We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Shun Lee”
Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #72 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Back again for another injection of pampered luxury and were not dissapointed. Paul and Terry could not be better hosts. Shun Lee, should be Cornish for relax. Only two rooms so booking is advisable, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cornishman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I had 3 wonderful nights in the luxurious Raffles Suite at Shun Lee House overlooking beautiful St Ives Bay and Godrevy Lighthouse (where I was treated to the most stunning sunrise on our last morning). When I originally rang to book back in November 2011 for June 2012, Terry asked me to call back in February 2012 as he was unsure if he and Paul would still be operating the B&B - we were inordinately glad they were and we weren't disappointed when we finally stayed with them in June as they were superb hosts and our experience at Shun Lee House was a complete delight!

Apart from the beautiful views, the Raffles Suite provided superior and luxurious accommodation. The suite and bathroom were spotless, towels were plentiful, fluffy and warm thanks to the heated towel rail (which was switched on!) the bed and pillows were second-to-none in comfort, there were thick bathrobes to luxuriate in and a well-stocked supply of tea, coffee, chocolate and Horlicks supplemented by clotted cream shortbreads to finish off each perfect day! Add to this Paul and Terry's terrific personalities, excellent and friendly service, local knowledge of restaurants and attractions and Paul's wonderful breakfasts and you have a recipe for success and an experience guaranteed to give you enjoyment and lasting memories. They truly know the meaning of the word service and we were even more spoiled to have been their only guests during our stay (we all have a shared airline industry background and Terry had us in stitches of laughter regaling us with his stories!).

Shun Lee House has off-street parking, a lovely terrace and garden and out the back gate is a walking path that leads you straight into St Ives. I spent one lovely and very relaxing afternoon in the comfortable sitting room and felt very pampered to have Paul and Terry provide me with a cup of hot chocolate, a footstool and classical music playing in the background to really set the mood.

On our last evening Paul and Terry drove us down to St Ives and dropped us off outside the restaurant (The Loft) so we didn't have to worry about parking and the next morning when we left, they made several wonderful suggestions for places to go and things to see on our way to our next destination, all of which we followed and did not regret (the King Harry Ferry, St Just in Roseland Church, St Mawes, Fowey, Looe, Polperro and The Blue Peter Inn). As they waved us off Paul and Terry also slipped us a bag of Werther's Original toffees to enjoy during our drive! What wonderful people they are and we truly felt as though we'd made new friends.

Don't forget that Shun Lee House only has two suites (the Raffles Suite and the Godrevy Suite) so plan ahead! We got to see both suites and whilst both are lovely and very nicely decorated, were very pleased that we chose the Raffles Suite which is somewhat larger, has lovely big windows and enjoys views out two sides, not to mention a shower (which we prefer).

Whilst staying in the area, don't forget to visit Cape Cornwall (beautiful wild coastal scenery and lovely walking), Marazion and St Michael's Mount, Mousehole (pronounced "Mouzall") and the Minnack Theatre. We also thought the drive south-west out of St Ives through Zennor and Morvah was rather lovely and a different kind of landscape to see, being quite rugged. Take Paul and Terry's suggestion of Land's End being tacky on board - it is! Whilst the theme park may appeal to some, it seems to have little do with anything and is actually quite a blot on the landscape (plus the parking there is horrendously expensive!). We went only so we could see the Longships Lighthouse, the extreme south-west point of Britain, one mile to the west, off the the Land's End coast.

Room Tip: If you love a good shower and a light-filled room, we suggest the Raffles Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Words can't describe how fantastic our stay was in The Raffles Suite at Shun Lee House - huge, beautiful rooms which were scrupulously clean and the most amazing breakfasts every morning. The hospitality was first class - Paul and Terry really made us feel at home, and we really would recommend Shun Lee to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We have just returned from yet another lovely stay with Terry, Paul and "The Girls" at Shun Lee House.Once more we enjoyed first-class accommodation, with superb views over St. Ives Bay first-class food, with an excellent choice at breakfast, which was large enough to keep you going all day! And last but not least, first-class hosts in Terry and Paul. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they ensure that your stay is peaceful, and relaxing. What more could anyone wish for but to return for more pampering very soon!

Room Tip: Both rooms are very well appointed. Views are lovely from either.The Raffles Suite is slightly bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zipwirequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Again we enjoyed beeing with Terry and Paul (and the little girls(dogs))for another 8 days. And the view over St. Ives and Godefrey is always amazing! It is very quiet and if you want some more tourists you just have to walk 5 minutes downtown to St. Ives. It is one minute from the South West Coast Path! The days startet with an individuell breakfast for each of us. Then the boys finished a thermo-bottle with coffee and the danish cookies for our daily picknic and got some tipps what we could do or see.They also made reserverations for dinner in some very nice restaurants for us. Again we had the feeling beeing pampered but we liked it very much.
We hope we can come back very soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My partner and I had the best time over New Year. terry and Paul are just the perfect hoteliers, breakfast is delicious and one is always spoiled for choices.
Our room had perfect views over the town and the bay.
This is the perfect place for walks towards the beaches or into town. Or else, one can rent bicycles or a car and explore the magnificent Cornwall coastlines.
Thank you, Paul and Terry, for a beautiful holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fr t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

There are innkeepers and then there are Innkeepers. Terry and Paul are two of best that we have had the good fortune to meet at the dozens of B & B’s we’ve stayed at over the years. They are warm, professional to the max, and just great people. Their many years of experience as airline stewards have served them well. Their attention to detail is amazing.

We were met at the St Erth Railroad Station by Paul and driven to the Shun Lee House where we were introduced to Terry. We stayed in the spacious Raffles Suite, which has one of the most beautiful views of the town and harbor of St Ives. The furnishing and window treatments were well done. We appreciated the fresh flowers from their garden on the mantle. The bed was comfortable with nice linens. The bathroom was large, very clean, had ample toiletries and plenty of towels. Once we unpacked, we were invited to have cream tea in the living room—which consisted of tea, cookies, fresh scones, jam and clotted cream. Both Paul and Terry could not do enough for us, in fact they went well above expectations to accommodate our needs. From the wonderful breakfast items to information on restaurants, these two innkeepers were outstanding. The property has one of the great locations for visiting St Ives and this area of Cornwall. It’s just a few minutes’ walk down a tree covered path to one of the many beaches in the area and the town of St Ives. We will plan another visit back St Ives and the Shun Lee House in the future. Again, thank you both for making our stay memorable.

Margaret & Jay

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travlersfrom_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 20 in St Ives
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,714 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £120 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing