We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place to stay in Port Isaac”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of DOLPHIN HOUSE

Dolphin House viewed from the front patio garden and Dolphin St (Pedestrianised)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dolphin House viewed from the front patio garden and Dolphin St (Pedestrianised)
Front terrace Dolphin House from Dolphin Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Dolphin House viewed from the front patio garden and Dolphin St (Pedestrianised)
Front terrace
Dolphin House from Dolphin Street
Rear access gate
Rear garden
Rear garden
Rear Garden
Rear garden
Dolphin house front door
Dining room with access to the rear garden
Dining room
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen - access to the rear garden
Kitchen - access to the rear garden
Double bedroom with view over the garden
(continued..) double bedroom with view over the garden
Double Bedroom at the front of the property
(continued..) double Bedroom at the front of the property
(continued..) double Bedroom at the front of the property
Twin bedroom on 1st floor
(continued..) Twin bedroom on 1st floor
1st floor family bathroom
(continued..) 1st floor family bathroom
Twin bedroom 2nd floor
Twin bedroom 2nd floor
(continued..) twin bedroom 2nd floor
(continued..) twin bedroom 2nd floor
2nd floor bathroom
2nd floor shower room
(continued..) 2nd floor shower room
Port Isaac harbour, also known as the Platt, tides out - happens twice a day leaving rock pools for
Port Isaac harbour and the fishing boats
Port Isaac from Church Hill< dolphin House is in the middle
view from a balcony, well Golden Lion pub's actually,  21/6/13, nice place for longest day!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Port Isaac, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
EmmaandAm...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Port Isaac”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed here for my first visit to Cornwall in 2014 and re-booked this year.
It was once again, fantastic with highlights of the house being: Central location, beautiful gardens, lovely decor, bags of space and comfortable sofas and beds.
The garage is snug but I managed to get my Range Rover Evoque in there no problem.
I will not hesitate in booking Dolphin Hoise again next year :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private garden
Liked least: Up hill walk to bus stop!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
Thank you. Im delighted you enjoyed Dolphin House again this year. Interesting and valued comments, pleased you could get your car in the garage, it is tight but Ive done it for years in large and small cars - even If you dont fancy the narrow roads down into and around the lower village then parking at the "top" is easy and cheap and just a short walk down to DH and you can always drive down, drop your luggage by the back door and park on one of the top car parks if the garage looks a little tight for you to park and get out of your car. Im a big blike and manage it but understand if its a little awkward for some drivers.IT ALL ADDS TO THE CHARM OF DOLPHIN HOUSE, AND AS YOU MENTION ITS LOCATION IS AWESOME. Glad you liked the decorations and new beds.
I hope you and your family & friends (and well behaved doggy) return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike f
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This house needs money spending on it”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house is run down. We found: door handle falling off bathroom door, toilet seats not fitted, paint peeling off walls, light bulbs not working, sofas in need of replacement (unlike an earlier review which suggested they fitted in with the house - they are simply SHABBY, not shabby-chic), electric cables and extension leads throughout, poor quality curtains and awful mattresses (one was changed while we were there due to complaints from previous visitors - now just the rest to replace, and the garden nor kept well
Finally, if you have anything more than a small car, you will NOT be able to park in the garage - it says you can get a Landcruiser in there - well we have an X5 and it went in with 1 inch to spare on each side - only problem, no way to get out!! This should be knocked down and a useable parking space created..

It could be a really nice house - with £10,000 spending on it. Right now it compares most unfavourably with other properties available in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Overall condition of house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Im sorry you didnt enjoy Dolphin House and there were some niggles. I have been and inspected the property and some minor decorations will be carried out. The bathroom door was requested to be repaired as I knew of the problem, but the repairman simply forgot and I didnt find out until you and another guest complained. I am pleased that I can advise that the next guests after you thoroughly enjoyed their stay.
With regards the double rooms, although only one received complaint with regards the mattress, both have now been changed to kings.
The garage is tight, I advise I can get my Landcruiser in, which I do regularly. I feel as most guests do that the gardens are lovely.
I think Dolphin House is a very cosy house, it has been popular for years, with many guests rebooking each year, one family for approx 12 years now. It is unfortunate that it didnt meet with your expectations and Im very sorry you didnt have the holiday you were hoping for,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden
Liked least: Noisy seagulls
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you. Im pleased you enjoyed both Port Isaac and Dolphin House, I hope you book again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glenbanju...
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stay, great position.”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Book it, book it, book it ,fabulous position , everything you could want for a special holiday.
And you really can get your up Middle Road.
As real estate people say, location, location , location.
Thanks for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your review. Im sorry you are annonymous but Im glad tou had a great time, and that the circa C16th "roads" and infrastructure of Port Isaac didnt prove too difficult! I hope you return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra N
Shirehampton, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely property in beautiful location”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This 5 bed house was built in 1722! The stairs and floors,walls etc have a quirky slant to them that goes with a property nearly 300 years old. Lots of nooks and crannies to explore. The house has a walled back garden which the small children loved to play in. Plenty of bathrooms and wc's so if one of them was being used there was always another one. The only negative thing I would say was that for what is quite a high end price for a property, the furniture was a little bit shabby. Otherwise, perfect for the large family or group of friends.
Be prepared to do lots of uphill walking, great for the thighs!..Oh, very tight corners and extremely narrow roads to get to property too!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no lights or hand rail on steps at rear of property.Quite dangerous.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Dolphin House. Im glad you had an almost perfect time, and the house was large enough for your party, and particularly that you mention the children loved playing in the walled garden. Im sorry you thought some of the furniture a little shabby, we think the items fit well with a 300 year old house which we tey to keep up to date but aim for comfortable and cosy, cottage feel but with modern equipment. It is a difficult balance to hit. We are about to swap a few items so maybe theyll include the ones you thought not quite up to the mark. I hope you return, theres always a discount for return guests somplease advise when enquiring - some guests have returned for 15 years+
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D1354HSJo...
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“An enjoyable place for a large family stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

There is plenty of space in the house and David Brown has ensured that just about everything has been supplied for all ages to stay. The place was clean and tidy. The only problem we had was access with a large car and a specific map of the way in would be useful. There is only parking for one car but we knew about this beforehand .
That aside we had a great time in a suitably equipt family home

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Thanks so much, Im really glad you had an enjoyable time and Dolphin House and you consider I provide everything that is required. Good idea on map I will do, I usually do provide directions and you have to be wary of older sat navs on some of the narrowest roads in Cornwall. Hope you consider another family holiday at DH. Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaandAm...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a great central location in Port Isaac”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 days in June and can't wait to go back. It's a great base for exploring north cornwall as well as being a lovely home with everything you can think of, including a BBQ for those sunny Cornish days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Really glad you enjoyed it, booking for rest of year and next already so get back to me!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing