These cost savings in laundry, wages and materials are part of the cost reduction that Bed on a Budget is able to provide guests and the saving can enhance your holiday experience by using these cost savings as you wish. Children under the age of six years are not normally accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
The Claremont Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing