We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in North Cornwall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We would recommend Longcross Hotel and Gardens as a peaceful retreat if you are usually used to a busy lifestyle. A beautiful location and we highly recommend it to our friends. All staff were friendly and helpful and provided excellent service. Room and bathroom were clean and very comfortable.Hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miryam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here on the 14 September and can honestly not speak highly enough of this venue. Everything was perfect! All staff worked incredibly hard to deliver our perfect day. Food was fantastic, every loved it! Would highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vjc771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is the first time I've written a review on Trip Advisor but felt that I wanted to following a mouthwatering meal that our party of three enjoyed on 9th September 2013. Service was very attentive and stunning location. The chef produced outstanding food and each mouthful was full of flavour. We will certainly be returning and will recommend the restaurant to family and friends. With winter nearing the view from the restaurant would make stunning location for winter storm watching whilst enjoying sunday lunch!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Excellent service from very attentive staff. Nothing was to much trouble. The chef is to be congratulated for very good food choice and delicious to taste.

We stayed in the Coach House, set apart from the main hotel. Minus points here - Lack of mirror over bathroom hand basin. Electrics exposed on the landing. Lounge furniture (leather) needs replacing. Door handle to bathroom not fixed properly, door handle to lounge missing altogether.

Overall a pleasant stay, with excellent sea views from the terrace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jh11par
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Arrived for our two night stay after a long drive down from London to find nobody on duty at the reception desk. We wandered through to the bar and found a barman who begrudgingly checked us in and gave us vague directions to our room that was situated at the top of the stairs on the first floor. There was no offer of assistance with our bags and no other information or advice provided. We were just left to get on with it by ourselves.
When we found our room, we were happy to discover that is was a generously proportioned room with a large four poster bed, which proved over our stay, to be very comfortable. The room had a very large set of windows overlooking the car park at the front of the hotel. Unfortunately there was no view to the sea. The room's bathroom was a long narrow affair and was displaying signs of needing some refurbishment. There were tea and coffee making facilities provided in the room and there was also free wifi (somewhat slow and unreliable) available in the room and throughout the hotel.
The hotel has a large and pleasant dining room at the rear of the main building with wall to ceiling windows providing views across the attached deck to the coastline and sea. We dined in the dining room on the second night of our stay and had a pleasant and reasonably priced meal. We particularly enjoyed the opportunity to have our coffee and after meal drink at a comfortable table on the deck. From there, we were able to take in the beautiful views at sunset. Located just beyond the deck are the beautiful Victorian styled gardens. These are accessed via a security code gate and are well worth a visit. The code for the gate is provided to hotel guests amongst the printed information in your room. The gardens are well worth a visit.
The highlights of our stay were undoubtedly our two visits to the dedicated breakfast room on each morning of our stay. The lady in charge of the breakfast room was a real treasure. She made us feel really welcome on each of our visits and she really cared about attending to our every need. She was also a fount of knowledge about places of interest and things to do, in the region. The quality and variety of food available for consumption for breakfast was also very good. It is a real shame that some of the other members of the hotel staff had not, over time learnt some lessons about service and hospitality, from the breakfast lady.
The main purpose of our visit to this part of Cornwall was to see the village of Port Isaac, where the television series Doc Martin is made. The hotel is located several kilometres from Port Isaac by road and the roads are very narrow lane-ways bordered by tall hedges. As car parking is very limited in the village, we decided to walk down to the village cross-country, using the printed directions provided by the hotel. Unfortunately we found the directions to be somewhat confusing and were on the verge of getting lost until we stumbled across some fellow tourists who gave us clear and precise directions, on how to get to the village. After crossing several cow pastures inhabited by cows and bulls and then descending down a steep and slippery cliff path, we eventually found our way to the village. The moral of the story is that if a hotel is going to provide its guests with tourist information, the information needs to be clear and accurate.
When it came time for us to leave the hotel, there again was a lack of staff at the reception desk. The lovely breakfast lady phoned the manager and asked him to come and check us out. He did not turn up for whatever reason and in the end the breakfast lady checked us out and sent us on our way with friendly words of farewell and wishes for a safe journey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigHugh51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is OK but overpriced for what it is - an ageing hotel in need of an overhaul. The service was fine but nothing special. I had a large bedroom and bathroom with nice views; but my mattress felt too soft and rather cheap. My friends were less impressed with their rooms: one bathroom had mould in it, another had a bed had a spider in it. On the plus side, it has a Victorian garden and a terrace with great views of the sunset. I requested quiet rooms and they gave us rooms on the top floor which were pretty quiet - I did appreciate this as a lot of hotels don't seem to be able to manage this. The food in the restaurant was quite nice but nothing that memorable. I would have been happier with our stay if they'd charged a fair rate for what they offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We found the Longcross Hotel by googling 'dog friendly hotels in Cornwall'. It was our first choice - and turned out to be our best choice. Dogs are allowed in the bedrooms, the bar area and terrace - which suited us admirably. Our ground floor room was ideal, the breakfast and dinner excellent. But best of all, and what made our four-night stay so memorable, were the staff - who could not have been more friendly and efficient. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
426 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
434 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
544 reviews
7.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,335 reviews
5.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longcross Hotel & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Address: Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range: £67 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longcross Hotel & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful converted Victorian residence, now s stunning boutique hotel with 3 acres of gardens overlooking port Isaac Bay where Doc Martin is filmed starring martin Clunes in the fictional village of Portwenn. Overlooks some 30 miles of coastline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Longcross Hotel & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longcross Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Long Cross
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing