We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A totally amazing place to stay, you won't be disappointed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #60 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
worcestershire
1 review
“A totally amazing place to stay, you won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We chose this fab hotel as the venue for our small wedding and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The hotel has the best views of St Ives, Terry & Paul make you feel as tho you're at home and look after you like royalty. The food is better than any restaurant that I've eaten in and nothing is too much trouble. The bedroom was immaculate and had everything you could possible need. We will return to this very special place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saragnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Having run a B&B myself, and achieved a Silver Award, I have exacting standards and they were all met or exceeded by Paul and Terry, two great hosts. The location is breathtakingly stunning with wonderful views over St Ives. The Raffles room was spacious and both tastefully and luxuriously decorated. The breakfasts were superb, lovel, sunny, breakfast room, excellent quality food, imaginative menu and Paul is an outstanding chef. Paul and Terry looked after us with great attention to detail, recommending restaurants and booking tables, providing tea on the lawns and recommending where to go and what to see.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozpom_Emsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Just returned home from my second visit to Shun Lee House and are missing it already. Terry & Paul looked after me as professionally and as discretely as my first. A fresh Cornish cream tea was serves as soon as I arrived, perfect after a 200+ drive. The breakfasts, cooked by Paul & serves by Terry, are just what a breakfast should be. The choice is amazing and there are often 'specials' available.
This time I was in the 'Godrevy' Suite which overlooks the Point, island and lighthouse after which it is named and of which there is a painting of the lighthouse over the bed. Talking of beds, It has to have the most comfortable mattress ever, mounted on a lovely sleigh bed.
For peace, professionalism and perfect surroundings, not forgetting the amazing views, Shun Lee has to be the place. Roll on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

But that would not do it any justice!
We booked Shun Lee 1 1/2 years ago but had to cancel due to flash floods in the area. We finally made it there this weekend and could not get over it's stunning location & views nor the hospitality and warmth of our hosts - Paul & Terry. It felt like visiting family with a beautiful home.
If you are looking for a peaceful get away and need a bit of spoiling & looking after in a breath taking environment - Terry & Paul's Shun Lee House is the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We spent two happy days and nights in this wonderful place. The owners are ex BA staff and provide a warm welcome, attentive service and top class food. The Raffles Suite is beautifully appointed with staggering views of St Ives set in the blue sea. We felt at home in the lovely lounge and airy dining room/ conservatory . Enormous care and thought has been given to all the decoration , furniture and fittings.
We were given lots of helpful advice on places to eat and thoroughly enjoyed the recommended restaurants (Portminster Beach Cafe and the Captains Table).
It was with great sadness that after our scrumptious breakfast on our last day that we had to leave, but we will be back !!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthIslandKoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Terry and Paul are the perfect hosts....The breakfasts are to die for, the house hs beautiful rooms and the attention to detail is exceptional.

I would recommend this place as a perfect base for a weekend get away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingworth, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Shun Lee House and our hosts Paul and Terry made our stay in St. Ives a truly memorable time. Paul and Terry have such a gift for hospitality and have created a beautiful place to call home on one's travels. It is a clearly a home away from home. I keep thinking about the gorgeous location - really breathtaking views-but know that even if we hadn't had that part of the Shun Lee experience- we still would have loved our stay because of Terry and Paul's hospitality gifts.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebob25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#27 of 106 in St Ives
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Hind Guest House
Golden Hind Guest House
#54 of 106 in St Ives
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
#65 of 106 in St Ives
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rathlena
Rathlena
#31 of 106 in St Ives
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlyon Guest House
Carlyon Guest House
#96 of 106 in St Ives
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Property: Shun Lee House
Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing