We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect way to spend our honeymoon”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Looking out to sea (not from property) nearby
From the terrace across to Doc Martins House
2 twin rooms upstairs sharing ensuite
Large south facing  terrace with beautiful views.
Dining outside overlooking the green lush valley
Port Isaac Harbour
Traditional harbour at Port Isaac - just a stroll down the hill from Bay View
Traditional front - off street parking for 4 cars
Egyptian cotton bed linen on all beds
Modern bathroom - upstairs ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Port Isaac, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paige S
1 review
“Perfect way to spend our honeymoon”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed at bay view for two weeks as our honeymoon, the house is beautiful and so spacious with absolutely beautiful views!
We had our nearly two year old daughter with us and the house is toddler proof so managed the steps into the lounge area and kitchen area just fine.
While down here we have been all over Cornwall exploring and have had a brilliant time doing so. We went out in Port Isaac twice and the food at the mote and the golden lion was out standing and it is such a lovely walk to do!
We did quite a few meals at bay view as it would seem silly not to use the kitchen and with the farm shop being near for great produce!
A beautiful house in a beautiful location with stunning views!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for Bay View. We're so delighted that you had such a fun memorable honeymoon in such a wonderful part of Cornwall. It sounds as though the whole family enjoyed themselves, young and older!!
Kind regards, The Cornish Seaview Cottages Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a family gathering overlooking the bay”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This place is perfectly situated at the top of New Road looking out over the valley and with sea views. The house is very comfortable to stay in and well equipped and it's great that it takes two dogs so it meant we could bring our spaniels with us.
The Co-Op is just over the road which is very convenient and it's just a short walk into town. We were lucky enough to see Martin Clunes as they were filming Doc Martin at the time. Great coastal walks and plenty of pubs and bars in town. Port Isaac is such a friendly place to visit with tonnes of character. I would highly recommend this accommodation!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for taking the time to review Bay View. We're so pleased it met with everyone's expectations and what a stroke of luck bumping in our famous 'Doc Martin'! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards, The Cornish Seaview Cottages Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twistedpr...
Rochester
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I had spent some time researching properties which could accommodate a larger family group, as we were travelling as an extended family group of 9.
I count myself extremely fortunate to have discovered Bay View, as it turned out to be one of the best places I have stayed in Cornwall.
Bay view ticked all the boxes in terms of accommodation- with 5 bedrooms (2 doubles and 3 twins sleeping up to 10') with sea views and close to the harbour in Port Isaac.
I was expecting a lot to have been shoehorned into a small space, but Bay View was amazingly roomy, with three large bedrooms downstairs, two smaller upstairs, a large lounge/diner, spacious kitchen, and large decking with great views across the valley and out to sea. The beds were really comfortable, all the furnishings were to a good standard, and the bathrooms were large and well appointed.
There was more than enough space for all of us, when relaxing or dining (either in the dining area or on the decking)
Then there is the added bonus of the views, both from the back and side of the building. We ennjoyed many wonderful sunsets, and loved to see the sea from different angles.
An added bonus for any Doc Martin fans - you can see his house from the decking!
One word of warning for the less able - Port Isaac is very hilly, and the walk up from the village pub was very steep and challenging (and not only after a couple of pints!)
Also for anyone wishing to attempt the Port Isaac to Port Quin coastal walk - it is very challenging, with hundreds of steps (148 in one place) and steep climbs, so for the fitter traveller only. Having said that, the first part of the walk before the Steps affords a stunning view along the coast which is worth the effort.
Bay View comes highly recommended and everyone in our party agreed we wanted to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
What a review!! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Bay View. We're so glad you had such a wonderful holiday and found the property to be to your liking. We'd love to welcome you back anytime!

The Team at Cornish Seaview Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrychok
1 review
“Lovely views with great location”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beautiful location and adequate facilities. I do feel it should be noted that the property is not ideal for young children or disabled. Due to huge step in kitchen which has no sign or tap on it to show we had on 2 occasions people trip and fall. The steps coming down in the dining area protrude out and on numerous occasions people stubbed their toes and fell. The king-size bed in one of the rooms has a double matress on it so when making bed you could not see the gap and on numerous occasions people walked into the part where the gap is. People left with numerous bruises. Apart from that all was well.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
"We're so glad to hear you had enjoyed your stay at Bayview in Port Isaac, despite the bruises! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our guests feedback is important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back next year! Kind Regards The Team at Cornish Seaview Cottages"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris.tra...
North Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Port Isaac house for a family”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The location was great - above the village so good access and parking but only a short 10 min walk down the hill into the cove. The kitchen, dining and living room were great and it had a fantastic lush green view across to the other side of the harbour (and Doc Martin's Surgery). Great sunsets too. The only negative was a rather poor mattress (thin) on a wood slat bed frame on the downstairs king bed bedroom. Not comfortable and could have been better. Otherwise no complaints. Really good rental.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
We're delighted that you enjoyed Bay View and the local area. Many thanks for your positive and constructive feedback, we really appreciate it and will address the situation with regards to the mattress. We look forward to seeing you on a Cornish Seaview Cottages break again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim k
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house in great location”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I stayed with a group of 8 ladies for a weekend get together, Bay View was a perfect house for us, with plenty of bedrooms and a large, airy and comfortable lounge/diner/kitchen space. The decking outside was perfect if the weather was nice and plenty of private parking was a bonus. We had typical Cornish winter weather, rain, winds and storms but the house was lovely and warm and cosy. The location was perfect, opposite the co op for supplies and a 5 minute walk down to Port Gaverne or down into Port Issac. Bay View exceeded our expectations and a welcome park was an unexpected bonus. We would definitely stay here again if we want another Port Issac break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Bay View. We are really pleased you had such a good experience, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back! Kind regards, the team at Cornish Seaview Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHT1975
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You'll keep coming back!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The property is wonderfully spacious, even when full. Enjoyed by the whole family from youngster to grandparents. As for the views...you'll have to go to fully appreciate those.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your kind words. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and found the property spacious for your needs. Kind regards, the team at Cornish Seaview Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing