We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs a little TLC”
Review of The Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Slipway
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a "three nights for the price of two" break before Easter and combined with the fact hat the restaurant accepts a "Tastecard", which effectively halves the price of the meals, it was excellent value for money. Good food, friendly staff and a superb location, which improves when the day trippers and the rowdy locals drinking under the outside awning, all leave. The only negative points were the somewhat tired decor and furnishings, and the scruffy breakfast area, with an ironing board, washing basket and general mess all making the area look tatty. Not luxurious but clean, reasonably comfortable, friendly and good value for money. One final point, drivers need to be fit because the car park is a fairly long way up hill from the hotel and it costs £4.70 per day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having stayed in Port Isaac many many times, we thought we would eat at the Slipway - last year was lovely. This year was sadly appalling - the food was horrible - the pasta was soggy & clearly not freshly cooked - if it was, the chef was asleep! The other dish was dry & burnt. We complained & were made to feel as though it was our fault - that was the most disappointing part. The manager / owner made no attempt to apologise or discuss the issue. They didn't charge us but we didn't eat more than 2 mouthfuls! It was a great shame - we will be at the Mote or elsewhere next year unless the sale goes through!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just returned from a second stay at the Slipway and a fabulous two days in Port Isaac. This hotel has everything you could ask for except parking. The rooms are large enough, the beds are comfortable, the food is excellent and the staff all go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect, especially Chris and Rachel. If I have one reservation it is that the facilities could do with a lick of paint and a minor refurb but as the hotel is up for sale, it is possible that the owner doesn't want to go to this expense. However, that said, don't let it put you off staying at this great friendly village hotel. This was our second visit and it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bracken3Haslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in "Room 16" - the suite overlooking the centre of the port - about as ideal a view as one can get. O - the port is getting very touristy during the day - but the day trippers all abandon the place in the evening and then the joy of the location and charm of the locals really shies. The hotel staff were sweet and helpful. It isn't luxury accommodation but it has all that one needs and it's the essence of charm.

Room Tip: Spend a few bob and go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amnylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This town has loads of character. We expected the Slipway to be quirky, but found it to be better than expected. Great view out over the harbour, small bathrooms but modern. Loads of history and character here. Besides the Slipway there is plenty of choice for dinner in Port Isaac. We went to the Motehouse for dinner which has the best ever caramel fudge creme brulee.

Breakfast at Slipway was great, staff attentive. You can drive down to unload but need to park up top. If you use the car park up top, bring coins as there is no card facility or change machine.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank raftus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The owners of this historic (1527) building have done a nice job of creating a pleasant bar, dining area and cozy hotel rooms upstairs. The location can't be beat - right across from Mrs. Tishell's Chemist Shop (Buttermilk Fudge) and steps away from the landing. We especially appreciated the friendly service by Rachel and Sue! The full breakfast was excellent, the Wi-Fi worked and the bed was very comfortable. We were glad for staying here in this wonderful little fishing village!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11 - the loft. It was cozy and had a wonderful view of the harbor. Not recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stopped here on a lovely sunny day and was very pleased with first impression of hotel. Loved having a side door entrance to hotel. Parking is at the top of the hill which is no problem as it's a lovely work back past all the well known places from Doc Martin. On a wet day this would be a bit of a problem but this applies to most accommodation in the town. My room number 4 had a nice view of sea. Dinner in the evening was very nice and well priced. Breakfast was very good and quality of ingredients very high.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harrycrumbthethird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Wadebridge
Travelodge Wadebridge
#2 of 4 in Wadebridge
395 reviews
4.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
969 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slipway

Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range: £73 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing