We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place for genuine luxury and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #61 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The place for genuine luxury and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Our honeymoon at Shun Lee was truly special. Instead of airports, resort buffets, and crammed accommodation we experienced first-class service, delicious cooked-to-order breakfasts, and comfort - all thanks to our excellent hosts. Paul and Terry really went out of their way to look after us, packing takeaways with delicious breakfast pastries and catering to our vegetarian diet with variety and flare. (Can you tell we loved the food?) The house is immaculate yet still feels like a home, complete with two adorable Yorkies; we fell in love with the lovely views from basically every window. We can't imagine anyone being disappointed after a stay at Shun Lee and especially recommend it to any overworked couples - a week here is what you need!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandMldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

We were met at the train station and whisked off in splendour.

The hotel has a magnificent outlook over St Ives and only a few minutes walk to the beach by a charming footpath. There is a lovely garden with an outside terrace. Breakfast is in the conservatory, next to the ample lounge. The breakfast is five star with a daily special! - I cant remember better! I went to sleep thinking of the omelette next morning.

We settled down onto the perfect bed in our bathrobes admiring the classical decor and the little touches such as the vase of roses.

Terry and Paul were previously Flight Directors for BA and it shows. They really took care of us. Yes you had the best tea and coffee facilties in your room but they still offer you (in my case at 6am!) a freshly made cup every time you bump into them. What this all adds up to is an experience which allows you to quickly unwind and feel that you are being taken care of.

We left with a pack of croissants, pastries and muffins for the five hour journey. I joked that we should have asked for some cheese rolls. About to eat a croissant, it came as no surprise that they had been filled with cheese. Next time I'm not enduring the railway coffee and will be bringing a flask!

What makes the visit special is that you are so obviously sharing their very grand house and unlike most proprietors you actually think they like it that way!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

One of the best accomodations that we have experienced. Service and surroundings were par excellence. Breakfast menu was truly remarkable with choice to suit all, and cooked to order. Wonderful terrace and vista with views over bay and harbour, and also access from garden to coastal path and beach.
Peace and quiet, and good hosts....... made for a memorable relaxing break.
We will return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Wayfarers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Shun Lee and it proved to be one of the best holidays we have had in years! As soon as you walk through the front door you know you have arrived somewhere very special, Shun Lee's excellent location providing beautiful views over St. Ives Bay. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and those little extra touches don't go unnoticed. The food is.... Superb! Terry and Paul have got it just right. We arrived as guests but felt that we left as good friends. And even the hardest heart couldn't fail to fall in love with the Yorky girls! We will certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zipwirequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Di1715
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

We arrived to a lovely welcome and enjoyed a fab few days staying at Shun Lee. The rooms were exceptionally clean which is not always something that can be said about some B&B's. Paul is an excellent cook and the breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. Great advice on places to eat and places to visit. We would highly recommend Shun Lee and would like to go back sometime. Thanks to Paul, Terry and the pooches x P.S. Fab G&T's too at decent prices

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowupland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Why waste words the title says it all. We arrived in the afternoon and arranged a stay for next year at breakfast, and what a breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornishman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heart of England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

You will not be disappointed if you’re lucky enough to stay at this hotel.
The Shun Lee hotel is a grand Victorian detached house with spectacular views overlooking St Ives bay and the Atlantic Ocean. The house is both large and comfortable with a walled garden to the rear, which is an ideal suntrap for those odd breezy days. The bedrooms are spacious and tastefully decorated with the most comfortable of beds and fabulous sea views. It has everything that you would expect from a 5 star hotel and it doesn’t disappoint.
But by far the biggest assets of the hotel are the exceptional hosts, Terry and Paul, nothing is too much trouble for them, you are made to feel at home as soon as you walk through the door.
The Breakfast was superb with an extensive menu only using fresh ingredients and cooked to order by Paul.
Their local knowledge was very useful to us and they helped us choose some great restaurants in St Ives, not only did they book the restaurant for us but they dropped us off on two occasions as they were going into St Ives themselves.
It's the best UK Hotel we've ever stayed in and the exceptional service and accommodation is unparalleled and we hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#23 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Hind Guest House
Golden Hind Guest House
#55 of 102 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
#64 of 102 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#5 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Property: Shun Lee House
Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing