We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cold and very damp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polperro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Holiday Village
Portishead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very cold and very damp”
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Weather was not on our side being quite cold for the time of year. Sadly the chalet we were in was very cold and damp and the one bar electric fire was not sufficent. We took to having stripped washes in the morning in front of the fire. Fortunately this was a sun holiday cheapy and so we left mid week for home. Not pleasant though to put clothes on that felt damp. I guess had it been warmer we would have coped. I love the area though but this site is not for me - sorry. Did try for a move but was told it was fully booked. Probably my first and last sun holiday although I have spoken to others who have not experienced the same

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkennyPortishead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, Owners' Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
We are really sorry that these visitors were dissatisfied with their accommodation. We do try to present all our bungalows and caravans in a wel-maintained and comfortable manner. Unfortunatelyy, when the weather is very cold and wet, the bungalows can feel a little damp, usually due to lack of ventilation.Unfortunately these reviews do not allow us to identify the visitors and therefore we are unable to check our records to see if these problems were brought to our attention during their stay. If they had been, I am confident we would have done all we could to satisfy these guests to allow them to enjoy their holiday. After all that is what we are in business for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    207
    116
    62
    93
See reviews for
471
203
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We spent six nights here in April in Chalet 63, three nights using the £9.50 holiday vouchers in the Sun and paid the extra nights (£20) per night (Fantastic Value) There were really only two downsides I could say about the whole week, first was our chalet smelt damp on arrival but a few squirts round with air fresher sorted it out. The other thing was the shower was a little puny! Apart from that the chalet was clean, kitchen was well equipped and chalet was in a good position on the site. Yes the site is small but that's all the better. Who wants a haven sized walk from the shop???? We really enjoyed ourselves. The staff at the bar, shop and reception were friendly and helpful but the prize for best staff member must go to the lad who worked as the lifeguard at the pool. He was lovely, really chatty and friendly. The beer was nice in the bar, the pool was warm, clean and the kids loved it. As it was early in the season they were painting the outside seating area which is going to look great. I must admit we didn't get to see the evening entertainment unfortunately as we went sightseeing most days but were able to swim in the pool in the evening when we came back which was nice. The site is near Talland Bay which is a gorgeous fair sized beach (when the tide is out) with rockpools and a really nice cafe. We drove down and there was a cark park which for a small charge you could park all day. I would definately return to the site and am looking forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillywilly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, Owners' assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Seaview and that you intend to come back again. We do appreciate you taking the time to place your review and would thank you for all your kind comments about our staff. We are sorry if your accommodation smelt a little damp - unfortunately this is a problem that when the previous occupants do not ventilate the bungalows, especially if the weather is cold and wet. Luckily it is easily put right. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

stayed here for a monday to friday break from the sun newspaper. what value for money we had, £48 for the five of us for five days.
the site was small but was very clean.
we were in chalet number 80 right at the front of the site by reception and clubhouse. it was a big chalet and clean, needed a bit of updating but have stayed in worse when at pontins!! the chalet did not get any sun on it which made it quite cold so had to have the fire on constantly when we were in there even when it was sunny outside!!!
the swimming pool was great for the kids and had lots of space to sit outside, my husband was dissapointed that the bar didnt open in the afternoon which was a bit silly when sitting out on the patio in the sun gasping for a drink although the shop was open.
the entertainment was a bit hit and miss, the compere dill de lainey worked really hard and bingo was good value.
polperro was beautiful and well worth a visit, looe was ok too and we also visited newquay which was about an hour away. the local beach of talland bay is worth a visit as the kids loved the rocks but venturing down the path is a mission, well getting back up is!!!! but then you can have a lovely cream tea and enjoy the view!!
we had a lovely time and would return here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamTrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, Owners' Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
We were really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We look foward to seeing you again at Seaview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

With 2 excited kids and 2 adults in much need of a break , we were looking forward to our week at Seaview. However, on arrival our initial reaction was how small the site was.It got worse..ALOT worse! Caravan no 85 will be etched in our memory for a long time! Mould on the beds,(could not use the 3rd bedroom) damp and even wet duvets, a very dubious oven and grill which we choose not to use! The toaster had failed its P.A.T. and had do not use written on it but still sat merrily in the cupboard ready for use.The shower did not work at all...luckily our little one had her bath with her( imagine , a 1 year old ,4 year old and 2 adults huddled round the one and only gas fire trying to get cleaned using a baby bath!)And to top it all off , the water was off from sat to weds! ( fair enough these things happen but there was no water available to us other than buying it from the shop!)

On a positive note ,the bar staff where very helpful and polite and the entertainment for the children was good. The adult entertainment was hit and miss but catered for most tastes.

The pool was cold ( probably due to boilers not working)and the showers did not work most the week. The layout is not ideal( no where to leave your possesions ).

The situation of the site is good. Looe has a smallish beach which kids loved.Polperro is lovely and well worth pottering around.

Unless offered a guarentee of a clean and sanitary caravan, we would not go back here.We feel robbed of over half our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsunsun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, Owner's assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
We regret the problems encountered by this family during their stay at Seaview.
We did have a problem with the water supply for several days, due to a problem caused by the local water board. This obviously caused major inconvenience to both ourselves and our visitors, and we can only apologise for this.
With regards to the standard of their accommodation, we have checked our records and we can find no mention of any of the other points being brought to our attention. The weather was horrendously wet at the start of (and before) their stay and this could have caused the bedding to feel damp.
We would thanks these visitors for their kind comments about our staff and the children's entertainment. I am confident if they were to return to the Park they would not encounter the same problems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2009

our second visit to this amazing site, staff just can't do enough for you, entertainment great in a nice clubhouse serving real ale. caravan nice and clean with lovely view over talland bay. can't wait to re visit.
john whipp [essex]

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, Owner's Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 14 December 2009
Thank you placing your review on this site. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found it good value for money. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Have just returned from an excellent week at seaview. Site is small but has a very freindly atmosphere. Pool is clean and warm Staff are friendly and helpful, Close to Looe and Polpero, both in walking distance along cliff paths if you are feeling active. My 2 children age 7 + 11 want to book again for next year already.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, Owner's Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 6 November 2009
Thanks for taking the time to write your review - we do appreciate the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmanzi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We have just returned from our second visit this year to seaview. We couldnt believe it on arrival nearlly all the staff remembered our names, weve never met such a friendly bunch of staff.

We couldnt work the tv in the caravan; maintainence men where there in literary 5 minuets. Only problem cooker didn't work but the manager gave us free meals; can't complain about that! food was lovely out of 6 of us not one complaint.My parents came for the evenings and loved it to.

Pool / spa smashing manned by qualified lifeguard at all times, hot showers and clean changing rooms. Park is not the size of butlins but that is what we like, the whole place had a very safe feel, we didnt need to keep worrying where the children where ( aged 7 - 14) as the entertainment is all in one place. Evening entertainment was good,expecially Micky John Bull.

My daughter fell and cut her head, running around the chairs to fast! the response from the staff was brilliant; expecially Mel thankyou, and the manager who offered to drive us to Liskard hospital.Shes fine now.

Our caravan was clean and tidy. No damp like in other reviews? Fully equipt, very comfortable beds heaters in bedroom and lounge, exellent sea view.

Only a short trip to polperro and looe. Well anywhere in Cornwall is not far. We definately will be returning.

Thankyou to all at seaview for another exellent holiday. Sad to see the barman retiring the last night was a scream; good luck to you. From all who stayed at no:82.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaviewPolperro, Owner's Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, 6 November 2009
We are very glad you enjoyed your second visit and appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write your review. We look forward to seeing you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Killigarth Manor Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Tencreek Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Holiday Village

Property: Seaview Holiday Village
Address: Polperro Road, Polperro PI13 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaview Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Holiday Village is situated between the historic fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, and is within walking distance of Talland Bay with its secluded beach and cafes. We offer self-catering holidays in a range of caravans, bungalows and chalets for families and couples. All of our facilities are on offer throughout the season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Holiday Village Hotel Polperro
Seaview Holiday Village Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing