We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Visit to Remember”
Review of Old School Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old School Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Visit to Remember”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

As a big fan of Doc Martin (the TV series), my wife surprised me for my 50th birthday with a trip to Port Isaac in Cornwall where it is filmed. We stayed in the Old School Hotel which 'acts' as the school in the show.

What a GREAT place to stay! The hotel is small (about 8 rooms) but very friendly and professional. The two girls on duty over the weekend while we were there, were perfect hosts.

The room (The Latin room) over looked the bay and had the most wonderful king size bed.
Food was pricey but very, very good.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of spending a few nights in what is a very charming, and lovely place.

Port Isaac is also well situated to be able to drive to other major attractions in Cornwall. The Eden project is just a 40 minute drive, and Bodmin just 30 minutes.

We hope to return one day!

Room Tip: The 'Latin Room' is the honeymoon suite. It has a great view across the bay and the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    135
    49
    36
    15
See reviews for
58
265
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Another enjoyable break at this nice hotel. The view from our room into the Port/Harbour makes the stay all the more enjoyable. Good sized bedroom with a sofa to watch the world go by -- and nothing like waking up and looking out of the floor level windows (whilst still laying in bed) and watching the fishermen unloading their catch of crabs and fish. Nicely presented and reasonably priced food - great breakfasts too. Ann the Chef accommodated our quirky requirements and provided us with fried bread and baked beans on top of the standard all day breakfast! Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the friendly and helpful staff. Our thanks go to Sam - who was there for us for our every need and to Rachel who looked after us so well in the restaurant. Ann who cooked us some fabulous meals and Shelley who ensured that our room was clean, tidy and kept us topped up with cafetiere coffees and nice smelling bathroom toiletries. The staff are a credit to this hotel. Thank you - you all made our stay a happy one. A couple of points to note: parking is limited and a little tight, howver this is one of the few (if the only) hotel with parking at all ....and the wardrobe is a little too small if like me you tend to travel with too much gear. But on the whole, we recommend this hotel and look forward to returning again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Port/Harbour/Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed there for our 30th wedding Anniversary from sept 8th - 11th as we had our honeymoon in port isaac .We decided to book 3 night in the Latin room because of write ups on here and hotel photos.
When we arrived we just managed to get a parking space as this is limited ,turning in and out of the gates is a bit tricky but ok .
We were shown our latin room and my wife went wowww it was a big room ( classroom in Dr Martin ) had a sette a huge bed must have been nearly 7x7 feet it felt as you were sleeping alone because of size.The bathroom was fantastic big with lovely huge roll top type bath and if you leave doors open you can see over Port Isaac bay .The view was outstanding as you look across the bay and can see the small cornish blue & white fishing boats bobbing up and down and watch them go out and in with their catch of the day ,it is a beautiful view to wake up to .
The breakfast I was really disappointed with the full breakfast is very average with the sausage being more of a basic chipolata rather than a full meaty sausage ,eggs were basic not organic etc .Service was slow this was not due to the waitress who not only had to tell where your table was ,bring your hot drinks,take your order,bring your order out and then clear and clean your table and this routine for every guest table.This problem could be resolved with more staff and as the staff are mostly seasonal should not cost to much this seems an ongoing thing as stated in previous trip advisor comments .
The staff are helpful reception is the bar so a bit confusing at first when you arrive the bar area is ok but could do with a bit more colour maybe local paintings etc .
Would I stay there again yes in the Latin room but I doubt I will as been there done it ,to me it was a one off and a nice one off ........
A bit of advice while driving in Port Isaac the road going out is very narrow down at port side the road not built for cars and if you meet a car coming down the hill you have to reverse and I scraped car on a door step and others we heard have also had a few scrapes.30yrs ago the village road was one way so didn't have these problems.Think this should be implemented again as this could be a nightmare in the summer months .

Room Tip: When in the Latin room it has a hand shower in bath,be careful not to get any water on the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ukpse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

A very welcome stop on our coastal walk, great place to stay. Bright airy room overlooking the harbour, friendly and helpful staff, we were well impressed. Decided to eat at their restaurant too, glad we did. Hearty food and decent wine, just what we needed after 14 tough miles. Excellent place, totally recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brattonhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

It was my Wife's 60th Birthday surprise so I booked the Latin room for three nights, if you want the best room with an amazing view book this one, .Great staff especially SAM nothing was to much, The restaurant was excellent, other good restaurants THE MOTE, OUTLAWS,THE EDGE. Port Isaac has got to be the best place to stay and explore the surounding area and we are definatly going back next year.

Room Tip: As I said book the Latin room amazing view and Big bed oh and bath bring some bubble bath to put in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverloch
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had the best time staying two nights in this hotel which is located on the top of a cliff overlooking the harbour. Our room faced the harbour so the view was amazing, changing as the tides came in and out. The town has so much history and of course it is where Doc Martin is filmed! The hotel amenities were very good, our room was spacious with king size bed. Meals at the hotel were very good quality with an extensive menu. Seafood as could be expected was on the menu and was very fresh and delicious! Staff were very relaxed and welcoming. Our stay was very enjoyable.
.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Latin Room which overlooks the harbour ! Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenInverloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

I had he impression of an absent management milking a poorly invested business. In a ten-hotel tour of the SW, this was the outstanding poor-value night. The staff are all trying to do their best, with patience and natural charm, but come on guys, invest in your people! Give them a helping hand!

The standard of fixtures and fittings is truly appalling. The place has been put together from a local DIY store. Nowhere even to put a sponge-bag in the bathroom. On the floor?

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.1 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
404 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
4.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
234 reviews
6.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,276 reviews
5.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old School Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old School Hotel

Property: Old School Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Port Isaac PL29 3RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old School Hotel in Port Isaac offers various accommodation from singles to family rooms, all en-suite. The hotel provides free wireless internet access and offers hotel residents free onsite car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old School Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old School
Old School Port Isaac
Old School Hotel Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing