We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

How many times have I stayed here now? I honestly can't remember but it's as friendly and as comfortable as ever. I had room 6 on this occasion, a spacious double room with en suite as well as tea and coffee making facilities and a TV. This room faces the back but that didn't bother me; at this time of the year it's dark by 4.30pm and I'm out all day working anyway.

The double bed in room 6 is very comfortable and was a job to get out of in the morning. The room is warm and cosy, thanks to the large radiator beneath one of the windows and the heavy, quality drapes that cover them.

Breakfast is always great and the sausages in particular are peppery and very tasty. Carina continues to be the perfect hostess and her smile and enthusiasm is infectious. One of these days maybe I'll get to meet Arpi as all I ever see of him are fleeting shadows and the door closing behind him, truly an "international man of mystery"!

Thanks to Carina for yet another lovely stay, see you again soon...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GBfromDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you so much for yet again a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.We was so happy to read that , once again, we have made sure you have had a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again and again and again :)
My kindest regards Carina Marta,Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

It's true!!! Carina has the loveliest smile in Cornwall. We have stayed in many hotels but can honestly say we have never encountered such a lovely host with a brilliant personality. She made our stay so special,and we can't wait to return next year. We have been to Polperro many times but this is the first time we had met Carina and it definitely won't be the last! The hotel was absolutely spotless,the room was lovely and we had a fabulous view of the Model Village. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection,the best ever! We had a perfect 3 days in the village that has such a special place in our hearts. I would love to live in Polperro one day,it is so beautiful. Well Done to the Claremont Hotel. Perfection.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Wow! What a wonderful review, thank you so very much! It is so good maybe readers will think that we wrote it ourselves or our parents. :-) We really enjoy our work and we try very hard to make our guests happy and enjoy the fruits of their hard earned money. We do not expect praise but when it happens we accept it with much gratitude, the more so when we see it in writing in a review! It really makes our day! Yes, Polperro is a beautiful place and several of our guests have become residents of our wonderful village, they have fulfilled their dream and hopefully one day you will be able to do the same. In the meantime we look forward to welcoming you back as guests of our hotel. We thank you so much again for your "fabulous" review! Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our room was small with a tiny bathroom also the room had poor ventilation. Breakfast was good & service was excellent. The big bonus was the closeness to the village, easy walking. Polperro is a beautiful little seaside village & the area around it has good walking paths.

Room Tip: Choose the biggest room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for mentioning the items you like and your excellent comment all of which is very much appreciated. Yes, the room that you chose is one of the smallest in the hotel and this is also reflected in the price being the least expensive room. We have floor plans of all our rooms on our Website for the convenience of our guests so they can get a good appreciation of the room that they are booking. We mentioned that you were choosing the smallest room and perhaps you would like to consider a larger room but you said this is the room that you wanted. We are not sure what you mean by poor ventilation as the room has two sets of windows but you chose not to open them. It is the same with residential housing, if you want ventilation or some fresh air you have to open a window. For the benefit of potential guests reading your review we believe your heading is a little misleading and would be better if you said " Walking Distance to the Harbour" rather than Walking Distance to Polperro". The same with your comment "closeness to the village" perhaps you meant to write "closeness to the harbour". We are not close to Polperro, we are in the centre of Polperro and in fact closer to the harbour than the beginning of Polperro. We are 550 metres from the roundabout at the commencement of Polperro and just over 200 metres from the Harbour and very central to all Pubs and restaurants as well. We hope that you will come and stay with us again and now that you are familiar with our hotel you can choose a larger room if you so wish. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We called in here, late afternoon, after walking from Lansallos to Talland Bay and back. We asked a female member of staff if they were still serving afternoon tea, and she said 'of course we could have some'. We sat on a balcony overlooking the street down to the harbour. My husband asked if it would be OK if he had coffee instead of tea, and this request was granted. When the cream tea came we couldn't believe our luck, each of us was given a plate with 2 large warm scones, a dish of clotted cream and a dish of jam, (not a plastic tub in sight!) Three of us had a large pot of tea, plenty for two cups each, and my husband got a coffee pot, again holding two cups. All this for £2.99 each! The balcony roof was in need of a bit of attention, but this in no way spoilt our enjoyment of the cream tea. The service was very friendly and if it hadn't been our last day we would have returned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Kath00000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We are so pleased that you really enjoyed our cream teas and as we have mentioned in previous responses the scones are to our own recipe, and freshly baked in an AGA oven which produces a beautiful scone. We also believe that Cornish Clotted Cream is the best in the world so we have to make sure that the other items also stand up. We try to accommodate all reasonable requests and to serve either tea or coffee is our pleasure if it make the customer happy and we appreciate you mentioning this. Regarding the "Balcony Roof" we believe you mean the Perspex Sheets under the Vine. This is actually the smoking area and the Toughened Perspex Sheets were installed to give weather protection in the winter (and English Summers) and to prevent drips from the Vine leaves dropping on customers. The downside is that the Perspex is clear for reasons of light but as the Vine sheds its leaves at the end of the growing season they rest on the top of the Perspex can become unsightly especially as they begin to decompose. The Vine looks beautiful when in full leaf and we also gets some grapes but it is not practical to clean the top of the Perspex until the end of the Vine season when we have to cut many new stems to reach the Perspex. We are grateful that you said this did not spoil your enjoyment. We are sorry that time did not permit your return visit but we hope to see you again and maybe also as a guest in our hotel but in the meantime many thanks for your honest review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My partner and myself returned for a 3 night stay this September, as we had enjoyed it so much last year.
Once again, Claremont Hotel and the lovely cheerful helpful Carina helped make our Polperro experience perfect. We had everything we needed, a lovely clean room, very comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, faultless hospitality, with the added benefit of free parking in the hotel's secure car park. The hotel is ideally positioned down in the village, only a very short walk from the harbour. We will certainly be staying there again next year and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

It was really lovely to see you again. We remember all of our guests, perhaps not by name as there are so many regulars, but when we see their faces it all comes back and gives us so much pleasure. Thank you so very much for your review which details all the things that we are proud of. It also makes us very happy that you highly recommend us and that you will return to stay with us again and we look forward to that very much indeed. A big thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review. Kindest regards, Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I don't usually write reviews but after our 3rd visit to the Claremont I thought I should share our wonderful holiday experience. We first visited the Claremont as a couple 3 years ago and we enjoyed it so much that we took my parents for the following 2 years, they also loved the hotel and
Carina. We totally agree with all the recent reviews, the hotel is completely in keeping with Polperro (old worldly and quaint) but wonderfully clean, we travel quite a lot and have stayed in very modern hotels which have not been as clean as the Claremont. Breakfast is exactly as we wanted it Carina even made my Dad the porridge that we took ourselves. I could go on and on about our stay here as we couldn't fault it. All I shall add is that Carina is wonderful and cannot do enough for you oh and the cream teas are spot on!!! Looking forward to returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you so very much for your review, we note that you said that you do not normally write reviews but we are so pleased that you wrote this one. Your regular visits and your very kind words are very much appreciated. Yes, Polperro is old worldly and quaint and this is part of the charm that make it so popular and have visitors returning year after year. A fully modern hotel would not be in keeping with Polperro but we and our landlord have modernised the hotel to ensure that certain services are fully up to date, such as full central heating, power showers in all rooms, sufficient hot water at peak times, daily full room servicing with fresh towels, in room direct dialling telephone and free WiFi in certain areas. We pride ourselves on our cleaning and you are so correct many modern hotels are not as clean as we have personally experienced. It is a real pleasure having you and your parents staying with us and as regular guests, we are already looking forward to your next visit as you are all very kind and a lot of fun. Thank you for the T-shirt and the book which I am already engrossed in. We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed our cream teas and thank you again for your excellent review. Kind regards to you and your family. Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We popped into the Claremont hotel for a cream tea while visiting Polperro. We sat on the balcony with our dogs and were made to feel very welcome by the lovely Hungarian lady. I had to leave a review for this as I think this was the cheapest price for a cream tea in Polperro and probably the best. We didn't expect much but the scones were huge with plenty of jam and cream and were served warm. They were delicious. If we ever return to Polperro we will certainly be stopping here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 91traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

We are so pleased that you and your dogs dropped in for one of our cream teas and we are very happy to read that you really enjoyed them especially your description that the scones were delicious. The scones are made to our own recipe and freshly baked each session. We have a AGA in our kitchen and it is well known that AGA's are wonderful for cooking and baking and we experimented with our scone recipe to ensure that we used the AGA to its full advantage to produce what we consider to be the "almost perfect scone". By making them ourselves we can offer them at a very competitive price. Thank you so much for your review and comments and we hope to see you again maybe also as a guest staying at our hotel. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
5.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,437 reviews
12.9 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
321 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
12.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range: £50 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Claremont Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Claremont Hotel The Claremont Hotel is a privately owned and family run hotel centrally positioned in the heart of Polperro, offering very comfortable accommodation, and less than three minutes walk from what is probably the prettiest fishing harbour in south east Cornwall, if not in the whole county. The Claremont Hotel faces south overlooking the valley and rooftops, and is ideally positioned for a short walk to all the village attractions and facilities. The hotel and its accommodation has been modernised so that our guests enjoy the comfort that is expected these days, yet it still retains its character, as parts of the hotel date back to the17th century,when it was most probably a fisherman's cottage. Please note that the Hotel does not have views over the harbour. With effect from 1st June 2016 Introducing a new concept in providing low cost accommodation. Bed and Breakfast is being replaced by Bed on a Budget. Breakfast will not be served and will not be available. A saving on up to £20 per night over the previous Tariff. A cooked breakfast is becoming a thing of the past as people are becoming more health conscious but when available, as on holiday, it tends to be eaten as it is included in the price. Also it is tempting to remain in bed so either forego the lie in or get up for breakfast. Now you can stay in bed as long as you wish knowing that you have already made a saving on not having breakfast. Further savings have been made by reducing the amount of room service normally provided. In effect all this means is that we no longer change bed sheets and towels on a daily basis, however the bathmat will be changed each day, tea/coffee/milk will be topped up and your waste bin will be emptied each day. For stays of one week or more a full room service and change of bedding, towels etc will be carried out after 3 or 4 days at managers discretion. We have also reduced the reception hours and we no longer accept check-ins after 6.30pm and if guests do not arrive by 7pm the booking is classed as a no show and therefore cancelled. These cost savings in laundry, wages and materials are part of the cost reduction that Bed on a Budget is able to provide guests and the saving can enhance your holiday experience by using these cost savings as you wish. Children under the age of six years are not normally accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
The Claremont Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing