We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My husband, mother in law and our little boy came to stay here last weekend and again, we had an enjoyable stay. Our little boy was accommodated for which I very much appreciated. The beds were cosy. We had a good nights sleep and the breakfast was good. The lady on reception is always pleasant and nothing is too much trouble. We will see you again soon.
Mr and Mrs Teague.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank thetongies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

What a wonderful review ,thank you so so much. It was lovely to see you again, espceially to meet the new addition to your lovely family.We really do try our hardest to ensure our hotel is run as best as possible yet still trying to maintain a relaxed and friendly atmosphere which we are sure the majority of our guests appreciate. Thank you once again for your review and your very generous words.Can't wait to see you again, Kindest regards, Carina Marta, Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have just returned from our 15/16th visit to The Claremont Hotel and every time we stay we are treated like royalty. Carina and Arpi the hosts do all they possibly can to make sure we have a great stay and they always surpass themselves.

The hotel is spotless from top to bottom, the breakfasts are always cooked fresh to order (and very nice!!) and the overall experience is well worth a visit.

Polperro is a wonderful quaint little village and stopping at The Claremont makes our time there even better.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and a trip to Polperro.



See you soon,

Lisa and Julian

Room Tip: The Penthouse (room 11) is probably the largest room with a small fridge, settee/sofa bed and a secu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

WOW many thanks for your excellent review which is very much appreciated. You made us very happy by taking the time to write such a positive feedback but we are the happiest when we see you return time after time.We also thank you for mentioning our breakfast as we pride ourselves on serving a freshly cooked, hot and tasty breakfast.
We do not consider our duties to be work when we only have to deal with such nice people as yourselves, it is like being on holiday.
Can't wait to see you again and again,Kindest Regards Carina Marta,Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Claremont hotel is right in the center of Polperro with free parking, as every one else on here has said the lovely Carina is the perfect host always willing to help and her infectious laugh and smile cant help but make your day. The rooms are a bit dated but spotlessly clean, the breakfast is very good and you can order the night before what you want. Polperro its self is lovely with lots of pubs and restaurants to choose from. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gazzaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We really appreciate your review and for your very generous words. While we understand that you say that the rooms are a bit dated but we believe they are in keeping with the age of the hotel and the historic village of Polperro and modern decor would not be suitable. The main requirement of guests is cleanliness and we work hard to achieve this and we are very pleased that you mentioned this in your review, also our breakfasts, and of course the parking which is very important in Polperro as elsewhere in the village it is either not available or very limited. We are also very pleased that you liked Polperro with its many Pubs and restaurants which are all of a high standard and cater for all tastes and budgets. Thank you again for your review and also for your recommendation. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned after another wonderful week staying at the Claremont. We've been coming to Polperro for 16 yrs and staying at the Claremont every time. . For the last 8 years the wonderful carina and arpi have been running the hotel and I can not praise these two enough for the hard work they do in running hotel and they can not do enough to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Thank you carina and arpi it's been great just sorry it's over. .... but less than 11 months till we are back again. xxxx

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank fionaherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Many, many thanks for your "wonderful" review and for being such regular and loyal guests of the Claremont Hotel over the past 16 years. It is sometimes difficult for us to comprehend that we have been here for 8 years and it is all the really nice guests and regulars such as your good selves that make our time here pass so fast and be so enjoyable. Thank you again for all your past stays and for this latest week which we loved as much as you and we also cannot wait for your next visit. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here on the second night of a small trip around the West country. Late to arrive in Polperro we didn't have too much time nor too many options. Knocking on the door at The Claremont we were greeted in such a wonderful fashion by Carina who showed us the last available rooms. I'm a little fussy and felt like something with a bath so we put a hold on room 12 to see what else might be available. there wasn't and I'm very glad.
Carina welcomes us back like old friends and seemed genuinely happy that we'd returned. She explained breakfast times, where to get board games, glasses and showed us to our room again. Happy about that as the building is a warren of twisting stairs and corriders.
The hotel is old school like a guesthouse from the 50's. Rooms and bathrooms are basic, tired and out of date but clean. The tariff reflects this.
We slept well and came down to breakfast in the little dining area off the reception.
Self service cereals, yoghurt and juices. Carinna is also the waitress and cheerily greets all guests good morning. She multi-tasks offering and serving us coffee and tea. Cooked breakfast orders are taken. Her partner who we never see cooks. When we pay she tells us she's been here for eight years with just one short break back to see her family. Her partner and her do all the rooms. I'm so impressed by her. She's a hard working ray of sunshine. The hotel should be re-named Hotel Carinna. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank clarebelleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Please refer to the response in the above review. Many thanks and Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stumbled across this hotel in a town we were not intending to stay in. To be honest our room was not flash, however, Carina the host, makes the experience five star and you do get what you pay for folks (sometimes) and you won't be paying much here either. Great views, adequate amenities but all of it could do with a bit of a makeover, then again, it may lose some of its appeal.
Carina is totally charming and will go out of her way to assist you if needed. I left behind my "magic mouse" and she graciously attached it to my car after we had checked out and walked around the town in the morning (thank you).
Polperro is a rustic and somewhat touristic town in the summer and we had some very pleasant coincidences, including that we had been in Bodega Bay, California the week before where Alfred Hitchcock's "The Birds" was filmed only to discover later, that Polperro had been the inspiration for Dapne du Maurier to write "The Birds". You will see a few gulls in this town and understand why it was her inspiration.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for your reviews and we have decided to answer both with this one response as you stayed as a couple in the same room and made similar comments. Firstly we are very pleased that you decided to stay with us and that you enjoyed your experience with the hotel and Polperro. You are correct in stating that your Room was not "Flash" nor is it intended to be, and more in keeping with the what one would expected in an Historic Fishing Village as you rightly stated. Polperro is full of history and your found some by chance regarding the book by Daphne du Maurier. It really is a small world! It is heartening to read your positive comments in view of your self description of being "fussy". Sleeping well in a clean and comfortable place with good service is what we try to offer and we appear to have ticked both your boxes in these respects. . Thank you again for your reviews and we trust that you continued vacation will be just as enjoyable and we wish you a safe flight when you eventually take that long journey home. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived early but could leave our car in the car park and luggage at hotel ,when we arrived to book in Carina had put our luggage in our room It was .clean and comfortable and had every thing that we needed .Beds were comfortable and breakfast in the morning was fantastic .Carina and Apri run a very efficient hotel and make your trip worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PATRICIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We very much appreciate you taking the time and trouble to review your experience in staying with us at The Claremont Hotel. We try to make our guests as comfortable and welcome as possible and give the service we expect to receive( but seldom get) when we manage to get away and stay in a hotel. Your comments about our beds and breakfast are most welcome as well as your recommendation. Thank you so much for all of this and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
1.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
901 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,415 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
482 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
538 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range: £45 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Claremont Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Claremont Hotel The Claremont Hotel is a privately owned and family run hotel centrally positioned in the heart of Polperro, offering very comfortable accommodation, and less than three minutes walk from what is probably the prettiest fishing harbour in south east Cornwall, if not in the whole county. The Claremont Hotel faces south overlooking the valley and rooftops, and is ideally positioned for a short walk to all the village attractions and facilities. The hotel and its accommodation has been modernised so that our guests enjoy the comfort that is expected these days, yet it still retains its character, as parts of the hotel date back to the17th century,when it was most probably a fisherman's cottage. Please note that the Hotel does not have views over the harbour. With effect from 1st June 2016 Introducing a new concept in providing low cost accommodation. Bed and Breakfast is being replaced by Bed on a Budget. Breakfast will not be served and will not be available. A saving on up to £20 per night over the previous Tariff. A cooked breakfast is becoming a thing of the past as people are becoming more health conscious but when available, as on holiday, it tends to be eaten as it is included in the price. Also it is tempting to remain in bed so either forego the lie in or get up for breakfast. Now you can stay in bed as long as you wish knowing that you have already made a saving on not having breakfast. Further savings have been made by reducing the amount of room service normally provided. In effect all this means is that we no longer change bed sheets and towels on a daily basis, however the bathmat will be changed each day, tea/coffee/milk will be topped up and your waste bin will be emptied each day. For stays of one week or more a full room service and change of bedding, towels etc will be carried out after 3 or 4 days at managers discretion. We have also reduced the reception hours and we no longer accept check-ins after 6.30pm and if guests do not arrive by 7pm the booking is classed as a no show and therefore cancelled. These cost savings in laundry, wages and materials are part of the cost reduction that Bed on a Budget is able to provide guests and the saving can enhance your holiday experience by using these cost savings as you wish. Children under the age of six years are not normally accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
The Claremont Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing