We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal situated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ideal situated Hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is the third year we have been to this hotel on a long weekend. Its right in the village of Polperro, and the only hotel with a car park right opposite. Karina and Arpe run this hotel very well. Its only a B & B, they dont do evening meals but there are plenty of places to eat in Polperro so not a problem. The breakfasts are lovely and Karina is the perfect host. Nothing is too much trouble and the rooms are cleaned every day and clean towels every day as well. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 11 is the best room for size, its like a studio flat, although its on the first floor at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you very much for your very good review and for being one of our many regulars that visit us every year, some guests more frequently. We really appreciate returning guests whether it be twice a year or once every two years. It really gives us a lift to see familiar faces and makes everything we do so worthwhile. The hotel used to serve lunches and evening meals but most of our guests like to explore Polperro's many pub's restaurants and eating places which we understand as why would guests remain in the hotel all the time when there are so many excellent dining choices so nearby as you so correctly point out.This made the hotel restaurant uneconomical so it was closed and now this gives us so much more time to concentrate on our guests and breakfast and by the many positive reviews we receive it was the right decision. We thank you again and very much look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    50
    7
    10
    2
See reviews for
33
148
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our second visit to The Claremont . After a delayed six and a half hour drive, we arrived in the rain at just before 9 pm. Carina greeted us in the car park like returning friends. Our bags were whisked away to our rooms, which were the same rooms as we had last last year, 3 and 5. Lovely memory foam mattresses ensured a good nights sleep. Next morning, breakfast was wonderful with the ingredients all sourced locally. Carina's cheerful greeting is as wonderful as the breakfast and will set you up for the day. We stayed for a week and were able to sample a number of Carina's cream teas on the terrace. It happened to be my birthday during my stay and I was presented with a box of chocolates at breakfast time. Such a lovely touch. Thank you Carina and Arpi for another lovely holiday

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review and it makes us so happy that you chose to return to stay with us on your birthday. We are so sorry that you had a horrible journey but pleased to read that your arrival and stay with us made it worth the travelling inconvenience. You say you were treated as retuning friends and we consider our guests to be so much more than just paying customers and try to treat our guests as friends as well and also how we would like to be treated when we stay at other hotels. Your details comments about the rooms and breakfasts is so pleasing to read and we thank you so much for these very positive comments which helps our business in these very difficult times.We look forward to your next visit very much. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My partner & I stayed at The Claremont on Sunday 23rd June, to catch the end of Polperro's Music Festival week. For what we paid, this hotel was superb value for money & one we'd happily stay at again & again. OK, it's a little quirky & can't be compared with the modern "fresh look" you get in certain big chain hotels but it's comfy, clean, slap bang in the middle of Polperro (that in itself is worth so much), the breakfast is hearty & tasty and the welcome you receive from the bubbly, efficient owner is second to none!

Getting to the first & second floors can be a bit awkward if you've hefty luggage with you but that's just nit-picking (remember that this is an old fishing town with compact houses overlooking each other so don't expect wide open spaces if you come here). The fact that you can park directly opposite the hotel for free is a massive bonus - imagine what it must be like for those staying in rented cottages deep in the heart of town, having to park at the large car part at the top of the town & walk all the way down with luggage!!!

All in all, we had a fab stay & would happily recommend it to anyone wanting somewhere comfortable, quiet, central & on a budget (that's the "value for money" category, not the "cheap & nasty" one!!). Being welcomed by someone with a personality just makes the holiday for us, rather than the robotic "Good afternoon sir, would you like your receipts stapling together?" attitude you get in the big chain hotels!!

Keep it up Claremont, you get the thumbs up from us.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front of the hotel, as you'll get a great view of the town & model vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
What an excellent review, thank you so much. You have covered everything that we consider to be our best points and your have described them in such a way that we hope others will be encouraged to visit Polperro and stay at our hotel. Polperro is in fact a village not a town, "An Historic Fishing Village" but we like the upgrade to town as it "feels" big because of its charm and atmosphere yet it is only small. You are so correct having parking right opposite the hotel is a big advantage and selling point because while it is small village to drag suitcases from the public carpark it feels more like a city without public transport! Also being in the centre of the village our guests are only a few minutes walk from our beautiful and still working fishing harbour and all the pubs and restaurants. We gratefully accept the 'thumbs up' you have give us and we certainly give you the "thumbs up' for your fantastic review. Many thanks again and we hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Nice hotel for a short break, when we arrived we were given the choice of two rooms and chose the attic room, it was very clean and had a comfortable bed, the shower was also very powerfull ,the breakfast was plentifull and very nice.The host a young lady a think is called Carina is very pleasant which makes a stay there all the better.Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blodwynBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
We thank you very much for your review and your kind words. The room you chose has been known as "The Crows Nest" for more than 20 years and long before our comparatively short tenure of 6 years. The name obviously comes from its position at the top of the hotel. We are informed that up to about 40 years ago this room was the owners accommodation and it was accessed by a ladder. Future guests will be pleased to know that after several refurbishments the owners accommodation was turned into guest accommodation and stairs were a welcome addition. The room is very popular and we get many returning guests asking for this room although it is not recommended for very tall people. We hope that we will see you again and Room 12 or "The Crowns Nest" will get you this room at the very top. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel in May with my husband, booking it only the day before based on TripAdvisor reviews. It's a little gem in the heart of Polperro. I will echo what others have said; that the hotel's greatest asset is probably Carina - a more hospitable and efficient hostess you couldn't hope to find. Yes, the hotel is charmingly old fashioned in some respects, but then that's partly why Polperro is so delightful - because of its history. We had full wi-fi access, a modern shower room, good food and a clean hotel. The parking is an absolute bonus at the Claremont and we felt rather sad for the three or four families we watched ferrying their suitcases down to their accommodation by sack trolley.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
What an excellent review which is very much appreciated and we thank you so much for your very kind words and taking the time and trouble to submit this review to Tripadvisor. We could not have wished for a better review even if we had written it ourselves. You mention all the items which we also consider important for our guests comfort and pleasure and to see it in writing in a review makes all our work so worthwhile. We do take a pride in our work and hotel and try to treat our guests as we would like to be treated if we were spending our hard earned money on a holiday or short break. Yes, Polperro is indeed delightful and its like a dream to live here and to experience its beauty and charm everyday and we are very proud when visitors come to experience Polperro for themselves and then stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again very soon and that you will become one of our many regulars. Last weekend 9 out of 12 rooms were returning guests which is very pleasing to say the least. Many thanks again. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Claremont Hotel in Polperro will always have a certain amount of custom because of it's ideal location in the heart of the village and one of the few places to have a car park. But the way the lady running it, (I think her name was Katrina), went out of her way to make the stay enjoyable will keep people returning.
The rooms are understandably on the small side, which will be the same for all properties in this type of Cornish fishing village, but they have a lovely character to them. Our room, room 12, The Crowsnest, had a excellent view over the top of Polperro, and was kept clean and fresh by housekeeping.
Breakfast had to be taken by nine, which was never a problem for us, and anything required away from the normal menu, had to be ordered the night before. The breakfast was excellent and tea, coffee and toast were on constant supply.
We love Polperro and will definitely return to both the village and The Claremont.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Many thanks for your review, your very kind words and for pointing out the advantages of our location and car park. All restaurants and pubs and of course our famous harbour, also many other attractions, are with in few minutes walk from our hotel. Everything tends to be a little smaller in Polperro as it was from a time when people were smaller and there were no cars just Donkey and cart taking the fish from the harbour through the village. However as you again correctly point out our hotel has character in keeping with the charm and character of Polperro which is why it remains so popular and with good reviews like yours we hope that visitors will choose to stay with us on their next visit to Polperro. We are so pleased you will be returning to stay with us and we look forward to that very much indeed. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We recently had a 3 night stay in the hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed. Very clean, good breakfast, yes the decor is a bit dated but then it is an old building. Hotel is in an excellent position within a short walk of the harbour and shops, pubs, restaurants etc. Very convenient having it's own car park opposite, the only other car park is at the top of the hill as you enter the village. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
We thank you so much for your review and for your very kind words about our hotel and service. While our decor could be considered a little outdated if considered in isolation you correctly point out our hotel is old as indeed is Polperro and this is what makes it an attractive village, so different from modern towns without character or charm both of which Polperro has in abundance. We believe that our decor is in keeping with the building and Polperro and to change it would destroy the ambience. We also very much appreciate your recommendation to stay here as most of our guests are returns or by recommendation and this helps our business to grow in these difficult economic times. We really hope to see you again and thank you for taking the trouble and time to write your review which is really appreciated. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
1.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
867 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
255 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
489 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Claremont Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Claremont Hotel The Claremont Hotel is a privately owned and family run hotel centrally positioned in the heart of Polperro, offering very comfortable accommodation, and less than three minutes walk from what is probably the prettiest fishing harbour in south east Cornwall, if not in the whole county. The Claremont Hotel faces south overlooking the valley and rooftops, and is ideally positioned for a short walk to all the village attractions and facilities. The hotel and its accommodation has been modernised so that our guests enjoy the comfort that is expected these days, yet it still retains its character, as parts of the hotel date back to the17th century,when it was most probably a fisherman's cottage. Please note that the Hotel does not have views over the harbour. With effect from 1st June 2016 Introducing a new concept in providing low cost accommodation. Bed and Breakfast is being replaced by Bed on a Budget. Breakfast will not be served and will not be available. A saving on up to £20 per night over the previous Tariff. A cooked breakfast is becoming a thing of the past as people are becoming more health conscious but when available, as on holiday, it tends to be eaten as it is included in the price. Also it is tempting to remain in bed so either forego the lie in or get up for breakfast. Now you can stay in bed as long as you wish knowing that you have already made a saving on not having breakfast. Further savings have been made by reducing the amount of room service normally provided. In effect all this means is that we no longer change bed sheets and towels on a daily basis, however the bathmat will be changed each day, tea/coffee/milk will be topped up and your waste bin will be emptied each day. For stays of one week or more a full room service and change of bedding, towels etc will be carried out after 3 or 4 days at managers discretion. We have also reduced the reception hours and we no longer accept check-ins after 6.30pm and if guests do not arrive by 7pm the booking is classed as a no show and therefore cancelled. These cost savings in laundry, wages and materials are part of the cost reduction that Bed on a Budget is able to provide guests and the saving can enhance your holiday experience by using these cost savings as you wish. Children under the age of six years are not normally accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
The Claremont Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing