We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Cream Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
520 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Perfect Cream Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is situated high above Portquin and has excellent views of the sea and coast line.. The gentleman who served us was very friendly and helpful. A pot of tea for two with a scone each served with jam and cream and 4 strawberries £5.95 great value for money. Did not stay here so can't comment further other then it was in a great position, well presented and very clean

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    97
    53
    28
    9
See reviews for
84
208
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Another great week at Longcross; fabulous views, restaurant food top quality and room first class(always have 17), staff very friendly and courteous. Ideal place to see coast, play golf nearby, visit grand houses etc. 100% recommend, we go every year

Room Tip: If you like quiet seclusion, Love Shack 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at Longcross Hotel for our wedding anniversary weekend. While the position of the hotel and the view from the window (room 1) were beautiful, these were the only good things. The hotel is very average and the room decor is poor. Carpets are ugly and the bathroom is very basic and not modern at the slightest (carpet in the bathroom!). The tea and coffee in the room is a joke (tetleys, no fresh milk...). Also the bar is exteremely loud until late and our room was immediately above it. Fortunately the music was turned down after we made a request. I won't mention xenophobic comments I overheard the staff was making at the breakfast.
Not worth the money you pay!
Not a place I would recommend, definitely not to young couples.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 1 if you want to sleep at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awb216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

lovely room no sea view but beautiful overlooking the entrance.bed really comfy room posh and clean. views from terrace restaurant outstanding over fields .and coast...thanks for making our silver wedding celebration special tranquil setting chillout atmosphere close to port issac can walk there.

Room Tip: room 1 lovely but no sea view.very happy with huge comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berttreacle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Last week we stayed one night at Longcross, while traveling Cornwall with Dacey's Cornish Tours. The hotel has a picturesque setting, with a view of Port Isaac, the coastline and the rolling countryside. They have a beautiful private garden. We had a room on the third floor with a view of the sea. The room was large and bathroom recently updated. There were no lifts, but the staff was happy to help us with our luggage. We would love to return to this hotel for a longer stay. Loved the town of Port Isaac, as we are Doc Martin fans.

Room Tip: There were 14 of us in our group. I don't know if there is a bad room, as we were all pleased...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

With a terrace commanding views across farmland to the rugged coast and sea, and several bedrooms with similar views, it would take a lot of effort by the hotel's management to spoil anyone's stay, especially if the weather was as brilliant as we experienced. The bedroom was spotless, obviously recently re-decorated and up-graded. Breakfast was excellent, especially the "full Cornish". An evening drink on the terrace was the highlight, looking out along the coast as the sun went down. The restaurant food was pleasant but not memorable (after all, the management do describe the hotel as the local pub as well). The Victorian garden is not going to compete with the best in Cornwall but it's an interesting example of how plant life can defy the Atlantic storms. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, a good place to stay while exploring the area and walking the coast.

Room Tip: Look carefully at the hotel's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hengist002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at The Longcross for 2 nights for my daughter's wedding and were delighted with every aspect of it. The stunning location, the characterful building with its amazing Victorian gardens, the charming and helpful staff, the comfortable and tranquil accomodation, excellent food and generally relaxed and friendly atmosphere all contributed to an extraordinarily special weekend. Thank you so much to Jane, Zoe and all the staff who made it so!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAnnie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
2.3 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 5 in Port Isaac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
1.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
7.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longcross Hotel & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Property: The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Address: Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longcross Hotel & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful converted Victorian residence, now s stunning boutique hotel with 3 acres of gardens overlooking port Isaac Bay where Doc Martin is filmed starring martin Clunes in the fictional village of Portwenn. Overlooks some 30 miles of coastline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Longcross Hotel & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longcross Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Long Cross
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing