We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We were only able to stay one night but look forward to returning to the Longcross Hotel for longer. Its location is fabulous - so quiet with a wonderful view from its terrace. Every member of staff was really attentive and contributed to a most enjoyable stay at this quiet retreat. We also enjoyed dinner in the restaurant with reasonably priced wines - we cannot fault the Longcross Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandPTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    94
    53
    28
    9
See reviews for
83
205
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

This place is a real gem - every single member of staff was friendly, extremely helpful and couldn't have done their job better. The food was delicious (adult menu memorably so), the location stunning and our whole stay was thoroughly enjoyable.
Due to our family requirements (various members arriving on different dates) we stayed in several rooms, all beautifully clean, peaceful and comfortable (nothing flash, just comfortable, bright and clean).
The gardens are beautiful and great fun for the children to explore (there is a big pond in the middle of the gated Victorian garden area with appropriate warnings/supervision required).
Thank you to everyone at The Longcross for showing Britain how vacation hotels should be.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank novicereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallow,co.waterford
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

My husband and I spent 3 days in this lovely spot. we felt pampered and cared for .
Our room was elegant and comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent and you could be both Gourmet and Gourmand for the evening meal. Friendly and welcoming staff, headed by Dan from Newcastle -on -Tyne, Chris and his Girlfriend from Swansea, and our charming local breakfast lady.
Thank you all Breeda and Denis Geary

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breeda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

From the minute we arrived at the hotel we were given nothing but fantastic service. We arrived and were kindly upgraded to one of the family suites. Having a young baby would have made it difficult for us to eat in the restaurant but the staff made sure our meals were bought to the room. We can honestly say during our two day stay nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billy2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We had wanted to visit Port Isaac on our travels through the UK and tried to get a B&B in the village itself. We probably waited to long to book something and by the time we tried most things were sold out. But the universe has a way of taking care of us, and we found the Longcross, and what a good thing! It is tucked away in Trelights, just a stone's throw from Port Isaac. A gorgeous place surrounded by lovely gardens. The B&B itself is stunning with a splash of modern mingled with traditional. We were upgraded to a superior room with a king-size 4-poster bed. The staff was incredibly helpful with everything from making sure we had internet to giving us recommendations for food, and sightseeing. Upon visiting Port Isaac and seeing the accomodatons, we were thrilled that we had found the Longcross instead and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beyondvanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Just returned from this hotel in Cornwall where our stay was relaxing and comfortable. The views from the hotel are stunning and only a short walk into Port Isaac through lovely countryside. We couldn't fault the staff as they were all excellent. We were upgraded into a more superior room as we had visited the hotel the previous year and were more than pleased as we had a sitting room, fridge etc. I would recommend this hotel as it is so peaceful where it is situated. Food is excellent and cleanliness of the highest standard.

Room Tip: Use the Longross Hotel web site to view the rooms
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thomsons47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We were delighted that our dog was accepted. The cost was just right. The views from the hotel are stunning. The bed was so comfortable and 6ft, bliss. Good breakfasts and lovely dinners. All the staff charming and friendly and I hope we will make a return visit sometime soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountains186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
7.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longcross Hotel & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Property: The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Address: Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longcross Hotel & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful converted Victorian residence, now s stunning boutique hotel with 3 acres of gardens overlooking port Isaac Bay where Doc Martin is filmed starring martin Clunes in the fictional village of Portwenn. Overlooks some 30 miles of coastline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Longcross Hotel & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longcross Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Long Cross
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing