We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Cornish Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terrace Tea Rooms

Terrace Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Located above the village of Port Isaac, North Cornwall, the Terrace Tea Rooms offers a traditional tea room downstairs with a lovely outdoor decked terrace that makes the most of any fine weather, and upstairs there are three en suite bed and breakfast rooms, two of which have wonderful sea views. Ideally placed to explore coasts, moors and sightseeing in Cornwall, we aim to offer a friendly and informal atmosphere where you are free to come and go as you please and enjoy the time that you spend in Port Isaac.
Bushey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Cornish Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have been staying in Port Isaac for nearly 50 years and have watched countless tea shops come and go. Most have been good, some mediocre and some pretty poor.
Angelique's is without a doubt the best in the whole area!
The scones and splits are made daily, and are beautiful.
The tea is local ,as is the jam.
Angela and Stuart are the most attentive and welcoming hosts.
They also do a wonderful breakfast and fish platter in the evening.
The situation is lovely and the rooms and patio are a little haven to enjoy!
I could not recommend more highly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    31
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hosts, excellent value, awesome cream tea on a stand, Cornish tea (actually grown in Cornwall). Perfect.

Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yes.. Very Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

As a Cornish couple, we know a thing or two about cream teas - after an awful experience down the road at The Golden Lion, this experience was well needed!
The service was great - very enthusiastic, very comforting. The tea was wonderful, really tasty - as were the scones. Generous serving of tea and disregard Worzel's 1* review about the scones, they are adequately sized with a very generous topping of jam and cream!
This place would be our #1 place to visit in Port Isaac for a decent cream tea... Or just a cuppa!

Helpful?
1 Thank CornishCoupled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Went to pretty tea room in port Isaac. Wish I hadn't,the scone jam and cream was so small I thought it was a joke. the proprietor said she wasn't a chef and that's what size she thought scones were,I suggests she goes down the road to all the other establishments to see what a scone looks like. The tea cakes were burnt black it was disgusting as were two of the cups that had massive cracks in them. May look nice but what a rip off, better going somewhere else

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank worzel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What a gem of a find - wonderful food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just like reviewer Sam555_11, I think the other negative reviewers must have been somewhere different! Either that or they were already in a bad mood and took it out on the staff and owner.
You couldn't not be impressed at this wonderful quaint tea room. On arrival we were made very welcome, asked if we wanted to sit outside and as there were 4 of us it wouldn't be any trouble to put some mire chairs out.
We opted to sit inside and straight away 2 tables were pushed together. The beautiful crockery, cutlery, cake stands all laid out on the tables. We chose tea for 3 and we got it in a very large tea pot and as we all have it weak and black Angelique only put one teaspoon of tea in and it was just perfect. She only charged us for 1 person as we did have it so weak. Kept asking if we needed more water, very attentive.
One if us had the crab sandwiches with lovely salad, crisps and coleslaw, so fresh and tasty, another had the smoked salmon, again so tasty and she didn't skimp on the smoked salmon, just delicious. My husband asked for an ice cream sundae but when he started to discuss the options and Angelique told him she dies a lovely Eton mess he was hooked. It was large bad brimming with big raspberries, he said it was the best one he had ever tasted. My friends husband opted for the Fisherman's platter and what a platter. Big pile of crab, smoked salmon and prawns, with salad, crisps roll and butter and Marie rose sauce. He also said it was the best he had tasted, very fresh. When we all went to use the the facilities we saw all the home baked scones, buns etc coming out of the oven, all freshly baked in house. The home made Angel cake was very delicious, light, fluffy and very tasty and I was asked what type if cream I wanted or ice cream, nothing was too much trouble.
Again like Sam555_11 said I heard a couple asking for variations from the menu and nothing was a problem Angelique went out of her way to discuss the options and an order was sorted.
We were extremely pleased with all the staff, the food, the atmosphere, the beautiful china and it was all very relaxing.
One final word, I know it may be a problem not being able to pay by card but obviously it must cost them money from these card companies and there is a co-op just down the lane who has a cash machine.
All 4 of us, our friends are from Australia, can't praise thus lovely gem of a tea room enough. Well done Angeliques.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelliwellsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terrace Tea Rooms also viewed

Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to Terrace Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing