We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleased it's reopened.”
Review of Back Street Bistro

Back Street Bistro
Ranked #9 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$33
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: French inspired menu, where fine dining has never been so casual! Finest locally sourced ingredients.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So pleased it's reopened.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this bistro last year & were disappointed to see it had closed. However it's changed hands and we were there tonight, it's second night. I have to say the welcome we received was wonderful, especially as we had our two boys aged 5 & 7 with us. The food was amazing, the complimentary home made bread and Cornish butter certainly got our appetite going! I had the pork belly, my husband the hake, sons sausage and mash. Deserts were to die for- say no more.
For those, who like us loved the 'old' St Andrews Bistro, definitely give this new version a go. We'll definitely be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J0ANNE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    120
    43
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed it very much the stake was lovely and my friends sea food linguini was very nice. It was a very enjoyable meal.
But the atmosphere was not my favourite but other then that is was great

Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic food”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

we found this place two nights before leaving st ives so ate there both nights , the chateubrand was cooked to perfection , the owner was very chatty and the place is really quirky , i just wish we didnt live 300 miles away !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendywilliamson w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Is it us?”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

After reading the excellent reviews, we decided to visit this restaurant on the last evening of our holiday in early October. We were warmly welcomed by the owner and shown to our table. A very pleasant waitress took our order. We enjoyed some excellent house wine whilst waiting for our main course of chateaubriand. The main course arrived and proved to be a big disappointment. The meat was difficult to cut and chew so we asked the waitress if the steak could be cooked a little longer. This was done but no improvement found. A little later the waitress asked if everything was alright and when we told her that the meat was still mainly tough and unchewable she replied. "there are some rogue cows out there and you must have had one of them"! In other words tough luck! On settling the bill there was no attempt to apologise or recompense for the poor quality of the meat. We will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FitzGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible Steak, Welcoming Staff”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My girlfriend and I spent the last night of our holiday here and we couldn't have found a better way to round off a lovely week.

Both of our seafood starters were cooked with gusto - good portions and well-balanced flavours. Local ingredients treated with respect.

The steak we both had as a main course was up there with some of the best - beautifully tender, cooked to perfection and seasoned to just the right level, and married well to the Argentinian malbec accompanying it. The chips were chunky, rustic and fantastic for dipping.

All the waiting staff, as well as the gracious owners were friendly and chatty, making us feel like guests at their home. We both left with joy in our bellies and smiles on our faces.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Back Street Bistro also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Back Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing