We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate hospitality”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Port Isaac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First rate hospitality”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Paul and Rebecca are such excellent hosts. I felt like I was totally catered to. Paul and the staff really helped me out parking the car because driving, and especially parking, anywhere in Port Issac is a challenge. I was happy to leave the key with them and let them take care of it lest I damage someone else's vehicle or my own.

Room Tip: If you are more than one person, you WILL need a larger room. Our first night, we had to stay in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oracle306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    81
    26
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
220
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were so thrilled to find a room to rest up for a couple of days in this delightful hotel sitting high up on the cliff overlooking the sea and part of the village of Port Isaac. What a gem in the crown of Port Isaac. The host welcomed us and although we couldn't get the same room for a couple of nights, he and his staff were very helpful in assisting us with the move from one room to the other, the following morning. When we returned from our sight seeing in the afternoon, our luggage was kindly transported to our new room overlooking the sea. Breakfast was delightful and a lovely choice of food was on offer freshly made and seconds on offer if required. The rooms were clean and restful but the spring mattresses of both beds were what I would say "old" and definitely needed updating - otherwise, it was a delightful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneErena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Me and my wife stayed for 3 nights in November. Having seen Doc Martin and loving Cornwall it seemed silly not to stay at Port Isaac. We choose The Bay Hotel and Paul the owner welcomed us the first night as we arrived very late and immediately made us feel very welcome. This was the case all through our stay and I can genuinely say that it was a pleasure to stay there, we will without fail book again. We left feeling sad that we could not have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobsandSues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BATH
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Bay Hotel was our first stop and an ideal start for our a two week tour of Cornwall. The rooms were compact but clean, smart without pretension and the beds were a traveller's dream. Good views, quiet but very convenient location and enjoyable walk into town. Gino was sweet (and smell-free). Paul's quite the host. The parking lot was a bit of a challenge, but the good news is that the hotel has one since parking is at a premium in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinnebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband booked a surprise trip for me in October 2013 as im a fan of Doc Martin. As we drove past the hotel my heart sank, it was shabby and looked unkempt. on entering the hotel we were met with the most overwhelming smell of DOG. (i love dogs).When shown up to the room (the best in the hotel my husband was told ROOM 11). On enetering it , we were met with an ice cold blast, the room was freezing. On looking closer we found that two of the walls were very wet from the ceiling to half way down. It was not fit to stay in.we were told they had , had a problem. We stated is was not fit for purpose and walked out. My husband had already paid £148 for the night. On a conversation that we had later we were offered a 50% refund wich my husband did take, but we should have insisted a full refund was the only option.
The proprieter states it was fit for purpose.
The place is very over priced and in my opinion is cashing in on Doc Martin .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JCC3658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul w, Owner at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review , yes we had a problem in that room a few days earlier a pipe in the wall had developed a small leak ,on the day you arrived this had been resolved and the walls were not wet and damp as you stated ,the paper had been replaced and painted the day before ,the comments about the hotel looking shabby outside and the smell of dog is your opinion and not that of the thousands of happy customers ,you forgot to mention the email sent demanding compensation or you would put on a nasty review ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife an I spent 2 wonderful evenings at the Hotel. We found Paul and Gino excellent hosts and the village was breathtaking. The room had ocean views, was very clean and brealfast was delightful. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

my wife and I stayed here for two nights and it was absolutely fabulous we had room 5 and the view was so beautiful the room was excellent the bed so comfy and the en suite perfect we will definitely return and wonder whether people who complained on here stayed at the same place as us thank you for a relaxing time

Room Tip: room 5 has an exquisite view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappy063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
1.0 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.2 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
394 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
416 reviews
4.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 1 The Terrace, Port Isaac PL29 3SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing