We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polperro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Holiday Village
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We've just returned from a lovely week in Cornwall where we used Seaview as our base to explore and enjoy the southern coast.
We (2 adults, 14 year old twins and a 5 year old) were pleasantly surprised with the standard of our caravan and the stunning view from the adjoining decking. It was indeed a sea view. The caravan (a Jubilee) itself had many plus points (2 toilets, a good sized fridge with separate freezer, a comfortable 3 piece suite and comfortable beds). The only (small) negatives are that we could have done with a few more kitchen utensils and more hooks for hanging towels up.
The site was just about the right size - not too big. We made good use of the swimming pool in the late afternoon (upon our return from visiting places such as the nearby Talland Bay with its wonderful beach cafe and its safe waters). We found the pool to be fairly quiet during the last half hour or so, before it closed for the day.
The chalets let the site down - they look out of date and are a bit of an eyesore. It may be better if they were pulled down and replaced by more caravans.
The bar prices were fair and the staff were very efficient in serving us.
We found the entertainment to be of a good standard which we all enjoyed - there was something for everyone.
The shop was a little on the pricey side however it was handy for the daily essentials.
What was once the children's paddling pool either needs to be re-instated or removed to make better use of the area.
All in all, we had a great family holiday.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AndMat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    198
    114
    62
    91
See reviews for
456
190
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just came back from a weeks holiday and it was good for a budget holiday. We are a family with 2 teenagers. All the staff were very helpful and really nice. The shop is well stocked with branded products and everything you need. Our caravan was a Jubilee at the bottom of the site, it had amazing views, plenty of room between caravans and it was spotlessly clean. Everything was extremely good inside, the shower was brilliant, the bed was uncomfortable but we used the extra duvet under the bottom sheet which resolved that little niggle. The caravan had french doors onto a verandah which was lovely. I chose this caravan, spending a bit more proved to be a good idea, I think if we had any of the challets or those caravans in the middle of the site without net curtains I would have turned around and booked in somewhere else.

We didn't use the kids entertainment, the club looked clean (we used it in the day for Wifi), we didn't use the club in the evening but we walked past one evening and it was packed full of people, we used the swimming pool quite a bit and the jacuzzi which needed a good clean, we used the games room which was ok.

To the owner - this site has a fantastic location near Polperro and Looe, why didn't you demolish the challets and replace them with the brand new caravans? We will not be booking again, we hated walking through the challets they looked just dreadful and please please brush up all those cigarette ends on your site, disgusting.

Room Tip: Book a new caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrselphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the site early and were happy to see the beautiful views. The site however seemed a little tired and dirty, with the patio area and paddling pool? (If you can call it that) being in need of a good jet wash and tidy. The chalet was a good size and reasonably clean, although there were plenty of spiders on view. The water pressure however was non existent, and showering just not possible ( the hot water simply dribbled) unless you like it cold, so we took to showering in the swimming pool showers each day, which were at least warm and flowing, if not private.
The bar was well stocked and Captain Crumble was an excellent entertainer, however the majority of the other evening entertainment was dreadful, especially the comedian, who was so bad my wife just got up and left early. The menu left little to be desired, and was not cheap for fried and microwaved food, and was only available at night, both the bar and food seemed to be closed all day (apart from Saturdays). The steam room and sauna were not advertised anywhere, and when I asked the lifeguard about them he showed me where they were, but I would never had found them if I hadn't asked.
I think with a little attention and expansion (the entertainment venue was not big enough for the amount of people on site, meaning some were forced to sit outside or stand) and some tidying/cleaning this could be a great site instead of an average site.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Superdadrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

just came back today august 16th stayed for a week, reading the reviews on the weeks before coming here i really thought i made a mistake how wrong i was. on arrival was greeted by areally nice receptionist. l got keys straight away a welcome pack and directions to my caravan. i stayed in no16 regent in the bottom of the park. caravan was spotless and modern. my dvd didnt work but after phoning reception i had a new one within 10 minuites. the park was also spotless with plenty of room around each caravan, the grass was tidy and a great view of the sea. my children are 5 and 7 and loved it there. they loved the pool which was great and clean. they couldnt wait to go to morning and evening childrens club which was run by captain crumble he had the kids and adults in stitches what a star best entertainer ive seen he is a credit to you..all the staff were friendly and nothing was a problem.food was great and reasonable and so was the shop great little park for the kids. gonna book up next week for next year only downside wish i stayed 2 weeks well done sea view cant wait to come back.......

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed for 1 week in bungalow 70. Fine, clean, parking near, lovely view and new bathroom. Pls offer use of a Hoover free of charge as cleaning not provided.

Entertainment very good.

Food great but shame you have to pay 15p for a ketchup/salad cream/tartare when mustard is free!? Come on seaview we are sure you can stretch to this. All credit to the chef and bar/waiter staff are great.

Outside area of restaurant/bar could be used so much more if made to be more appealing.

Overall gave it average but you won't be disappointed when booked at a good price.

Room Tip: Go for a new caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks holiday in a coronation caravan.

We are a family of two adults two children aged 10 and 6 and basically so long as the kids are happy the oldies are happy too!

Captain Crumble is the best and kept the children entertained fully in the hour long session in the morning and the ninety minute session in the evening, though a little repetitive for my taste the children loved it and stated it was the best entertainment they had seen at a holiday park. He also ran an evening cabaret session that had the adults in stitches.

The pool was clean and well looked after, better than other pools we have been at at holiday parks, so happy to swim there every day. Staff we always helpful and we had no complaints. The food was excellent so long as all you want is typical bar food and not nouvelle cuisine, and the prices reasonable.

Only real issue was the showers in the caravan but being at the bottom of the hill even that wasn't too bad, and to get a seat for the evenings entertainment you need to be seated by 7.00 at the start of the kids club jams the club house us small.

Location excellent between Looe and Polperro though recommend walking down and bus back. Even in August we had no problems in parking in Looe and the beach is fantastic and very safe, though crowded.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marts123uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived on sat afternoon to collect key reception area clean and pleasant to be given keys to no28 and a welcome pack and told where to park
On arrival at the ( bungalow) first impression was very dated
The kitchen had got drain smell due to the drainage being linked with shower room every time you used the basin it pulled the water out of the trap in the kitchen
The kitchen and shower room had been recently refitted but badly
The shower doors didn't fit the tray properly and didn't meet at the bottom so floor was wet every time it was used
Pots and pans all needed a good wash before you could use them
Extractor fan didn't work
Shower was like a trickle
Dressing table in bedroom no plug socket and mirror was useless
No phone reception and call phone on site was out of order
Settee was very uncomfortable and dated
Table and chairs looked like hand downs from the bar
We left on Monday evening even thou we were booked til sat
We have stopped with hoeseasons a couple of times before and the standards have always been very good but this felt like an out of date has been park what I would expect from butlins I am sorry to say I will not be going back and will question if I will do hoeseasons if some of there sites have such low standards

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikecaz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Polperro hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tencreek Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Holiday Village

Property: Seaview Holiday Village
Address: Polperro Road, Polperro PI13 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaview Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Holiday Village is situated between the historic fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, and is within walking distance of Talland Bay with its secluded beach and cafes. We offer self-catering holidays in a range of caravans, bungalows and chalets for families and couples. All of our facilities are on offer throughout the season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Holiday Village Hotel Polperro
Seaview Holiday Village Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing