We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old School Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Slipway B & B(Port Isaac)
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stargazy Inn(Port Isaac)
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Gaverne Hotel(Port Gaverne)
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cornish Arms(Pendoggett)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
St. Moritz Hotel(Wadebridge)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wadebridge(Wadebridge)(Great Value!)
US$67
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
206
143
50
36
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
143
50
36
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish roomart roomdoc martinmusic roomcar parkquirky hotelhouse hotelfish piean evening mealfishing villagefresh seafoodtv showlarge roomfantastic locationoverlooking the harbourboth nightsfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Yes it was in need of a revamp around the back of this Charming Little Hotel and its a pity because its far too Pretty to be neglected. However i loved every minute of our stay there. The Breakfast was first class and the staff Great. We stayed in the Art Room, Oh my God it was so Devine and Quaint. We went for Easter and the prices were reasonable then. Oh and another plus was we parked our car outside of the Hotel easily.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very disappointing. £160 per night for flaking paint, broken bathroom tiles, tatty décor, old mis- matched furniture. Very tired, needs refurbishing. No beds made, tea/coffee replenished for duration of stay. Thin walls and floors with no sound insulation as speaking and snoring in adjacent rooms heard clearly. 1 hour breakfast availability. Expected much much more for the price. Positives are great views and friendly staff. Hotel surviving on location and the fact it appears on Doc Martin rather than providing good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The "Old School" perched high above the village of Port Isaac with the waves crashing on the rocks just below is the focal point in this most beautiful fishing village.
A working school until the 1980's was transformed into a hotel. Loads of character and charm. Each room has been refitted with ensuite bath and given course names; i.e., Religious Studies, English, Physics, etc. Depending on how many people in you party will determine which room you will be offered. Room cleaned every day leaving fresh towels and toiletries where required.
Could open a window, if desired. Individual heating unit in room also. Coffee & tea supplies with a little pot was an added plus. Bed very comfortable. Entrance private off of main entrance to hotel proved quick and less bothersome to Lobby staff. All the staff, especially Sam, Rachel and Rick made reservation and check-in a pleasure. Very welcoming to the guests and assist with any requests with their smiles and friendliness.
Location is everything and you have it here. Easy downhill 5 minute walk, but don't rush past the lovely shops, to the Platt. Doc Martin fans should stay NOWHERE else! THIS is "Louisa's" school. You are temporarily living in an 'episode' with the "Doc". How GREAT is that?
Truly, if you 'fancy' a 'lay down', then stay at this hotel in the storybook village of Portwenn.

Room Tip: Courtesy and patience
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GCSMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stay with my wife and friends over New Years Eve.
We where very well looked after my the staff.
Great view and with a car park though not very large and a bit tight if you have a large vehicle.

Food was very good and reasonable cost.

Breakfast was very good along with the service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmover077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Just returned from two nights at the Old School House and now looking forward to the next visit. It could not possibly be any better situated. Overlooking the harbour at Port Isaac, this is ‘picture postcard’ Cornwall. We were travelling with friends from America who were in the ‘English’ room. (All the rooms are named after school subjects). This was a large room with outstanding views down into the village and harbour. They were supplied with a ‘Doc Martin’ DVD to watch, which meant that they could see the village on screen and out of the window. The food, both in the evening and for breakfast was excellent and varied, with the staff very helpful with the vegetarian requests of our friends. I cannot think why anyone would want to stay anywhere else in Port Isaac, if they can stay at the Old School House.

A special mention to Sam and Rachel who looked after us with an attentiveness, which went beyond, ‘just doing a job’.

Room Tip: Try the English room for a good view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAHHx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews