We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful place”
Review of The Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Isaac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Port Isaac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awful place”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband booked a surprise trip for me in October 2013 as im a fan of Doc Martin. As we drove past the hotel my heart sank, it was shabby and looked unkempt. on entering the hotel we were met with the most overwhelming smell of DOG. (i love dogs).When shown up to the room (the best in the hotel my husband was told ROOM 11). On enetering it , we were met with an ice cold blast, the room was freezing. On looking closer we found that two of the walls were very wet from the ceiling to half way down. It was not fit to stay in.we were told they had , had a problem. We stated is was not fit for purpose and walked out. My husband had already paid £148 for the night. On a conversation that we had later we were offered a 50% refund wich my husband did take, but we should have insisted a full refund was the only option.
The proprieter states it was fit for purpose.
The place is very over priced and in my opinion is cashing in on Doc Martin .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JCC3658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul w, Owner at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review , yes we had a problem in that room a few days earlier a pipe in the wall had developed a small leak ,on the day you arrived this had been resolved and the walls were not wet and damp as you stated ,the paper had been replaced and painted the day before ,the comments about the hotel looking shabby outside and the smell of dog is your opinion and not that of the thousands of happy customers ,you forgot to mention the email sent demanding compensation or you would put on a nasty review ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    81
    26
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
220
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife an I spent 2 wonderful evenings at the Hotel. We found Paul and Gino excellent hosts and the village was breathtaking. The room had ocean views, was very clean and brealfast was delightful. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

my wife and I stayed here for two nights and it was absolutely fabulous we had room 5 and the view was so beautiful the room was excellent the bed so comfy and the en suite perfect we will definitely return and wonder whether people who complained on here stayed at the same place as us thank you for a relaxing time

Room Tip: room 5 has an exquisite view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappy063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Seems that nearly everyone is a Pilgrim in Port Isaac, But if you happen to be clueless and have no idea what the wee van with "Large Restaurant" painted on it means in the parking lot.... you will still enjoy a short stay here. We enjoyed room #6, despite its diminutive size. The balcony afforded wonderful views of the Cornwall coast.

Location is superb for the "Telly Pilgrims". A short walk downhill to the harbor puts one right in the familiar scenes of of the popular soap opera. Tip: be sure walk back to the Hotel via the coastal path to the public car park across the street.

The breakfast was one of the best "fry-ups" we have experienced in our several trips to the UK. Gino is a very friendly host, so is his "manager", Paul and the rest of the folks here. Nice folks!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twocanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Bay Hotel for the weekend 19th Oct - 21st Oct 2013, It was our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we wanted to visit Port Isaac for its stunning landscapes. When booking the weekend we were told they have a resident Great Dane called Gino who although is a large Dog had a lovely nature and not too imposing. We were shown to our room which had a balcony overlooking the Bay, it was awesome !, The room was large, clean with lovely cotton bedding, Large fluffy towels,and the Bed extremely comfortable. The en-suite was also large with a spa bath and a shower.

Breakfast was extremely tasty, with a variety of cereals, fresh orange, fresh fruit, Full English or vegetarian option if necessary. The staff were polite and courteous. Parking was ample around the side of the Hotel. I noted a comment from a fellow boarder who had said the parking was terrible and they were unable to park their hire car as the car park was too small, we managed to park and were driving a transit van so the comment was totally untrue, I think perhaps someone may need a few refresher diving lessons !

The Hotel also did not smell of damp as previously said, it is an old building right by the sea, it is not going to be pristine, perhaps they were expecting the Hilton ! It is quirky and interesting a real 'Old England' typical building lovely !

I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to Friends and Family we had a brilliant time there and we will be going back !!

Room Tip: Make sure you have good walking shoes, also it is very hilly so be prepared ! Rooms with balconies o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keilou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were made so welcome by Paul & Gino the ( Great Dane ), nothing was any trouble even down to our massive breakfasts. Very clean throughout, everything in our room worked as it should, one of the better guest houses we have stayed in and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family & friends, also friendly and efficient staff. Once again thank you Paul.

Room Tip: Visit the Bay Hotels web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were disappointed by this "hotel." The greeting as we entered the front door and rang was by a huge dog (Gino) and the apparent owner coming down the stairs - there is no check-in desk. No words were spoken until we asked if we could check into the hotel, not knowing if this was the proprietor or not. Apparently it was and we got a key and shown to the room, which seemed much smaller than the pictures on the web site, but these things happen. We had a room with a balcony overlooking a car park (and thereafter the ocean), but it was very small with a small double bed. The bathroom was OK but distinct signs of mildew on the tiles. Later we experienced a storm in the night and the ceiling leaked dripping water onto the bedside table - the owner said he would take care of this but not sure if this happened or not.

Breakfast was good, especially when served by a cheerful young lady, although I believe this was her last week. One morning, when she was not there, we were greeted by the owner saying he was about the ring a bell upstairs because it was late (9:15) and breakfast is only served between 8:30 and 9:30 am. Several others appeared after us, so we presume this was directed at everyone - anyway, not very conducive to a relaxing start to the day.

The hotel listed a restaurant but really this was just a breakfast room as there were notices each day saying the "restaurant" was closed. Also, there is no bar, and there is just some 1930's music playing every evening in a deserted lounge with wartime memorabilia scattered around.

As a B&B this place worked OK, and others apparently had better experiences. It seems to trade a lot on the name of Doc Martin and the fact that some filming was done in the building or outside. There is a private car park but because we had a large rental car it was very difficult to park there, so we ended up paying 5 pounds a night at the public car park across the street, rather than pay for damage to a rental car.

If we returned to this area, which is very beautiful and I have spent many years there in the past, we would stay somewhere else. In addition the hotel was way overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianXRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul w, Owner at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Well What can we say ,we have been expecting this review ,first of all can we point out we are listed on trip advisor and it clearly states on our Webb site that we are a guest house ,the leak you pointed out was due to a pipe from the bedroom above and even though it was Sunday a plumber arrived within 30 minutes and rectified the problem ,I cannot understand your comment about the car park as other guests bring large 4x4s and vans on and off the car park with no problem ,also the village car park opposite does not charge between 4 pm and 9 am so I don’t understand how you paid £5 per night ?,you forgot to mention that you came in drunk most nights and can be seen quite clearly on the security cameras putting derogatory comments into the guest book and not putting any name or address in .this I would expect from young children ,I’m sorry you did not enjoy your stay here, when you left
You were asked if everything was ok and you replied that it was, and the food was excellent. For then to depart and leave this review is beyond me,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
1.9 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.2 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
6.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 1 The Terrace, Port Isaac PL29 3SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing