We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what it says on the tin”
Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #73 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Simply everything about our stay at Shun Lee House was excellent, the house, the room the view, the food, the hosts. From the moment we arrived Paul andTerry were the perfect hosts tending our every need. We will definitely return for future holidays.
Simply the best

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAPRIOTTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Shun Lee House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

This really has been a weekend to remember. It was my wifes 40th birthday last week, so wanted somewhere special to celebrate the occasion. The Shun Lee definately falls into that category.

We had a wonderful welcome from the hosts Terry and Paul. The hospitality extended by them both is truly part of the great experience we had there. Friendly and attentive, nothing is too much trouble. At the same time you also get the space to enjoy the luxurious surroundings. The breaksfasts that we enjoyed were off the highest quality, with real variety available, a great start to every day

The accomodation is truly top class. You can not help but be bowled over by the breathtaking views. It would be easy to sit on the terrance and spend your whole break lapping it up. The 'Raffles' room was an absolute haven. Beautifully tasteful with real attention to detail. Lovely and spaceful this was another opportunity to drink in the scenery.

So all in all a genuinely memorable weekend. The real proof of how we have enjoyed ourselves is that we have already booked to come back the same time next year!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoolysMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We chose this fab hotel as the venue for our small wedding and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The hotel has the best views of St Ives, Terry & Paul make you feel as tho you're at home and look after you like royalty. The food is better than any restaurant that I've eaten in and nothing is too much trouble. The bedroom was immaculate and had everything you could possible need. We will return to this very special place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saragnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Having run a B&B myself, and achieved a Silver Award, I have exacting standards and they were all met or exceeded by Paul and Terry, two great hosts. The location is breathtakingly stunning with wonderful views over St Ives. The Raffles room was spacious and both tastefully and luxuriously decorated. The breakfasts were superb, lovel, sunny, breakfast room, excellent quality food, imaginative menu and Paul is an outstanding chef. Paul and Terry looked after us with great attention to detail, recommending restaurants and booking tables, providing tea on the lawns and recommending where to go and what to see.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozpom_Emsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Just returned home from my second visit to Shun Lee House and are missing it already. Terry & Paul looked after me as professionally and as discretely as my first. A fresh Cornish cream tea was serves as soon as I arrived, perfect after a 200+ drive. The breakfasts, cooked by Paul & serves by Terry, are just what a breakfast should be. The choice is amazing and there are often 'specials' available.
This time I was in the 'Godrevy' Suite which overlooks the Point, island and lighthouse after which it is named and of which there is a painting of the lighthouse over the bed. Talking of beds, It has to have the most comfortable mattress ever, mounted on a lovely sleigh bed.
For peace, professionalism and perfect surroundings, not forgetting the amazing views, Shun Lee has to be the place. Roll on my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

But that would not do it any justice!
We booked Shun Lee 1 1/2 years ago but had to cancel due to flash floods in the area. We finally made it there this weekend and could not get over it's stunning location & views nor the hospitality and warmth of our hosts - Paul & Terry. It felt like visiting family with a beautiful home.
If you are looking for a peaceful get away and need a bit of spoiling & looking after in a breath taking environment - Terry & Paul's Shun Lee House is the place to be.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We spent two happy days and nights in this wonderful place. The owners are ex BA staff and provide a warm welcome, attentive service and top class food. The Raffles Suite is beautifully appointed with staggering views of St Ives set in the blue sea. We felt at home in the lovely lounge and airy dining room/ conservatory . Enormous care and thought has been given to all the decoration , furniture and fittings.
We were given lots of helpful advice on places to eat and thoroughly enjoyed the recommended restaurants (Portminster Beach Cafe and the Captains Table).
It was with great sadness that after our scrumptious breakfast on our last day that we had to leave, but we will be back !!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthIslandKoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
958 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 20 in St Ives
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#25 of 102 in St Ives
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
3 Porthminster
3 Porthminster
#20 of 102 in St Ives
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £120 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing