We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clare45”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #60 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clare45”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Our second visit within 2 months and planning a third after Christmas. Beautiful rooms, fantastic views over St Ives Bay, wonderful breakfasts with so much choice of perfectly and freshly cooked food. Above all we appreciate the kind attention of Terry and Paul who devote themselves to making their guests welcome from arrival to departure - in our case from collecting us from the station to returning us there. The service is outstanding and nothing is too much trouble. Cannot recommend highly enough and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Raffles has double aspect windows giving a panoramic view over St Ives and round to Godrevy Lighthou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clare4516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was our second stay at the Shun Lee; first class establishment, first class hospitality, first class.......................well, everything!!!! Sometimes when you return to a holiday destination second time round it never quite lives up to the previous experience, this could never be said about the Shun Lee. We had the most wonderful and relaxing time, never wanting for anything; all our needs were caringly catered for. Terry and Paul, we can not thank you enough and look forward to seeing you in 2012.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally as impressive with stunning views. We stayed in the Raffles Suite again whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samnrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was not my first time staying at Shun Lee but the welcome, the room, the food and the attention to detail was as professional as ever. Terry and Paul's standards are exceptionally high and it is that which makes every stay at Shun Lee House so special, perfect and memorable.
I am, already, looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

If you need to recharge your batteries from the hurly burley of life we haven't found anywhere better than Shun Lee House. From the moment of arrival, body and soul can begin to unwind. Paul's cooking and Terry's attention to detail ensures that you will relax.
Add to this a lovely room with stunning views you are assured of a wonderful break in St Ives.

Room Tip: Both rooms have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank issygards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We decided to visit St Ives to celebrate a special birthday and in the process, arrive by a special means of transport - by our two feet, having walked the coast path from Plymouth. Why Shun Lee? We had read such good reports of this hotel in Trip Advisor and thought it would make an ideal choice. We were right.

We were spoilt rotten and in many years of travelling we have never ever experienced such royal hospitality with the luxury of grand surroundings. We stayed in The Raffles room with super views onto the harbour and pretty houses of St Ives. The bed was comfortable and bathroom generous in size. The soft furnishings and room accoutrements were of high quality.

The breakfast menu was extensive and during our three day stay we enjoyed kedgeree, smoked haddock, egg Benedict as well as smoked salmon, not to mention the fresh roses adorning our table. 

 Terry and Paul have produced something very special here. Many congratulations. 

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilkos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This guest house was the most enjoyable place we stayed on a 13 week European trip. A stunning location overlooking St Ives (a short walk away). A lovely room looking out to Godefry Lighthouse and the most wonderful hosts. By the time we left we felt we had been visiting some very good friends and we hope to see Paul and Terry again if we are in the area. They set the standard by which other places should be measured.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geewiz1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Shun Lee offered the standards of a 5 star Hotel combined with hospitality and warmth of welcome by two great guys. Our room was wonderful; spacious, spotless and inviting with fascinating dual aspect views of the St Ives bustle and Hayle beach and Godrevy Lighthouse - we got fresh coffee, chilled milk and beautiful roses. Lovely spacious bathroom with oodles of quality toileteries inc' to my surprise tasteful perfume.
Heaven, good food, and luxury for three days! Terry and Paul certainly know how to do hospitality. Thank-you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JQDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#24 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Hind Guest House
Golden Hind Guest House
#55 of 102 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
#64 of 102 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#5 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Property: Shun Lee House
Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing