We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking distance to Polperro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Claremont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Walking distance to Polperro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our room was small with a tiny bathroom also the room had poor ventilation. Breakfast was good & service was excellent. The big bonus was the closeness to the village, easy walking. Polperro is a beautiful little seaside village & the area around it has good walking paths.

Room Tip: Choose the biggest room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for mentioning the items you like and your excellent comment all of which is very much appreciated. Yes, the room that you chose is one of the smallest in the hotel and this is also reflected in the price being the least expensive room. We have floor plans of all our rooms on our Website for the convenience of our guests so they can get a good appreciation of the room that they are booking. We mentioned that you were choosing the smallest room and perhaps you would like to consider a larger room but you said this is the room that you wanted. We are not sure what you mean by poor ventilation as the room has two sets of windows but you chose not to open them. It is the same with residential housing, if you want ventilation or some fresh air you have to open a window. For the benefit of potential guests reading your review we believe your heading is a little misleading and would be better if you said " Walking Distance to the Harbour" rather than Walking Distance to Polperro". The same with your comment "closeness to the village" perhaps you meant to write "closeness to the harbour". We are not close to Polperro, we are in the centre of Polperro and in fact closer to the harbour than the beginning of Polperro. We are 550 metres from the roundabout at the commencement of Polperro and just over 200 metres from the Harbour and very central to all Pubs and restaurants as well. We hope that you will come and stay with us again and now that you are familiar with our hotel you can choose a larger room if you so wish. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    46
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
30
140
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We called in here, late afternoon, after walking from Lansallos to Talland Bay and back. We asked a female member of staff if they were still serving afternoon tea, and she said 'of course we could have some'. We sat on a balcony overlooking the street down to the harbour. My husband asked if it would be OK if he had coffee instead of tea, and this request was granted. When the cream tea came we couldn't believe our luck, each of us was given a plate with 2 large warm scones, a dish of clotted cream and a dish of jam, (not a plastic tub in sight!) Three of us had a large pot of tea, plenty for two cups each, and my husband got a coffee pot, again holding two cups. All this for £2.99 each! The balcony roof was in need of a bit of attention, but this in no way spoilt our enjoyment of the cream tea. The service was very friendly and if it hadn't been our last day we would have returned.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath00000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are so pleased that you really enjoyed our cream teas and as we have mentioned in previous responses the scones are to our own recipe, and freshly baked in an AGA oven which produces a beautiful scone. We also believe that Cornish Clotted Cream is the best in the world so we have to make sure that the other items also stand up. We try to accommodate all reasonable requests and to serve either tea or coffee is our pleasure if it make the customer happy and we appreciate you mentioning this. Regarding the "Balcony Roof" we believe you mean the Perspex Sheets under the Vine. This is actually the smoking area and the Toughened Perspex Sheets were installed to give weather protection in the winter (and English Summers) and to prevent drips from the Vine leaves dropping on customers. The downside is that the Perspex is clear for reasons of light but as the Vine sheds its leaves at the end of the growing season they rest on the top of the Perspex can become unsightly especially as they begin to decompose. The Vine looks beautiful when in full leaf and we also gets some grapes but it is not practical to clean the top of the Perspex until the end of the Vine season when we have to cut many new stems to reach the Perspex. We are grateful that you said this did not spoil your enjoyment. We are sorry that time did not permit your return visit but we hope to see you again and maybe also as a guest in our hotel but in the meantime many thanks for your honest review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My partner and myself returned for a 3 night stay this September, as we had enjoyed it so much last year.
Once again, Claremont Hotel and the lovely cheerful helpful Carina helped make our Polperro experience perfect. We had everything we needed, a lovely clean room, very comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, faultless hospitality, with the added benefit of free parking in the hotel's secure car park. The hotel is ideally positioned down in the village, only a very short walk from the harbour. We will certainly be staying there again next year and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
It was really lovely to see you again. We remember all of our guests, perhaps not by name as there are so many regulars, but when we see their faces it all comes back and gives us so much pleasure. Thank you so very much for your review which details all the things that we are proud of. It also makes us very happy that you highly recommend us and that you will return to stay with us again and we look forward to that very much indeed. A big thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review. Kindest regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I don't usually write reviews but after our 3rd visit to the Claremont I thought I should share our wonderful holiday experience. We first visited the Claremont as a couple 3 years ago and we enjoyed it so much that we took my parents for the following 2 years, they also loved the hotel and
Carina. We totally agree with all the recent reviews, the hotel is completely in keeping with Polperro (old worldly and quaint) but wonderfully clean, we travel quite a lot and have stayed in very modern hotels which have not been as clean as the Claremont. Breakfast is exactly as we wanted it Carina even made my Dad the porridge that we took ourselves. I could go on and on about our stay here as we couldn't fault it. All I shall add is that Carina is wonderful and cannot do enough for you oh and the cream teas are spot on!!! Looking forward to returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so very much for your review, we note that you said that you do not normally write reviews but we are so pleased that you wrote this one. Your regular visits and your very kind words are very much appreciated. Yes, Polperro is old worldly and quaint and this is part of the charm that make it so popular and have visitors returning year after year. A fully modern hotel would not be in keeping with Polperro but we and our landlord have modernised the hotel to ensure that certain services are fully up to date, such as full central heating, power showers in all rooms, sufficient hot water at peak times, daily full room servicing with fresh towels, in room direct dialling telephone and free WiFi in certain areas. We pride ourselves on our cleaning and you are so correct many modern hotels are not as clean as we have personally experienced. It is a real pleasure having you and your parents staying with us and as regular guests, we are already looking forward to your next visit as you are all very kind and a lot of fun. Thank you for the T-shirt and the book which I am already engrossed in. We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed our cream teas and thank you again for your excellent review. Kind regards to you and your family. Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We popped into the Claremont hotel for a cream tea while visiting Polperro. We sat on the balcony with our dogs and were made to feel very welcome by the lovely Hungarian lady. I had to leave a review for this as I think this was the cheapest price for a cream tea in Polperro and probably the best. We didn't expect much but the scones were huge with plenty of jam and cream and were served warm. They were delicious. If we ever return to Polperro we will certainly be stopping here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 91traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We are so pleased that you and your dogs dropped in for one of our cream teas and we are very happy to read that you really enjoyed them especially your description that the scones were delicious. The scones are made to our own recipe and freshly baked each session. We have a AGA in our kitchen and it is well known that AGA's are wonderful for cooking and baking and we experimented with our scone recipe to ensure that we used the AGA to its full advantage to produce what we consider to be the "almost perfect scone". By making them ourselves we can offer them at a very competitive price. Thank you so much for your review and comments and we hope to see you again maybe also as a guest staying at our hotel. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My partner & I recently stayed at the Claremont Hotel in Polperro, we visited Polpero for the day and decided we would like to stay a few days as my partner fell in love with the village. We had not booked anywhere and we popped into the Claremont just on the off chance. The owner was lovely, always smiling and laughing and she never stopped. Nothing was too much trouble. She showed us the room she was in the middle of cleaning and told us we could have it from 3pm. She told us we could use the hotel car park from 10am so we didn't have to pay for the main car park at the top of the village. the car park also had cctv and a automatic barrier with a keycode so it was safe and secure. The hotel room was lovely and clean with a small en suite. The en suite was a little dated but very clean and the bed was really comfortable and we really enjoyed our two night stay there. The cooked breakfast was really nice and came on a hot plate and there was plenty of it. The owner was really pleasant, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.Her customer service skills were excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stop in Polperro.

Room Tip: Room 6 is quiet and at the back, the en suite is a little small but perfectly adequate for what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words and comments. Polperro is a wonderful village and so easy to fall in love with as we did when we first came here. Many of our guests just come to Polperro for brief visit and then like you decide to stay for a few days and many become regulars and stay with us every year, some several times a year. We are particularly pleased that you mentioned Room 6 which is at the rear of the hotel, in fact we have 4 rear view rooms which are initially not so popular as most prefer the front of the hotel but after experiencing staying in a rear view room, with little view, guests often ask for these back facing rooms again on their next visit as they are very quiet and relaxing. However because of the position of our hotel, guests have a choice of front or back facing rooms to suit all tastes. Thank you for also mentioning our car park which is one of the many advantages of staying with us and is free to our guests. We are the closest accommodation provider to the harbour with on site parking which provides convenience and security. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future and thank you again for your review which is very much appreciated. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Claremont Hotel for a weekend at the beginning of July. From the time I phoned to book the room to the time we left, Carina could not do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble and she always went about her business with a smile. She really made us feel welcome.
Some reviewers have said that the place is old and a bit dated but that is the whole point about Polperro in general. It is supposed to be like that. The whole hotel is extremely clean. Our bedroom was very comfortable with loads of hot water to shower.
Breakfast is served at a set time each day, but not to early, to ensure that everything is freshly cooked and at its best. You could have almost anything you wanted as long as you asked the night before. We had the standard breakfast and it was superb.
This was our first time to the Claremont Hotel but I am sure it won't be our last.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GARRY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
We have just read the two latest reviews, your's being the most recent and it has made us both very happy indeed. We really appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write the review and your comments and very kind words are indeed a great bonus. You have very adequately put into context the sometimes adverse comments about our hotel looking tired but as you correctly point out it is clean, comfortable and in keeping with the nature of an historic fishing village which it is and advertised as such. While the hotel is old it has been modernised in ways so that the old style remains but the amenities such as you mention, the showers and hot water, is most definitely completely modern. We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay with us, and our breakfasts, and we really hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thank you again for such an excellent review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
1.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Claremont Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
The Claremont Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing