We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic mini break very friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We've just returned home from a fantastic mini break staying at the Longcross Hotel. The owners and staff couldn't do enough for us , we arrived to a lovely welcome from the manager Zoe and she showed us to our upgraded room and wow we were not disappointed there was a huge bed reclining chairs , flat screen tv , tea & coffee and a beautiful wet room we also had our breakfast delivered to our room. There was also no problem with bringing our dog and was allowed to bring her into the bar area where we had our meals.
The meals were very tasty and a reasonable price and cooked my a lovely chef whether you wanted a snack or a full meal nothing was too much trouble.
We can't wait to go back just before we left we were shown around all the rooms and they were all stunning with stunning views .

Room Tip: All rooms very family friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladytoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family overnight 25/10 & we would quickly book up again.

My husband had a business meeting near by so I booked in at reception with luggage & a tired toddler. First impressions really do count as I walked in through the beautiful front door in to the Victorian tiled reception, I was very impressed. The warm temperature was very welcoming considering the chill outside.

The lady on reception helped immediately with my bags, she was very personable & helpful.

Our room was on the top floor with a beautiful sea view over rolling (and unspoilt) countryside. The room was very pretty & cosy with Cath kidston type touches. The bed was huge & very comfortable. The cot was Mothercare branded, perfect condition (this isn't the case in all hotels!)

Bathroom was spacious as was the bedroom & both were immaculate.

Location wise the hotel is in a beautiful & unspoilt rural location (you can hear a pin drop) about 3 mins drive from Port Isaac, room 10 has a perfect sea view.

Food! Having been lucky enough to eat in some excellent restaurants we can honestly say that this had to be one of the finest meals either of us have eaten. My husband ordered the scallop starter & 1/2 lobster main, both were absolutely delicious, & I could hear other diners saying the exact same. Top marks for style / presentation & taste...beautiful. My fish cake was mouth watering, and something else we both commented on-all of our food was piping hot & tasted so fresh. We both agreed that if we lived closer we would eat here regularly. It is worth mentioning also, the restaurant staff are very attentive & professional.

Again breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice of fresh food, served piping hot.

We will book again when we next visit, I think that says it all really.



  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seashimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the end of September, the room was very comfortable and clean except for the cobwebs in the corner of the room, not recent arrived as there was dust on them. Breakfast was nice I asked for some beans instead of mushrooms and they were very accommodating about it, staff very friendly and helpful. We would recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbyandMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Ten of us ate here on a quiet night with hardly anyone else in the restaurant, almost without exception the food was overcooked, not to death, but just enough to make it a poor eating experience, service was anonymous like the food, so have drink enjoy the wonderous views but let the chef practice on someone else

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Glosexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We returned to this Hotel after 32 years and found it had not lost any of it's original charm. Typically Victorian House tastefully converted to provide the utmost comfort with many original features. The views are fantastic and the Victorian gardens alone worth a visit. The resident Chef deserves a special mention for his culinary masterpieces, try the ' proper fish pie' you will not find a better anywhere and very reasonably priced .The breakfast and warmth of the early morning staff will start your day off with a smile. In fact all of the staff were welcoming and friendly, the bedrooms have plenty of character with fantastic views and the public areas were most inviting and comfortable. The location strategically good for exploring this unique part of Cornwall including Port Issac ( infamous as the backdrop for TV's Dr. Martin), Port Quin, and Polzeath as well as the Cornish Coast path. What a gem of a Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the South offer panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csupt1573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My nerves were all but shattered from driving along the narrow lanes to Port Quin and on to Port Isaac so we stopped here for a soothing ale and a bit to eat. We sat out on the deck enjoying the autumn sunshine and country/sea views whilst enjoying a cheese platter. We had a look at the ground floor reception rooms and found a really lovely, character-filled building which I would just love to stay in. Next time. Plenty of parking too which is a problem when staying in many of the small fishing villages in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PollardHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I selected this hotel from tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed.
We have a small guest house near to Alton Towers so we appreciate how hard working and organised the team have to be to maintain standards. Well done Longcross, Staff were pleasant and helpful, room was spotless, attention to detail and quality of fittings are excellent.
Breakfast and our evening meal were lovely.
We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
432 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
535 reviews
5.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,498 reviews
7.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longcross Hotel & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Address: Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range: £80 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longcross Hotel & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful converted Victorian residence, now s stunning boutique hotel with 3 acres of gardens overlooking port Isaac Bay where Doc Martin is filmed starring martin Clunes in the fictional village of Portwenn. Overlooks some 30 miles of coastline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Longcross Hotel & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longcross Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Long Cross
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing