We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“silver wedding celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

lovely room no sea view but beautiful overlooking the entrance.bed really comfy room posh and clean. views from terrace restaurant outstanding over fields .and coast...thanks for making our silver wedding celebration special tranquil setting chillout atmosphere close to port issac can walk there.

Room Tip: room 1 lovely but no sea view.very happy with huge comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berttreacle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Last week we stayed one night at Longcross, while traveling Cornwall with Dacey's Cornish Tours. The hotel has a picturesque setting, with a view of Port Isaac, the coastline and the rolling countryside. They have a beautiful private garden. We had a room on the third floor with a view of the sea. The room was large and bathroom recently updated. There were no lifts, but the staff was happy to help us with our luggage. We would love to return to this hotel for a longer stay. Loved the town of Port Isaac, as we are Doc Martin fans.

Room Tip: There were 14 of us in our group. I don't know if there is a bad room, as we were all pleased...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

With a terrace commanding views across farmland to the rugged coast and sea, and several bedrooms with similar views, it would take a lot of effort by the hotel's management to spoil anyone's stay, especially if the weather was as brilliant as we experienced. The bedroom was spotless, obviously recently re-decorated and up-graded. Breakfast was excellent, especially the "full Cornish". An evening drink on the terrace was the highlight, looking out along the coast as the sun went down. The restaurant food was pleasant but not memorable (after all, the management do describe the hotel as the local pub as well). The Victorian garden is not going to compete with the best in Cornwall but it's an interesting example of how plant life can defy the Atlantic storms. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, a good place to stay while exploring the area and walking the coast.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the hotel's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hengist002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at The Longcross for 2 nights for my daughter's wedding and were delighted with every aspect of it. The stunning location, the characterful building with its amazing Victorian gardens, the charming and helpful staff, the comfortable and tranquil accomodation, excellent food and generally relaxed and friendly atmosphere all contributed to an extraordinarily special weekend. Thank you so much to Jane, Zoe and all the staff who made it so!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonAnnie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Longcross is in a wonderful location away from the busy roads of Port Isaac itself. There is a steep walk down narrow country lanes into Port Isaac. Panoramic views over Port Isaac and as far as Tintagel in one direction and towards Padstow the other way from the dining room and terrace.
The Victorian hotel has lots of character in the entrance area and bar.
Staff were all helpful and service was excellent. Plenty of parking.
The restored Victorian gardens were worth a visit.
Breakfasts were of a reasonably good standard with great coffee and croissants, or variations on traditional full English.
We ate dinner one night. I had a Beautifully cooked duck served with a plum sauce and selection of vegetables.
Unfortunately our room was a basic one - no views and characterless magnolia and beige decor. We would upgrade to a better room if we went back.
The hotel is in a magical location and, despite mixed weather, we really enjoyed our three night stay. Recommended - but pay the extra for a room with a view if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmostlyharmless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I've just returned from a great stay at The Longcross. Friendly staff, a comfortable room and a wonderful sunny terrace overlooking the sea, perfect for enjoying a glass of wine or three! The hotel restaurant is also excellent, I can recommend the mussels. Thanks for a memorable stay!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Gemilou222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The location is absolutely lovely. The staff here are good - very young but lovely personalities . however the menu was so limited. This was so very disappointing. The fish of the day was not available. The burgers ( both fish and veggie) were awful, the chips cold. This really spoilt our evening. The sunset was blinding us through the window - lovely when it set.
I would never recommend this place for a meal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Jo M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
435 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
544 reviews
7.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,337 reviews
5.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longcross Hotel & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Address: Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range: £78 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longcross Hotel & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful converted Victorian residence, now s stunning boutique hotel with 3 acres of gardens overlooking port Isaac Bay where Doc Martin is filmed starring martin Clunes in the fictional village of Portwenn. Overlooks some 30 miles of coastline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Longcross Hotel & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longcross Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Long Cross
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing