We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence”
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Beautiful building small and intimate interior suitable for couples and mainly adults wishing to enjoy freshly prepared food with friendly service
London
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“All round excellence”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Looking for an early dinner we stopped here and were very fortunate to get a table without a reservation. It's a husband and wife operation plus one charming waitress. The food and service were faultless. Fresh local ingredients beautifully prepared. Worth a journey to eat here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    40
    10
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner with Nana”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our Nana took us to the Kitchen last night, we think its is the best meal we have ever had. My sister had the crab, lemon sole, and chocolate cake to finish, she said it is the best fish she has ever tasted. I had bruchetta, duck, and meringue with raspberries, really really great. Harry made us very welcome and we told Nana we wish she could cook like Karen. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barney016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Polperro”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were lucky enough to get a booking here last Friday evening. This restaurant is run by a husband (front of house) and wife (chef) with one friendly waitress as a very smooth operation. Food was truly excellent with good flavours. Service was efficient and very friendly (but unobtrusive) . The chef came out to chat afterwards and we got the secret of her pickled grapes! An inspired idea with lovely Cornish chees and crackers and a glass of port or 2! If you are lucky enough to get a table at Kitchen, you will have a very pleasant evening indeed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnneDSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Just excellent! ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We called to reserve quite late in the day but they were very accommodating and managed to squeeze us in. And how grateful we are that they did. The atmosphere is cosy and friendly and the service great, but the real star here is the food. Sourced locally and incredibly fresh, our meal was superb. We'd definitely recommend the scallops starter and the 28-day aged rib-eye steak. Delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best in Polperro”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a great little restaurant! Best food we had in Polperro, and best we have eaten anywhere for quite some time. The host, staff, chef, all friendly, efficient and welcoming. You do need to book here as it is very small and does get full quickly. All food locally sourced with information on where it is from. Excellent local Cornish gin, cheese etc. We had scallops as a starter and fillet steak cooked to perfection for our main. I don't think it would matter what you order here, I am confident it would all be served to the same high standard. Sorry we don't live near enough to visit more often.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holidayaddict023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing