We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polperro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Holiday Village
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

Please do not take any notice of the moaners. This our third trip here and we have booked again for next year. We booked a Sovereign Chalet it was roomy & clean not as stated by moaners ok there were a few cob webs but so what we paid £180 for four adults for seven nights. We had a large digital Tv in the lounge, 2 x leather sofas. The bed lined was spotless so were the mattresses, the carpet looked like it had seen a busy season a number of stains but it was clean. Even the bedroom had a flat screen tv on the wall & it came with a Sea View, Yes there is a coin meter in the chalets we put in £10 during the week we were there this allowed 4 of us hot water for baths at least once a day each it covered the convector heaters x 3 each evening and we left the water heater on 247 not to mention using the spotless cooker, fridge, microwave, kettle etc.
Do not be put off by the bad reports this site gets better each year.
If you book the cheapest caravan or chalet then you obviously get less for your money so dont moan about it afterwards our holiday works out a £6.45 per person per night so realy do you think your going to get luxury. We were more than happy and are looking forward to returning next year.
As to the people that moaned about the food it was typical pub grub at very reasonable prices about £5.95 for Lasagne, Curry etc or £6.95 for rump steak, gammon etc the portions were huge the staff were all helpful & friendly. The bar prices are very good not as stated in some reviews £9 for a 4 pint Jug of Stella or Bitter, Soft drinks £1, Jugs of Sangria white or red £10, We had a fantastic time and our party ranged from age 32 - 60. There was entertainment if thats what your looking for it was not bad remember this is included in your £6.45 that you have paid for your accommodation they even have a BBQ 2 nights a week.
One last comment to the moaners why moan after your Holiday if you had a problem why not speak to someone on site straight away as they staff will do anything for you.
We travel on a regular basis abroad and in the uk and for the money you will not find better in Cornwall or any where else for that matter. Hope this report helps you remember we booked a Sovereign Chalet they had some very modern Caravans onsite with sea views and decking. We looked at these for next year but prefered the Chalet.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowshoekittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    198
    114
    62
    91
See reviews for
456
190
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

I will begin by emphasising that I paid over 700 pounds for this holiday which I booked with Hoeseasons through Thomas Cook. Me, my husband and our 3 kids have enjoyed several lovely holidays on camp sites in both bungalows and caravans so we were well prepared for the usual British summer holiday.

We were very wrong. This so-called holiday was a disaster from start to finish. When we arrived the first impressions were good. Got checked in quickly and the reception looked new and tidy. Then we got to our bungalow or should I say shack. All I can say is damp, dirty, dim and cold with furniture that looked like it came from a skip.

We than tried to make a much needed cup of tea only to discover we had to load the electricity meter with pound coins (which ran out very quickly). Only heating available was a small electric heater (more pound coins). The bungalow was so damp day and night that we had to tumble dry the bedding each day.

The outside area was actually dangerous. Pool left uncovered and unmanned, steep steps and no lighting. Indoor pool was less like tropical and more like just above freezing. No proper lifeguard and where was the spa?

Overall the staff were very helpful, apart from receptionist. Evening entertainment was tolerable. However the drinks were London prices and food was not fab.

All in all - don’t do it. Have camped in a tent in Rye and had a better time. In my opinion Seaview is unhealthy, unsanitary and unacceptable. Trying for a refund as we speak.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewife2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Polperro hotels

cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

We visited Seaview via the Hoseasons site for a week at the end of August. We travelled with 2 children both under 10, a stroppy teen and an OAP. When we arrived the carvan felt "damp", it was raining outside and the duvets, which had clearly just been washed were wet through. We left the gas fire on and went exploring. Back at 10 that evening and the caravan still felt damp and cold. The duvets were still wet, yet the staff were very impressive and apologised and changed them immediately.

The entertainment all week for both children and adults was superb and couldn't have askedf or better. The only downside of the site was the arcades which are very outdated and didn't really work properly leaving children putting in money for little or not return (or games!). The laundrette could do with more machines, both washing and drying but other than that no complaints. Bar area is clean and tidy, food is standard but hot and cooked to order.

Pool was great, open all day. The only real compaint i have is the caravan being damp when it was cold or wet outside, the pillows and sheets felt "wet" at night. On the dry days tho the caravan was perfect.

I would def recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheekyherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

I have stayed at lots of sites over the years with my family. This trip was just me and my husband, but I thought if we stay on a site we are gauranteed plenty to do. Not on this site. It is a VERY small site. There was some where to eat. only one place, and it only opened at certain times, as did the bar. There was an amusement room (tiny), there was entertainment of an evening(terrible). If you want a busy site with plenty to do, dont go to this site.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandiCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

I am in the habit of reading reviews where I stay, home and abroad - and without fail I have read negative reviews wherever I have stayed. It used to bother me, but now I take no notice - so long as there at least as many positive reviews I will give the place a go.

And so it was with Seaview Holiday Village. I read many disparaging comments, yet I found Seaview to be at least the equal of any caravan type site I have visited. The grounds were well kept, the facilities had obviously been updated in recent years, and the staff we came into contact with were friendly, helpful and approachable.

But the biggest plus point for Seaview is its location - a couple of miles outside the lovely Polperro village, and a short jaunt into Looe. You will be within walking distance of the pleasant beach at Talland Bay, and within a few minutes of the beaches at Looe Bay and Seaton.

So don't let the naysayers put you off - Seaview is a great location for a holiday in Cornwall - I would be nice if we had better weather next time though!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twistedpretender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

After reading a few negative reviews i was to uneasy about our holiday at Seaview.
It soon became clear there was no need to worry. Although detailed directions would of been useful, there were no major complaints.
On arriving after a long 8 hr drive at 1pm, we checked in and asked if we were ok to use the site facilities until our accomodation was available at 4pm. Better than this the receptionist checked and told us our Caravan was ready to occupy immeadiately.
We entered our Regent 2009 model Caravan and were delighted, even down to the 2 crab lines that had been left outside !
Clean, superb view , well equipped, roomy and no complaints.
The site itself well looked after.
Very helpful staff, good entertainment, reasonably priced food and drink in the club room, nice touch with the BBq nights .
One or two small negatives - Bar should be open during bad weather periods. Swimming pool area and changing rooms could do with a cleaning programme during the day.

All in all a great holiday, Thanks to all at Seaview

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Unfortunately, we did not read trip advisor before we went to SeaView but now we really wished we had and not booked here!

We have been with Hoseasons several times to some lovely places in England and have been camping before so we are used to suffering the English weather in not the best conditions! However, this place was the worst place we have ever stayed!!!!

When we arrived we were put in bungalow no.26. When we got there we were shocked to see a small shack with no open space outside but we kept our spirits up until we got inside to find something which resembles a drug squat! All the cushions on the seats were stained and had mould on them. The supposed sofa bed was extremely thin and covered in stains, dirt and mould. The floor looked like it had never been hoovered. There was mould on the windows and none of them had been cleaned. The kitchen doors had sticky subtance all on them. There were dead flies squashed on the splashback in the kitchen. The front of the bungalow is just a thin piece of wood and there was a hole in it. The dining chairs were old pub chairs with hair and dirt in the rusty frames of the chair.

We complained to reception because this place was not liveable and unacceptable. On our way we found out that another family were disgusted with the dirt in the accommodation and that they also had an ant infestation!

We were sent a cleaner who arrived with a bucket and some other cleaning products. We explained that a quick wipe round would not solve this. The place needs gutting! She tried to tell us that because of the time of year there is a quick turnover making it hard to clean everywhere. This is UNACCPETABLE. If they expect people to be content with the fact that due to the busy time of year their accommodation may not be cleaned then HOW can they charge such extortionate rates in peak season.

The manager came to us, took one look at the place and said he would try to move us. He came back to say that we could move to no.05.

When we got to no.05 it seemed better as it had an open green space outside and also had a patio space. It seemed to be cleaner initially because there was a newer carpet and it stunk of bleach as the cleaners had just been in supposedly cleaning. We were so tiered after travelling a 5 hour car journey and just wanted somewhere to rest so we said that the place was ok. However, IT WAS NOT.
When the cleaner and manager left, we looked further round to find crumbs all on the kitchen surface, dirt and grit all on the sofa bed again which this time was broken! There was grease all on the kitchen walls, the fridge was dirty and the bathroom was disgusting! The cleaners at this establishment need to learn how to clean!
The next day was spent cleaning trying to make the place better to live in. We really tried to make a go of it since this was our only opportunity to have a holiday this year.
But in the end the smell of mould and dirt became too much. We were booked to stay for 2 weeks but only stayed 9 days. The weather had not been great and the smell of mould and damp became stronger making us feel unwell and preventing us from sleeping. Even our clothes were starting to smell and become damp despite being hung in the wardrobe.
The damp could be measured by the fact that our sugar and salt clumped together inside its container in the kitchen cupboard. A piece of paper with ink on it was left on the table overnight and the ink had run from it the next day. Every morning the windows were dripping with condensation that it dripped onto the floor.

Do not be fooled by this place - we watched during our stay and when they clean they spend a few seconds hoovering a bit of carpet, spraying some polish and putting a bit of bleach down the toilet. The bungalows are not cleaned properly and this has to be breaking health and safety regulations. They also leave all the windows open in the bungalows to try and make the smell of damp and mould go.

Another issue is that there is poor heating in the bungalows. We only had an electric fire and a very old rusty electric radiator. Ironically, the park make you pay for electricity on a meter so more money!!!!!!!! HELLO, this is England not Spain - these places need to be suitable for English weather.

We left no.05 with mould everywhere and damp everywhere which clearly had not been dealt with and just tried to be covered up with paint or with linen because there was even mould on the matressess when we lifted off the linen.

Furthermore, we had booked the Royale 6 because we had six people in our party. Luckily one person was unable to make the holiday becasue this accommodation DOES NOT FIT 6 people! We only had 4 dining chairs, only 4 cups, no cooking equipment to use in oven or grill. The crockery also had to be washed everytime after being in the cupboard because of the smell of mould in the cupboards. And the sofa bed was a joke. One of our party had to sleep on it and suffered severe back pain as a result. There is no way 2 people could have slept on this.

We are extremely unhappy with our stay at Seaview and feel we paid an outrageous sum of money for accommodation which frankly is not even fit for animals let alone paying holiday-makers.
If you want to have a nice comfortable holiday and not be ripped off DO NOT GO HERE!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CUBA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tencreek Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Holiday Village

Property: Seaview Holiday Village
Address: Polperro Road, Polperro PI13 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaview Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Holiday Village is situated between the historic fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, and is within walking distance of Talland Bay with its secluded beach and cafes. We offer self-catering holidays in a range of caravans, bungalows and chalets for families and couples. All of our facilities are on offer throughout the season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Holiday Village Hotel Polperro
Seaview Holiday Village Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing