We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harris Kay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I don't usually write reviews but after our 3rd visit to the Claremont I thought I should share our wonderful holiday experience. We first visited the Claremont as a couple 3 years ago and we enjoyed it so much that we took my parents for the following 2 years, they also loved the hotel and
Carina. We totally agree with all the recent reviews, the hotel is completely in keeping with Polperro (old worldly and quaint) but wonderfully clean, we travel quite a lot and have stayed in very modern hotels which have not been as clean as the Claremont. Breakfast is exactly as we wanted it Carina even made my Dad the porridge that we took ourselves. I could go on and on about our stay here as we couldn't fault it. All I shall add is that Carina is wonderful and cannot do enough for you oh and the cream teas are spot on!!! Looking forward to returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you so very much for your review, we note that you said that you do not normally write reviews but we are so pleased that you wrote this one. Your regular visits and your very kind words are very much appreciated. Yes, Polperro is old worldly and quaint and this is part of the charm that make it so popular and have visitors returning year after year. A fully modern hotel would not be in keeping with Polperro but we and our landlord have modernised the hotel to ensure that certain services are fully up to date, such as full central heating, power showers in all rooms, sufficient hot water at peak times, daily full room servicing with fresh towels, in room direct dialling telephone and free WiFi in certain areas. We pride ourselves on our cleaning and you are so correct many modern hotels are not as clean as we have personally experienced. It is a real pleasure having you and your parents staying with us and as regular guests, we are already looking forward to your next visit as you are all very kind and a lot of fun. Thank you for the T-shirt and the book which I am already engrossed in. We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed our cream teas and thank you again for your excellent review. Kind regards to you and your family. Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We popped into the Claremont hotel for a cream tea while visiting Polperro. We sat on the balcony with our dogs and were made to feel very welcome by the lovely Hungarian lady. I had to leave a review for this as I think this was the cheapest price for a cream tea in Polperro and probably the best. We didn't expect much but the scones were huge with plenty of jam and cream and were served warm. They were delicious. If we ever return to Polperro we will certainly be stopping here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 91traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

We are so pleased that you and your dogs dropped in for one of our cream teas and we are very happy to read that you really enjoyed them especially your description that the scones were delicious. The scones are made to our own recipe and freshly baked each session. We have a AGA in our kitchen and it is well known that AGA's are wonderful for cooking and baking and we experimented with our scone recipe to ensure that we used the AGA to its full advantage to produce what we consider to be the "almost perfect scone". By making them ourselves we can offer them at a very competitive price. Thank you so much for your review and comments and we hope to see you again maybe also as a guest staying at our hotel. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My partner & I recently stayed at the Claremont Hotel in Polperro, we visited Polpero for the day and decided we would like to stay a few days as my partner fell in love with the village. We had not booked anywhere and we popped into the Claremont just on the off chance. The owner was lovely, always smiling and laughing and she never stopped. Nothing was too much trouble. She showed us the room she was in the middle of cleaning and told us we could have it from 3pm. She told us we could use the hotel car park from 10am so we didn't have to pay for the main car park at the top of the village. the car park also had cctv and a automatic barrier with a keycode so it was safe and secure. The hotel room was lovely and clean with a small en suite. The en suite was a little dated but very clean and the bed was really comfortable and we really enjoyed our two night stay there. The cooked breakfast was really nice and came on a hot plate and there was plenty of it. The owner was really pleasant, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.Her customer service skills were excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stop in Polperro.

Room Tip: Room 6 is quiet and at the back, the en suite is a little small but perfectly adequate for what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words and comments. Polperro is a wonderful village and so easy to fall in love with as we did when we first came here. Many of our guests just come to Polperro for brief visit and then like you decide to stay for a few days and many become regulars and stay with us every year, some several times a year. We are particularly pleased that you mentioned Room 6 which is at the rear of the hotel, in fact we have 4 rear view rooms which are initially not so popular as most prefer the front of the hotel but after experiencing staying in a rear view room, with little view, guests often ask for these back facing rooms again on their next visit as they are very quiet and relaxing. However because of the position of our hotel, guests have a choice of front or back facing rooms to suit all tastes. Thank you for also mentioning our car park which is one of the many advantages of staying with us and is free to our guests. We are the closest accommodation provider to the harbour with on site parking which provides convenience and security. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future and thank you again for your review which is very much appreciated. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Claremont Hotel for a weekend at the beginning of July. From the time I phoned to book the room to the time we left, Carina could not do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble and she always went about her business with a smile. She really made us feel welcome.
Some reviewers have said that the place is old and a bit dated but that is the whole point about Polperro in general. It is supposed to be like that. The whole hotel is extremely clean. Our bedroom was very comfortable with loads of hot water to shower.
Breakfast is served at a set time each day, but not to early, to ensure that everything is freshly cooked and at its best. You could have almost anything you wanted as long as you asked the night before. We had the standard breakfast and it was superb.
This was our first time to the Claremont Hotel but I am sure it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARRY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

We have just read the two latest reviews, your's being the most recent and it has made us both very happy indeed. We really appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write the review and your comments and very kind words are indeed a great bonus. You have very adequately put into context the sometimes adverse comments about our hotel looking tired but as you correctly point out it is clean, comfortable and in keeping with the nature of an historic fishing village which it is and advertised as such. While the hotel is old it has been modernised in ways so that the old style remains but the amenities such as you mention, the showers and hot water, is most definitely completely modern. We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay with us, and our breakfasts, and we really hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thank you again for such an excellent review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend break in Polperro. We had a lovely room overlooking the road. As very little traffic passes down the road, this was not a problem at all. Breakfast was lovely, I ordered poached eggs and bacon every day and these were cooked to perfection and served on hot plates, which is wonderful. My husband had the full English, which was also perfect. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

We have just read the two latest reviews, yours being the first and it has made us both very happy. Thank you so much for your very kind words and in particular about the room facing the road, as this sometimes worries guests when they see the hotel is close to the road. Your are quite correct, not much traffic passes down this road as only permitted vehicles and deliveries are allowed and the road is narrow so traffic moves slowly and the hotel is high up so little or no traffic noise reaches the rooms. The main advantage with our hotel is that we have a car park immediately opposite the hotel and therefore our guests vehicles are permitted into Polperro. Some guests do not realise how important it is for our hotel to have a private car park, until they arrive that is, and see the true situation. Your further comments about the room, breakfast and recommendation are equally appreciated and we really hope that we will see you and/or your friends in the very near future Thank you again. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were travelling through England and were told to go to Polperro. We booked in with this very friendly welcoming young woman. She made our stay a joy. She was helpful,happy and bubbly the whole time. Her partner was the cook and his breakfasts were great. The rooms were spotless but a little tired and in need of a make over. A very pleasant stay. A town well worth viking for its quaintness and history.

Room Tip: All the rooms are much the same but if you find stairs a problem then not to far up would be the thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revs1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words. Polperro is very well known for its history, quaintness and friendliness to visitors and has been the subject of many television programs highlighting these qualities which is why Polperro is so popular to visitors and locals alike. We try our best to make your stay in our hotel equally as satisfying as your visit to Polperro and we are very pleased to note that your review confirms this.We hope that we will have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great location for this hotel in Polperro and has it's own car park for residents too. Saves trudging up and down the big hill or getting the trolley bus with your suitcases. Although the buses are fun ! Friendly service and very clean rooms, although slightly dated but completely in keeping with other hotels and Inns in the area. The Breakfast was 'ok', pretty standard and edible - nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you so much for your very good review and for mentioning in particular the items about our hotel that you liked the most. We are sorry to read that you were not so impressed with our breakfast as opposed to our other guests according to their reviews. We do try to choose the best available local ingredients and perhaps it was our breakfast style or service that was not suitable to you. Perhaps for example you like some items cooked more well done such as a hard egg or crispy bacon. We hope that you will return to give us another chance to serve you and if so then please tell us how you like your breakfast served and we will do our very best to oblige. Thank you again for your honest review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
5.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,436 reviews
12.9 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
321 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
12.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range: £50 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Claremont Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Claremont Hotel The Claremont Hotel is a privately owned and family run hotel centrally positioned in the heart of Polperro, offering very comfortable accommodation, and less than three minutes walk from what is probably the prettiest fishing harbour in south east Cornwall, if not in the whole county. The Claremont Hotel faces south overlooking the valley and rooftops, and is ideally positioned for a short walk to all the village attractions and facilities. The hotel and its accommodation has been modernised so that our guests enjoy the comfort that is expected these days, yet it still retains its character, as parts of the hotel date back to the17th century,when it was most probably a fisherman's cottage. Please note that the Hotel does not have views over the harbour. With effect from 1st June 2016 Introducing a new concept in providing low cost accommodation. Bed and Breakfast is being replaced by Bed on a Budget. Breakfast will not be served and will not be available. A saving on up to £20 per night over the previous Tariff. A cooked breakfast is becoming a thing of the past as people are becoming more health conscious but when available, as on holiday, it tends to be eaten as it is included in the price. Also it is tempting to remain in bed so either forego the lie in or get up for breakfast. Now you can stay in bed as long as you wish knowing that you have already made a saving on not having breakfast. Further savings have been made by reducing the amount of room service normally provided. In effect all this means is that we no longer change bed sheets and towels on a daily basis, however the bathmat will be changed each day, tea/coffee/milk will be topped up and your waste bin will be emptied each day. For stays of one week or more a full room service and change of bedding, towels etc will be carried out after 3 or 4 days at managers discretion. We have also reduced the reception hours and we no longer accept check-ins after 6.30pm and if guests do not arrive by 7pm the booking is classed as a no show and therefore cancelled. These cost savings in laundry, wages and materials are part of the cost reduction that Bed on a Budget is able to provide guests and the saving can enhance your holiday experience by using these cost savings as you wish. Children under the age of six years are not normally accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
The Claremont Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing