We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gallery B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slipway B & B(Port Isaac)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Port Gaverne Hotel(Port Gaverne)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cornish Arms(Pendoggett)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
St. Moritz Hotel(Wadebridge)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wadebridge(Wadebridge)(Great Value!)
US$67
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Old School Hotel(Port Isaac)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
48
34
19
22
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
34
19
22
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan art galleryperfect viewshared bathcontinental breakfast in our roomwarm croissantslovely sun traptwo nightslocal pubbeautiful gardensized bedoverlooking the harbourdoc martinseach morningyogurtclean tidylovely placefishing village
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We had a wonderful two nights stay at this accommodation. We were meet by Martyn who showed us our rooms, provided keys and explained that breakfast would be at 9 am. We had two great nights sleep. We enjoyed two great continental breakfast that were prepared by Martyn's gallery assistant. Port Isaac is a charming location and this Bed and Breakfast is in an ideal place to enjoy this with its views into and across the harbour.

We enjoyed our stay here very much - our children particularly enjoyed the little window on the stairs that lead to a walkway to the back garden. This had views over Port Isaac.

If you are coming to Port Isaac you need to accept that parking for a car may be difficult. We easily parked in the car park at the top of the hill. It is this difference that also makes Port Isaac so special.

Thanks again to Martyn

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Very dissatisfied with this b&b, the shared bathroom is in need of a major overhaul and the room with the lumpy mattress was to small for two people, well! What can I say about the horrible breakfast, for a start its continental not full English, doesn't state continental breakfast on the gallery website, the food arrives on a tray to your room, it must take them about five minutes to put together, no tea or coffee, my memory of this was the chipped breakfast bowl and the dried up jam around the sides of the pot, everything looked stale, needless to say we did not touch this and left shortly afterwards, luckily we only stayed one night. The only good point was the view from the window.

We had a lovely cooked breakfast at the old school house opposite.

Stayed: October 2012
7  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I was seduced by their website into booking what I thought was an upmarket B and B - but the reality when I arrived was somewhat different! The room itself was reasonable - although it did take shabby chic to its outer limits and the bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable. But the bathroom (shared with the next door room) was absolutely hideous. It was in desperate need of refurbishment and was really not acceptable at all! Also the plasma screen TV boasted about on the website has a screen smaller than my laptop so I had to sit on the end of the bed to watch! Breakfast arrived on a tray at 9am to be consumed in your room (there didn't really seem to be an option) and it was very basic Continental. The room was not cleaned nor the bed made up during my stay - which I thought was odd. The proprietor was conspicuous by his absence (appearing only once to ask for payment up front) and I was simply given a key to come and go through the gallery - so very much had to fend for myself. Also, be warned - there is no mobile signal at all in the harbour area of the village (which I would have liked to have been told before I booked) and the wi-fi mentioned in their literature was not available - no surprise there. It would have been useful to have access to a landline somewhere on the premises - which could have helped get over this issue. I was booked for 3 nights but only stayed 2 and would not return - which is a shame because the location is good - despite parking being at the top of the hill (not a real problem unless you are elderly). Shame - it could have been a gem but it felt as though the owners just didn't care!!

Room Tip: The sea view room on the first floor looked a better bet - I was on the 2nd floor with the dodgy bathroom!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spook123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We always try and support local B&Bs after some fantastic experiences around the UK. This is honestly the worst one we have been to, at any price let alone the £85 paid. To be fair, the website does not mention that it is a cheap continental breakfast and there is no parking anywhere near the place and none free whatsoever.

For the price, we were hoping for an ensuite bathroom, but were quickly told we had to share with the neighbouring room. Although we're happy to be flexible, this made it difficult not even being able to fill the kettle up in the morning for a cup of tea as the bathroom was being used. We only managed to run a third of the bath before the water went cold and the black hairs around it put us off trying, as well as no complimentary shower gel or hairdryer.

The owner(?) showed us to our rooms and quickly disappeared, so we were unsure if there was any communal space at all to use (except reference to a small square of garden terrace outside). We quickly realised that there was no dining room either when she said that breakfast was in bed and came at 9am (with no other option or flexibility).

There is quirky and there is shabby chic; in our opinion this is neither and is in desperate need of refurbishment and maintenance. For example, the one lamp in the room was covered in dust, the dimmer switch was missing its knob and I couldn't stand up in the shower due to the steep pitch of the roof.

There are lots of lovely B&Bs with warm and friendly owners who care about their business, especially for £85 per night; don't spend two minutes on this one!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank UKtravellers152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The biggest compliment we could give is that after returning home from a 2 night stay in The Gallery we are already planning to return. Our room overlooked the harbour and straight across at Doc Martin's surgery (for those of you who watch the TV series). The room itself was quirky and full of character befitting It's setting rather than sanitised and uniform. The bed was big and comfy, and whilst we can appreciate that other reviewers might not have liked the breakfast arrangements, they suited us as we could eat in privacy whilst enjoying the spectacular views (chairs and table are placed in the bay window). If we had one regret it was that we didn't really spend much time in Martyn's company until the morning we left. He is very laid back host who is passionate about Port Isaac, his art and his surfing.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CeriMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews