We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spell-binding location, sublime hospitality'”
Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #61 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Spell-binding location, sublime hospitality'”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Shun Lee fully deserves its rave reviews. Our stay there was terrific, the best short break we've had for many many years.
Why? First, there's Shun Lee itself . It's just such a lovely place with a great atmosphere, and the setting is utterly majestic. From our double-aspect bedroom - exceptionally comfortable - we took in two stunning views. One over Carbis Bay out towards Godrevy lighthouse, and the other across Porthminster beach to the St Ives seafront and harbour. Sublime to wake up to, followed by a superb breakfast.
Then there's Terry and Paul, who take hospitality and a warm easy welcome to a different level - we just felt so very well looked after. Not only did Terry pick us up and drop us back at the station thoroughly refreshed a few days later, but he then went way way beyond expectation. Clearly, we'd been so blissed out by the Shun Lee experience that we somehow left behind some important items. Terry's response? He drove half-way across Cornwall to catch up with us and deliver them to us in person.
A truly memorable stay, and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We spent a week in this beautiful home from home. All the compliments given in previous reviews are well deserved. Terry and Paul are fantastic hosts and could not be more hospitable.
We stayed in what they call their second room - it is beautiful with a great view of Godrevy lighthouse. It is spacious and the bed is the best we have ever slept in away from home.
St. Ives is a wonderful place for a break and we enjoyed the great restaurants. Saltwater Cafe (which is very small and away from the main area) was our favourite.
We are already planning a return visit to Shun Lee!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alkaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We stayed at Shun Lee House for 9 nights at the end of August. We were completely spoilt by the owners Terry and Paul. We had the Raffles suite with the most amazing harbour and sea views; the best views in the world as far as we are concerned! The room is luxurious: a really comfy bed, Molton Brown toiletries, Chanel No 5 perfume etc. etc. It's really peaceful with no traffic noise. The breakfasts were delicious with plenty of variety. We had dinner at the hotel twice and chose just what we wanted; Paul is such a good cook and so enthusiastic, constantly coming up with new ideas for breakfast which were not on the menu. Nothing was too much trouble. We chose this hotel partly for the garden as we wanted to sit out; we were not disappointed. It's wonderful to sit out on the patio after a long day of sightseeing with a complementary cup of tea and biscuits or cream tea. The nearest beach is Porthminster which is only a few minutes away but it is a very steep hill (which is why you get the wonderful views of course). The hotel is well placed for walks. The coastal path (Hain Walk) is accessed at the bottom of the garden and you can walk to Carbis Bay (15 mins) in one direction and into St Ives town cnetre (15 mins) the other way whilst taking in the most glorious views ever.
To sum up: a beautiful house with wonderful views - immaculately clean, luxurious room, great food together with the most welcoming hosts in one of the best locations in the world. Bliss!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJG1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We arrived at Newquay airport about two weeks ago, and were picked up by Terry, one of the owners, and driven to St Ives and Shun Lee House. From that moment on it was seven days of total relaxation. Although both of us are pathologically unable to stop working or thinking about work, about 12 hours of Shun Lee made us both oblivious to ‘anything of importance’. Shun Lee was a perfect holiday for us. Long walks along the coastline, for which it was a perfect location to start out, short pops down to the village (sorry town) of St Ives, and longer excursions to places like Truro, for more comprehensive shopping and touristing. Or simply hours of reading in Shun Lee’s lovely garden. Our stay at Shun Lee House ended a week ago and it feels like a pleasant dream we had, a bit unreal, something to think back on while we go about our daily toil. Greetings from Merle and Tomas – Paul and Terry, see you both soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomasandmerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Beautiful big house with lovely hosts. Spectacular views from our perfect bedroom across the bay of St.Ives. The breakfasts were amazing with delicious variety during our seven-day stay. Perfect location for a scenic stroll into town. never slept in such a comfortable bed which oozes you asleep. Highly recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutshellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taplow
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2009

we had such a great time at this lovely house and were made to feel so welcome that it was hard to leave. .. looking out of every window gave the day a wonderful start. If ever we return to St.Ives I wouldn't look for any other place to stay. It was perfect in every way and a big hug to Terry and Paul for creating such a homey atmosphere. I almost forgot to mention how roomy it was even with all our stuff scattered everywhere...
don't forget to come to vienna guys. you have our email address.
love,elaine and margreeth

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainekTaplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We have just spent a brilliant week at Shun Lee where it is obvious that the customer comes first. The room was beautiful with views over St Ives and the Godrevy Lighthouse that were endlessly fascinating. Terry and Paul made us feel so welcome and their attention to our comfort was constant. Superb breakfasts cooked by Paul served on the outside balcony in the sunshine. Access to the centre of St Ives is simple - just follow the coastal path that passes by the back gate, go past Porthminster Beach and you are there. We filled our days with the beach when the sun came out, and visiting the Tate, shops and the many cafes when the weather changed. We explored and walked and know there is still more to see when we return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOLEMATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
#75 of 102 in St Ives
242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#3 of 7 in Carbis Bay
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Hind Guest House
Golden Hind Guest House
#56 of 102 in St Ives
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#29 of 102 in St Ives
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maristow Guest Accomodation
Maristow Guest Accomodation
#63 of 102 in St Ives
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rathlena
Rathlena
#34 of 102 in St Ives
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Property: Shun Lee House
Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing