We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking caravan....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polperro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Holiday Village
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Shocking caravan....”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

With 2 excited kids and 2 adults in much need of a break , we were looking forward to our week at Seaview. However, on arrival our initial reaction was how small the site was.It got worse..ALOT worse! Caravan no 85 will be etched in our memory for a long time! Mould on the beds,(could not use the 3rd bedroom) damp and even wet duvets, a very dubious oven and grill which we choose not to use! The toaster had failed its P.A.T. and had do not use written on it but still sat merrily in the cupboard ready for use.The shower did not work at all...luckily our little one had her bath with her( imagine , a 1 year old ,4 year old and 2 adults huddled round the one and only gas fire trying to get cleaned using a baby bath!)And to top it all off , the water was off from sat to weds! ( fair enough these things happen but there was no water available to us other than buying it from the shop!)

On a positive note ,the bar staff where very helpful and polite and the entertainment for the children was good. The adult entertainment was hit and miss but catered for most tastes.

The pool was cold ( probably due to boilers not working)and the showers did not work most the week. The layout is not ideal( no where to leave your possesions ).

The situation of the site is good. Looe has a smallish beach which kids loved.Polperro is lovely and well worth pottering around.

Unless offered a guarentee of a clean and sanitary caravan, we would not go back here.We feel robbed of over half our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsunsun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, Owner's assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
We regret the problems encountered by this family during their stay at Seaview.
We did have a problem with the water supply for several days, due to a problem caused by the local water board. This obviously caused major inconvenience to both ourselves and our visitors, and we can only apologise for this.
With regards to the standard of their accommodation, we have checked our records and we can find no mention of any of the other points being brought to our attention. The weather was horrendously wet at the start of (and before) their stay and this could have caused the bedding to feel damp.
We would thanks these visitors for their kind comments about our staff and the children's entertainment. I am confident if they were to return to the Park they would not encounter the same problems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    214
    121
    62
    93
See reviews for
486
211
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
essex england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2009

our second visit to this amazing site, staff just can't do enough for you, entertainment great in a nice clubhouse serving real ale. caravan nice and clean with lovely view over talland bay. can't wait to re visit.
john whipp [essex]

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, Owner's Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 14 December 2009
Thank you placing your review on this site. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found it good value for money. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Have just returned from an excellent week at seaview. Site is small but has a very freindly atmosphere. Pool is clean and warm Staff are friendly and helpful, Close to Looe and Polpero, both in walking distance along cliff paths if you are feeling active. My 2 children age 7 + 11 want to book again for next year already.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, Owner's Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 6 November 2009
Thanks for taking the time to write your review - we do appreciate the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmanzi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We have just returned from our second visit this year to seaview. We couldnt believe it on arrival nearlly all the staff remembered our names, weve never met such a friendly bunch of staff.

We couldnt work the tv in the caravan; maintainence men where there in literary 5 minuets. Only problem cooker didn't work but the manager gave us free meals; can't complain about that! food was lovely out of 6 of us not one complaint.My parents came for the evenings and loved it to.

Pool / spa smashing manned by qualified lifeguard at all times, hot showers and clean changing rooms. Park is not the size of butlins but that is what we like, the whole place had a very safe feel, we didnt need to keep worrying where the children where ( aged 7 - 14) as the entertainment is all in one place. Evening entertainment was good,expecially Micky John Bull.

My daughter fell and cut her head, running around the chairs to fast! the response from the staff was brilliant; expecially Mel thankyou, and the manager who offered to drive us to Liskard hospital.Shes fine now.

Our caravan was clean and tidy. No damp like in other reviews? Fully equipt, very comfortable beds heaters in bedroom and lounge, exellent sea view.

Only a short trip to polperro and looe. Well anywhere in Cornwall is not far. We definately will be returning.

Thankyou to all at seaview for another exellent holiday. Sad to see the barman retiring the last night was a scream; good luck to you. From all who stayed at no:82.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, Owner's Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 6 November 2009
We are very glad you enjoyed your second visit and appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write your review. We look forward to seeing you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

we have been here 5 times in the last 7 years,but i wont spend anymore time here till i can see the reviews improve...Paid 12 months in advance because in the past we have had no problems here, but since stuart and dill have left its no longer the same....i took the inlaws with us because of the sites past reputation.ordered a poldark van having stopped in the vans with nothing in front but fields before,imagine my revulsion to be stuck in one right by the clubhouse and the road with all the noise assotiated to the location.....minor problem with the fire in the van was quickly sorted out by the maintenance, reception was good,the site itself look a little unloved this time(water feature)..new clubhouse(o boy) seats were totally uncomfortable and all round tables made it impossible for larger groups to sit together easily....food.wise,a major improvement is needed here,ordered the steaks on the first night,2 out of 4 of them were masively undercooked and the salad was so old it was embarresing,trying to give the benifit of the doubt i ordered steak(medium rare)because i like to see the blood when i eat steak only to be served a piece of meat that when i cut into it was so old the blood was no where to be seen.....needless to say we cooked a lot this trip.I hope they sort things out because i used to like it here but i wont be back again untill things improve.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vi11age-idiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, OWNER'S ASSISTANT at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 14 October 2009
We regret very much that this visitor did not enjoy their return visit to Seaview Holiday Village. We get many guests who return year after year, and the vast majority of those who came back this year have been pleased with the changes we have made to the club house and reception.
With regards to this guest's accommodation, we have always had Poldark caravans in various locations around the park, but the ones that used to be located at the edge of the park, with views over the fields, were replaced 3 years ago by our Jubilee caravans as part of our ongoing improvements to the accommodation. I am sure if this visitor was to return to Seaview and chose his accommodation with the help and advice of our staff to meet his requirements, he would enjoy his stay.
We can only apologise now if this visitor was dissatisfied with his food. If he had reported this to the kitchen staff at the time I am confident he would have been offered a replacement meal. Our food service has proved very popular this year, with a big increase in turnover.
We are unable to identify this guest from his review so we are unable to confirm if he contacted the management during his stay to voice his concerns..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex England UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Stayed at Seaview Holiday Village for 3 nights whilst seafishing in the area. No complaints whatsoever, Allowed to check-in early, 1pm instead of 4pm, which was a blessing as we had had a long and tiring overnight train journey from Essex to reach our destination. Village facilities perfectly adequate, although if you go there expecting 5* amenities and entertainment you will be disappointed; nevertheless, caravan (crown) was fine and perfect for our purpose. Good value too when compared to other caravan parks in Cornwall. Local bus service to Looe or Polperro stops close by front gate of village, though be warned, if on foot it is a long steep uphill walk back to the village from Talland Bay or Polperro.
All in all, a great place to stay for a self-catering holiday or break if on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NGM6456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

After reading the reviews on this site, to say I wasn't expecting great things was an understatement. As we were not planning on spending much time here, and using it as more of a base we weren't bothered about spending a fortune. Myself and my mum, dad, husband and six month baby stayed in a 'Royale 6' chalet which was booked under a special offer for 4 nights (Monday-Friday) through Hoseasons. For the price we paid (just under £130 for all of us, including cot) we were really surprised to see how nice our chalet was, and had a really lovely stay here.

When first arriving, we very nearly drove past the site as the sign by the road is very easily missed. Once parked, we then made our way to the reception where we were greated with a friendly welcome, even though we were nearly an hour early checking in (our check-in time was 4pm, which I presume was standard). We were given the keys straight away, and was informed that the cot had not been installed yet, but would be done shortly.

The chalet itself was in a great location - we had a gorgeous view of the sea and was right next to a car park, which having lots of bags and baby equipment made our life a lot easier. Once inside, we dumped our bags and had a look around.

Inside, we had a very new looking kitchen with mostly new appliances (oven, hob, grill, microwave and toaster). The fridge was probably a lot older, but worked absolutly fine. The place itself was spotlessly clean, although had a slight smell of wet dog which I suppose you should expect really from accomodation that accepts animals. The rest of the furniture was a little dated and not amazingly comfortable, but was absolutly fine for our needs. It also contained a double room, twin room and bathroom, all of which again were clean. The electricity is powered through a pound coin meter, which wasn't too bad at all - I think we spent around £8 all week but had the immersion heater on constantly and a hallogen heater on all night for our baby. Some other reviewers have complained about their chalets being damp - we had no sign of this at all and with it being September it wasn't always boiling hot outside either. If you wanted to be really picky, there were little things we noticed like stains on the carpets and chairs, but to be honest you aren't going to get 5* luxury for such low prices.

The pool inside is lovely, with warm water and a lifeguard there constantly, and is great for kids with a shallow end and lots of inflatables to play with. Like many public swimming pools, it does not allow cameras. There is also a small jacuzzi pool which is operated by pound coins.

The site also contains a small shop which as expected is a little pricy but sells everything you would need. We didn't go into the club house at night as its not really our thing but that seemed absolutly fine and has obviously had a recent re-fit.

One of the only things I have to complain about, is that after coming in fairly late at night we found the cot had not been delivered and had to ask at the bar as the reception was shut. A very friendly young girl sorted this for us straight away and found one behind the reception desk.

Overall, I would recommend this place if you are simply using it as a base like we were - the location is great and although I wouldn't recommend walking to Looe or Polperro (there is no real path or any street lights) it is only a very short trip via a car or taxi. Visiting these two towns is a must, they are very pretty with plenty of pubs and great eating places if you don't want to hang around the site at night.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rache_uk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
854 reviews
2.5 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Killigarth Manor Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Tencreek Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Holiday Village

Property: Seaview Holiday Village
Address: Polperro Road, Polperro PI13 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaview Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Holiday Village is situated between the historic fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, and is within walking distance of Talland Bay with its secluded beach and cafes. We offer self-catering holidays in a range of caravans, bungalows and chalets for families and couples. All of our facilities are on offer throughout the season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Holiday Village Hotel Polperro
Seaview Holiday Village Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing