We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location and excellent food”

Outlaw's Fish Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely location and excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Staff managed to fit us in even though we had not booked and I'm pleased they did. We had the £35 tasting menu (so spent more than we would normally) but it was worth it for the surprise factor and the whisky cured sea trout which I may not have otherwise ordered. As others have said, we were not overwhelmed with the burger and were a bit disappointed not to have had the chilli squid instead but to be fair we could have asked for that. The lemon posset for dessert was heavenly. Overall not great value but probably the best fish I have ever had and certainly one of the most enjoyable meals in a stunning location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahC202_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    98
    45
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nathan Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Food in this quaint little restaurant was outstanding. Because sharing was advised we had practically everything on the menu, including the suggestions on the board. All this for a reasonable price. Nathan Outlaw has made the new European cooking standards introduced by Noma and In De Wulf (amongst others) his own and gave them his personal twist. Congratulations! This urges us to come back to Cornwall to also try his other restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc-VdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had the tapas style set lunch - 5 dishes, each very tasty, particularly enjoyed the mackerel and fish burger..... We found the amount of food was more than sufficient - no room for desert. Talked of return with friends/ family.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Get your mind ready for an experience...not just a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Imagine a small fishing cottage by the dock with the ground floor converted to ake about 20 diners and a kitchen no bigger that a Bentley.
Now imagine no main courses but a long list of starters ( rather in the style of the old Menage a Trois restaurant in London 20 years ago). Just order...and keep ordering until you feel full and fat. Be ready for surprises, exquisite freshness of wish, wonderful artisan beer, smart staff who could work at Goldmans in their day job, and a kitchen that doesnt fluster or fail. Thats why its worth going to Port Isaac.

The test of exquisite freshness in fish is, for me, a mackarel. These were on toast and caught that day. The crab cakes delight, the white fish is touched with Asian i think, and you might aswell just keep going down the blackboard because there is nothing you wont like. Desserts are equally delicate, fresh and imaginative.

Alot of restaurants say they differentiate on freshness and seasonality but i have rarely found a restaurant which leaves you with a deep understanding of just how good food can be when its meets these criteria. Outlaws does and its a triumph.

Go casual, be prepred to roll with the experience and just let them bring it on. Its what they do best here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Small & Delcious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

‘Small, original and delicious’ just about sums up everything about Outlaw’s Fish Kitchen.

The modest white painted building with an array of many-paned windows faces out onto the street only a few yards from the quay. Inside, the low dining room painted white and blue and hung with charming seascapes, is a cosy, sociable space abuzz with diners.

The menu is based around small seafood plates that are perfect for a flexible meal based around an ongoing selection – one is reminded of tapas. We found sharing five plates was sufficient, though we are not big eaters and others may opt for more, perhaps the ‘Outlaws Fish Kitchen to Share £35 per person’. Of our choices the Grilled Mackerel and the Outlaw’s Fish Burger topped the bill, but that’s in no way to belittle the Grey Mullet, Whiskey Cured Sea Trout and Shoestring Potatoes, which were excellent. (By the time we ate (see below) there was no baked Port Isaac Crab left, unfortunately.) The dessert of Dark Chocolate Brownie, Quadrupel Ale Ice Cream (complementing the sweetness of the brownie beautifully) and Espresso Syrup was perfect. Good coffee rounded things off.

I have only one criticism about the meal. We started with Marinated Olives and Smoked Almonds, fine, but why were the almonds in the olive oil? But maybe that’s just being picky

There are perhaps two words of advice for those having a shared meal of these small plates, as we did: unselfish restraint with the fork is called for and both parties should eat at the same pace.

If you are planning to go it’s helpful to know that there are timed sittings. We left booking to the last minute and were offered 6.00 pm (too early) and 8.45 pm (a bit late). The restaurant usually reckons on about 1h 45m for a meal. We opted for 8.45pm and come 10.30pm were under no pressure to leave – for which we were rather grateful, happy to delay as we were the steep walk back up to our bungalow on the hill. That was neither small nor delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outlaw's Fish Kitchen also viewed

 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to Outlaw's Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing