We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful hotel with stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Characterful hotel with stunning views”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

WE stayed for 4 nights in June 2014. Fabulous location with the most incredible views of the surrounding countryside down to the sea. Slight downside of the location is that the reason the views are so great is that the hotel is it is it is fairly remote from local amenities - no pubs/restaurants within realistic walking distance unless you are as sure footed as a goat! So a car is essential for getting around. For exploring the local area by car it is as well placed as any and plenty of parking at the hotel

We took a walk down to Port Isaac on our first night - a VERY steep walk down, we certainly didn't fancy the walk back up, but were warned taxis .are very hard to come by. So, when we arrived at the pub restaurant, we asked the manager if he could try and order us a taxi for 10pm. Fortunately for us, this worked and we didn't have to walk back up. The rest of our stay, we drove and saved the drinking for when we got back to the hotel.

The house itself is great with lots of original features - some amazing stained glass windows. The games room with pool table and dartboard was an added bonus. The room are all different with great character. We were in room 6 on the second floor of the main house. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the bathroom was a little tired but spotlessly clean. The only downside was that there was a heatwave whilst we were there and it got very hot - no aircon in a quirky victorian house, but honestly it never occurred to me we might need aircon in the UK!. We did ask for a fan, but not until our last day and stressed it was not a priority. James the extremely helpful manager said he would try and get us one. He couldn't find one just then, but I'm confident had we stayed any longer he would have got one.

Staff were all great, breakfast was very good indeed, we had a perfectly pleasant if not exceptional meal in the restaurant on one night. Overall we had an extremely relaxing stay. Would go back.

Room Tip: Room 6 on second floor can be hot in summer, but quieter as at top of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    103
    54
    29
    9
See reviews for
87
221
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I am astounded that this is not a destination hotel. Stunning location overlooking the sea and the rolling hills down I to Port Izaac. Booked two rooms but were upgraded to a family suite at NO extra cost. The terrace overlooking the surrounding countryside is amazing. Can't fault it!

Room Tip: Go for room 20 in the Coach House
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Overall a delightful stay over four nights largely due to a number of the staff. Felt very homely and felt sad to say farewell due to genuine friendliness of the staff.
The hotel is an old Victorian home so every room is different with its various pros and occasional cons. Our room with the four poster bed (#4) was spacious but a little wrinkled around the edges.
Ironing out some wrinkles could be done inexpensively (we suggested these privately to management) but more major renovation would be costly (eg new carpet) but may make the £150 tariff more appropriate.
Doc Martin has attracted the masses to Portwenn ;) for better and for worse. It has also upped the prices, particularly when combined with Cornwall's relative isolation (which also effects the internet speed).
We bumped into a few fellow Aussies wondering the streets and, from what we heard, concluded accommodation is often 'characterful' and pricey. We are now paying almost a third of the price for a 'Hilton' hotel at Exeter Airport.
We ate one night at 'Longcross' and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and heartily consumed our inclusive breakfasts aided by the marvellous Sylvie. It's also handy to have a bar for sanctuary after long walks.
Location is a touch isolated but that is also an advantage as Port Isaac can heave with Doc Martin Tragics, etc. Think carefully before walking into Port Isaac (the walk back UP Church Hill is a ripper) and don't go in high heels as one lady did to her agony.
In summary, recommended but don't expect the accustomed £150 per night luxury.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel - Lovely views of coast from room 1 which is directly over the bar so can be noisy. Room a bit dated though - bathroom small. Not a lot of choice of hot drinks in room (tea or coffee) and only uht milk provided (no biscuits). Hotel grounds were lovely. Its a bit off the beaten track for visiting the area, but ideal for visiting Port Issac which is beautiful. Staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKKKKteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
531 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is situated high above Portquin and has excellent views of the sea and coast line.. The gentleman who served us was very friendly and helpful. A pot of tea for two with a scone each served with jam and cream and 4 strawberries £5.95 great value for money. Did not stay here so can't comment further other then it was in a great position, well presented and very clean

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Another great week at Longcross; fabulous views, restaurant food top quality and room first class(always have 17), staff very friendly and courteous. Ideal place to see coast, play golf nearby, visit grand houses etc. 100% recommend, we go every year

Room Tip: If you like quiet seclusion, Love Shack 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at Longcross Hotel for our wedding anniversary weekend. While the position of the hotel and the view from the window (room 1) were beautiful, these were the only good things. The hotel is very average and the room decor is poor. Carpets are ugly and the bathroom is very basic and not modern at the slightest (carpet in the bathroom!). The tea and coffee in the room is a joke (tetleys, no fresh milk...). Also the bar is exteremely loud until late and our room was immediately above it. Fortunately the music was turned down after we made a request. I won't mention xenophobic comments I overheard the staff was making at the breakfast.
Not worth the money you pay!
Not a place I would recommend, definitely not to young couples.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 1 if you want to sleep at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awb216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
2.3 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
222 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
383 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
411 reviews
1.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
493 reviews
5.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longcross Hotel & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Property: The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Address: Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longcross Hotel & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful converted Victorian residence, now s stunning boutique hotel with 3 acres of gardens overlooking port Isaac Bay where Doc Martin is filmed starring martin Clunes in the fictional village of Portwenn. Overlooks some 30 miles of coastline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Longcross Hotel & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longcross Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Long Cross
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing